Tutor.com Tutor Reviews | Glassdoor

Tutor.com Tutor Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 136 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Hyoung Jun (Joshua) Park
5 Ratings
  1. "very flexible perfect for student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Tutor 

    I have been working at Tutor.com part-time

    Pros

    hours are very flexible great for student

    Cons

    The pay is not much

    Tutor.com2019-07-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not Enough Pay For Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - English Tutor 

    I worked at Tutor.com part-time

    Pros

    If you really like to tutor and aren't as concerned about the payout, then this is the job for you.

    Cons

    The amount of effort you put into this job compared to what you get in your pay check is, in my opinion, not worth it.

    Tutor.com2019-07-17
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Trash website"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Math Tutor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Tutor.com full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    no pros at all whatsoever

    Cons

    Charges you money to "contact prospects" complete garbage system.

    Advice to Management

    instead of charging money for a proespect that may not be gotten. Take a percentage of every job

    Tutor.com2019-06-25
  4. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Tutor 

    I have been working at Tutor.com part-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule for the job

    Cons

    Moved to a system where talking is required

    Tutor.com2019-04-21
  5. "Flexible but dwindling hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Mathematics Tutor 

    I have been working at Tutor.com part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Can choose your own hours - Unlike other tutoring services, the students are found for you

    Cons

    - Available hours seem to be dwindling - Pays tutors less than other tutoring services

    Tutor.com2019-03-27
  6. "Good part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Math Tutor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tutor.com part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Straightforward -good mentor/tutor program in which mentor provided advice/knowledge -work from home

    Cons

    -not enough hours (number of tutor overwhelm amount of student available to tutor) -Money is based on time spent in session & there are not enough sessions -Classroom software can be worked and improved upon -some students are impatient and will give you a bad review out of frustration&lack of fundamental skill to solve math problems -Voice sessions are very rare , most communicate through typig/drawing...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -hire less tutors so that we are paid more consistently.

    Tutor.com2019-03-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not a good work culture or job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Tutor 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Tutor.com part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    time off is usually satisfactory, also work at home opportunity

    Cons

    your schedule changes every week, there are not many hours available except early mornings like 2-6 am, academic coaches are ridiculously long-winded and nit pickers, they hire and fire indiscriminately...I was not fired...got tired of the BS for what was basically a $12/hr job...tutoring platform is very glitchy too

    Advice to Management

    Revamp academic coaching system...ridiculous

    Tutor.com2019-03-27
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Misses the mark"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tutor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Tutor.com part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Able to work from home.

    Cons

    Low pay, non-responsive company leadership, abhorrent shift scheduling process.

    Advice to Management

    I have been a Tutor.com tutor for 6+ years. I have served as a mentor and achieved Tutor 1, 2, and 3 statues. The only reason I still work for Tutor.com is because, quite frankly, I don't have to leave the house to work and because I live in a state with a high minimum wage. I have come to realize that this company will never pay me or my fellow tutors what we are worth. Minimum wage is the norm for Tutor.com and...

    Show More
    Tutor.com2019-03-12
  9. "Good Work Environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Tutor 
    Recommends

    I worked at Tutor.com part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - extremely supportive mentors - useful feedback - flexible hours - ability to work from home

    Cons

    - the pressure to teach quickly

    Advice to Management

    Place more emphasis on quality and less on speed. Twenty-minute sessions are too limiting .

    Tutor.com2019-02-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "The students were all terrific."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English/Writing Center Tutor in National, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tutor.com part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Organized company, motivational, flexible hours.

    Cons

    Way too many tech updates, distracting tutors from doing quality work (sometimes difficult UX).

    Advice to Management

    Go back to the simple and socratic platform & tutoring method!!

    Tutor.com2018-11-09
Found 136 reviews