Tutor.com Employee Reviews about "tutors"

Updated Dec 1, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 136 of over 602 reviews

3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Tutor.com CEO Hyoung Jun (Joshua) Park (no image)
Hyoung Jun (Joshua) Park
89 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,889

959 Comments

Teachers

158.8K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/teachers/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Tutor.com~200662
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "I am happy with the flexible hours and the paycheck I earn for the work I perform for tutor.com.(in 89 reviews)
  • "Flexible schedule, you can go online whenever you want and get paid a fixed rate for how many minutes each session is(in 28 reviews)
  • "This is a good place to get extra money(in 9 reviews)
  • "based bonuses.(in 6 reviews)
Cons
  • "1) Pay is low at $12/hr and they want you to be an expert.(in 117 reviews)
  • "It's not a job you can live off of because it's part time and there are no benefits.(in 23 reviews)
  • "(5) The management and the mentors constantly get on your case about time limits or trying to show the student the steps to do the problems.(in 12 reviews)
  • "Outdated software(in 10 reviews)
  • "My current mentor was not even aware there was a daily hours cap in place (which leads me to believe this cap is placed on certain tutors).(in 6 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Tutor.com and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "tutors"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Job with Flexible Hours

    Dec 1, 2021 - English Writing Tutor in Tampa, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent job helping students achieve academic success in their written work. The hours are flexible and fit into a part-time schedule. Bonuses are offered for specific hours when student traffic is high. Tutor technical support is efficient. Great, long-established brand with responsive mentors. I plan to work here for a long time in the future. I am happy with the flexible hours and the paycheck I earn for the work I perform for tutor.com. I highly recommend this top-quality company to any teacher who wants to further their tutoring skills.

    Cons

    Two of the biggest downsides have to do with students who try to game the system. The first is concerned with students who want us to review their work yet do not participate in the review process. It is as if they are away from the screen expecting tutors to review their work and give them results, or even do the work for them. I have had students tell me to make corrections for them. They assume that is what we are being paid to do. However, that is not our purpose. Another customer issue involves students who are told to improve their work and immediately request another session with a different tutor without first correcting their work. Students should be aware that we read what previous tutors have commented and are likely to return the papers to them with the same or similar comments that previous tutors have made. Both issues are customer issues rather than management issues. An important management issue is the Async sessions. When performing asynchronous reviews, the classroom prescripts could be available to insert into the SFF. Currently, the use of prescripts is strictly a chat function. Even using the copy and paste function to insert the prescript into the form would help eliminate the need for a lot of repetitive typing since quite a few students have similar opportunities to improve their work.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Tutor.com Response

    Marketing Associate

    Thank you for sharing this valuable review. We salute you for your efforts to involve students in the learning process! We also appreciate your recommendations for enhancing the classroom experience and have shared your feedback with our Learning Services team. We’re invested in continuous improvement and welcome additional feedback at tutorsupport (at) tutor (dot) com.

  2. 5.0
    Current Freelancer, more than 5 years

    Great organization, amazing scheduling options

    Nov 30, 2021 - Advanced Tutor in East Hampton, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    *Ability to choose own schedule, from a 24/7 schedule *Amazing system to work on, it's added to computer but is not spyware, not invasive, great work from home option *Paid in a timely and predictable manner, monthly *Wants tutors to work at least a few hours a week *Steady income if you are dedicated to the service and students *Professional people to work for *Quick response to issues *Great company overall *Tutor.com policy does NOT allow answers to be given

    Cons

    *Becoming like a call center - we aren't customer care, we are academic scholars assisting students to achieve. - With the rise of Covid, calls increased but so did student rudeness. *It's vital to keep academic standing and integrity in place, and that also means students treating tutors with respect and tutors being able to control and teach in a session as required. *Only paid once a month, but paid :) , you are also responsible for your taxes (taxes are not taken out of check) *Students will/can call in when an assignment is literally due. or due soon, and will start demanding answers, being rude, leaving horrible feedback on the tutor, etc. *Many times a student doesn't even know what they are doing and then gets frustrated when it is explained in detail to them, because they want the fast answers. Tutor.com policy does NOT allow answers to be given, but this doesn't deter students who wish to cheat, and not learn, from attempting to get an answer, especially on Sundays when most assignments are due.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Meh

    Dec 1, 2021 - Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Very flexible schedule -Minimum number of hours required each week is small (currently 5 on average) -Lots of resources for new tutors (both written documents and via communication with supervisor) -Easy communication with supervisor -Bonus pay if tutor two students at once -Chance to make a real impact in a child's life, especially with students from low-income or military-family backgrounds

    Cons

    Miserably low pay. If you are scheduled for on-demand tutoring but receive no requests, you get paid only $10/hr, pre-taxes (and because you are an "independent contractor", you have to pay federal self-employment tax on top of normal taxes). Even when you are tutoring, many "typical" subjects only pay $11 per hour. This is the kind of job where it is best to turn your laptop on and do something else while you wait for requests. I can make more money working at a fast food restaurant these days than I can helping kids from high-risk backgrounds with their math homework. Additionally, if students schedule sessions with you but don't show up (which has happened at least 50% of the time!), the students are not penalized, but you only receive the $10/hr rate and, since you are not allowed to simultaneously receive priority status for incoming on-demand requests, you probably have messed up your entire daily schedule without receiving more than a couple of bucks in return.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Not great!

