KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt

TutaPoint.com

Is this your company?

TutaPoint.com

Add a Review

TutaPoint.com Reviews

Updated Jun 29, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 of over 7 reviews

3.4
67%
Recommend to a Friend

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Love this company

    Jun 29, 2021 - Online Tutor in Bakersfield, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work from home and flexible schedule. Once you’re completely cleared you’re pretty much guaranteed students that are scheduled for you as well as the ability to schedule private students for yourself from regular internet traffic. Staff is responsive and helpful.

    Cons

    The work is seasonal but as an education worker, you know that going into it.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Great management, very flexible

    Jun 27, 2021 - Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Let me first say that the other reviews must be talking about the old management, because the current management (Susanna and Sarah) is INCREDIBLE. They were always quick to respond (usually within minutes) to any calls, texts, or emails. They were super organized, always had my back in the case of any conflicts with parents, and genuinely cared about all the students. The job itself is very flexible. Some tutors only take a few hours, but you can get a lot if you want. I wanted as many hours as possible and was able to get up to 30 hours a week during peak season. I was signed up as a K-10 math (up to Alg 2 and geometry) and English tutor as well as elementary/middle science and social studies. Math seems to be the most in-demand subject, so I would recommend tutoring that if you need hours. Other things: you can pick your own hours, you can take sick days if you need to (they arrange substitutes), you work from home ofc which is nice! I tutored all PACyber students and they have renewed that contract, so there are plenty of kids! Should be even more for next year too. You get paid once a month. Note: to be successful, you need a computer with a webcam, a mic, and preferably a touchscreen (with a stylus). I already had a touchscreen laptop which was perfect and I just bought a cheap stylus.

    Cons

    The pay is mid-range for a tutoring company ($14) and it's a contract position so they don't withhold taxes or provide benefits. Since the rate doesn't seem to ever increase, you probably just want this as a interim/side job.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Company - supportive staff and meaningful work

    Jun 27, 2021 - Educator in Corpus Christi, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Helped Title I and other at-risk students to succeed at school and pass their classes. While other companies may pay their tutors more, this company really cares about their students and their tutors. They were very flexible if I needed to have an appointment or time off, and provided regular, daily support during sessions. The staff was very committed to helping students learn.

    Cons

    There are no cons - looking forward to working with them again next school year!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Freelancer

    Account never got reinstated for not showing up to "practice session"

    May 17, 2021 - Online Math Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling. Convenient tutoring. Whiteboard is easy to use.

    Cons

    Strict for no reason. Could be hard to find students to tutor.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Contractor, more than 3 years

    you've got to be kidding

    Nov 13, 2020 - Tutor in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    you can work from home

    Cons

    expect the tutor to be tech support for student for $14/hr

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Freelancer, less than 1 year

    Feigned Integrity

    Jun 12, 2017 - Student in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Make your own hours, build your own profile, work from home.

    Cons

    Management was incompetent, sometimes non-communicative, and had unreasonable expectations.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Ok, but awkward setup

    Jul 4, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pay is ok for online tutoring; not the best, not the worst. Can work from home.

    Cons

    They require you to always use video, even if the student is not. It's really awkward to have to have a camera on you when there's not even any other face to look at/talk to. You don't know where to look or how to react, since you don't know if the student is smiling, etc. There are few opportunities. I was set up with one student way below the age I usually tutor. I wasn't really sure how to tutor to that level/what to expect for kids that age. Also their mom was always there too listening in, which was weird.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 English Reviews

Popular Careers with TutaPoint.com Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at TutaPoint.com? Share Your Experiences

or