Tuscaloosa County Schools Reviews | Glassdoor

Tuscaloosa County Schools Reviews

Updated 1 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Substitue Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tuscaloosa County Schools part-time

    Pros

    Working with the kids and watching their faces in excitement when you help them learn something new! They are sponges who love soaking up information!

    Cons

    Not many days/hours offered. Not a consistent schedule.

    Tuscaloosa County Schools2017-09-22
  2. "Teaching"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Substitute Teacher in Tuscaloosa, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Tuscaloosa County Schools part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Love working with children and helping them become the best they could be

    Cons

    Some days were difficult if you had a class that enjoyed misbehaving

    Tuscaloosa County Schools2019-06-02
  3. "Improvement needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Tuscaloosa County Schools full-time

    Pros

    The staff and faculty that truly care about the students. Helping students improve their chances for a better future.

    Cons

    Tenure policy, attendance policy, discipline policy, lack of parental involvement, no local funding for teacher salaries

    Continue reading
    Tuscaloosa County Schools2018-02-10
  4. "Good school system"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Tuscaloosa County Schools full-time

    Pros

    I love the TCSS school system. There are tons of passionate teachers here!

    Cons

    Behind on some educational practices.

    Continue reading
    Tuscaloosa County Schools2017-10-08
  5. "Substitute Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Tuscaloosa County Schools

    Pros

    I enjoyed working for Tuscaloosa County Schools because as a college student I could choose to work exactly those days that I didn't have classes. So if I could get my own classes scheduled Tues, Thurs only then I could substitute on MWF. Their online scheduling portal makes it really easy to accept and schedule jobs.

    Cons

    I don't really have anything bad to say about TCSS. For the most part they absolutely have their act together.

    Tuscaloosa County Schools2016-12-10
  6. "Working Conditions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Tuscaloosa County Schools full-time

    Pros

    Working conditions are good and support is provided. There are securities in place to protect people who work here in this school district.

    Cons

    Sometimes it is very hot or cold in the classrooms. Choices for technology need to be improved. Some technology is over 7 years old and non-functional.

    Continue reading
    Tuscaloosa County Schools2016-07-04
  7. "Coach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Tuscaloosa, AL

    I worked at Tuscaloosa County Schools

    Pros

    Willing to learn & grow in a business

    Cons

    Don't really have any

    Tuscaloosa County Schools2016-06-18
  8. "Lower your standards (recent grads)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Tuscaloosa County Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Admin is Supportive; Decent Supplements

    Cons

    Parents and students are lazy. Community is OK with being mediocre.

    Tuscaloosa County Schools2015-11-04
  9. "ESL Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Tuscaloosa County Schools part-time

    Pros

    Great kids who worked hard and were very willing to learn. Great teachers who were very supportive and wanted the kids to do the best they could.

    Cons

    Little to no support from the staff and they were terrible at communicating with the interns. They just hired a big batch at once and let them go, hoping that most would make it through the year.

    Continue reading
    Tuscaloosa County Schools2015-09-15
  10. "ESL Tutor Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ESL Tutor in Tuscaloosa, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Tuscaloosa County Schools part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great chance to feel positive about your work, very rewarding to interact with students and watch their progress, good way to build ESL skills without prior experience

    Cons

    Large school zone, can be difficult to train tutors due to the variety of circumstances in which they work

    Continue reading
    Tuscaloosa County Schools2014-08-28
Found 13 reviews