    Nov 12, 2021 - English Tutor in Buffalo, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can make your own schedule and work from home. Also, if you like tutoring, it's always rewarding to work with students.

    Cons

    Their Classroom program is pretty janky; they launched a new version of Classroom that for some reason exists alongside the previous one, so you'll have to deal with a different UI sometimes for no reason. The new version is also extremely prone to crashing. The pay is also not great. As I understand it, it is also variable from state to state, as you'll be categorized as a part-time employee in some states and an independent contractor in others. For me, the biggest downside is the feeling of isolation from other tutors. I know that it's a remote job, but there's not really any way to communicate with your fellow tutors on the site. This is especially bad because some students using this service can be rude or even aggressive, something that I find is harder to deal with when you're isolated. The only person you'll really interact with is your Quality Specialist, who writes your reviews. I was lucky enough to have a nice and understanding QS, but I imagine that a bad one would make the experience of working here absolutely terrible.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    excellent on-line tutoring firm

    Oct 15, 2021 - Physics Tutor in Lancaster, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    In an Internet rife with international fraud, bogus work-at-home scams and academic cheating services, tutor.com stands out as a prime example of what an on-line enterprise should be. This outfit has always been dead-solid honest academically and financially in both letter and spirit. There have never been any sort of hidden or unanticipated charges to students. The administrative staff is friendly and stable. The tutors are of high quality and are treated well, and the tone of communications is friendly and professional. I wish I could say the same for other such firms, but it seems that tutor.com is a uniquely straight-up operation. I don't mind at all that the classroom technology is conservative, because it is stable and it works.

    Cons

    Any on-line job has its disadvantages, and perhaps the pay might be higher, but the company is quite straightforward about it. It's not for everyone, but I find it enjoyable.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Avoid as a Main Source of Income

    Oct 28, 2021 - Essay Reviewer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Remote work, the newsletter they put out

    Cons

    Poor pay, outdated mandatory client, many students wish for the tutors to do the work for them, extreme difficulty getting hours, pompous management.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    What a tutor makes vs. what a parent pays

    Sep 7, 2021 - Online Math Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Once in a while you make a difference in a kids life. But very rarely.

    Cons

    Pay is terrible. If you are doing this in addition to your job you are earning about minimum wage minus your marginal rate, so less than $9 an hour. You only get paid when you are in a session if you do on demand. There aren't enough hours you can book, which are hours you try to select where you are paid to sit there with or without a person. This is by design, they minimize your guaranteed paid hours, and don't pay tutors enough for being on demand. Keep in mind parents are being charged $40 an hour and you are coming away with minimum wage. If you are doing this for a full time job good luck. You are far better stocking shelves at Walmart and try teach some of the teenage kids while you fill the shelf. Many of the kids are so far behind and so low in ability you will tear your hair out. High school kids trying to "complete the square" who don't know how to subtract negative numbers. I started off tutoring a lot but the frustration of super low ability kids and getting terrible pay will drive you crazy.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good side hustle, but $7.25/hr pay is not posted.

    Jul 28, 2021 - College Essay Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, some protections for tutors against abusive customers, dedicated mentor who checks in regularly, prompt responses from tech and other support teams.

    Cons

    The employer is rather secretive about tutors' pay. Hourly rate varies by subject but you won't find out your subject's starting rate until you've been offered the job. Your actual minimum pay (when you are scheduled and online but not in a session) is the federal minimum of $7.25/hr. I was told this once in my offer email, but never in any documents I had to sign. Then, in my billing section, while they clearly post my hourly rate ($13.50) next to my completed session minutes, the same section next to my schedule wait time is blank.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Contractor, more than 5 years

    Pros and Cons

    Aug 18, 2021 - Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    *Flexibile schedule *Demand has increased on the classroom *Monthly bonuses available if you meet certain criteria *Totally remote

    Cons

    *Tutors are regarded as highly disposible *Sessions are nit-picked *Negative feedback from management/quality assurance significantly outweighs positive feedback *The company is increasingly moving toward an assembly line model for tutoring *Low pay to start for some subjects

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Contractor, more than 5 years

    Underpaid and far less control over subjects after new policy changes

    Aug 3, 2021 - Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible hours and work from home are just about the only benefits at this point. There is a mentorship system that can provide some feedback and oversight

    Cons

    Over the years, the company became less and less interested in providing a quality experience for both tutors and students by enforcing cookie cutter policies and limiting the control tutors had over their own sessions. There is a large emphasis on keeping sessions short even when it doesn't make sense. They also now have made it impossible to tutor both humanities and sciences, which means less variety in sessions. I used to tutor subjects across both categories and was able to tutor longer in a day before I was mentally drained because I had some variety. After the switch, it became an awful grind and it just wasn't worth it anymore for the extremely low pay compared to private tutoring rates.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 136 Reviews

Popular Careers with Tutor.com Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Tutor.com? Share Your Experiences

or