Twentieth Century Fox "full time" Reviews | Glassdoor

Twentieth Century Fox Employee Reviews about "full time"

Updated Aug 6, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Twentieth Century Fox Chairman and CEO Stacey Snider
Stacey Snider
91 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Pay is not on par with other studios(in 21 reviews)

  • "It can be difficult to turn internship into a full time job due to budget(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "full time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Amazing Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twentieth Century Fox

    Pros

    Feels like a college campus with many groups/clubs that provide insightful and fun activities all year round

    Cons

    None, even contractors can participate, not just full-time employees

    Twentieth Century Fox2018-08-06
  2. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I have been working at Twentieth Century Fox

    Pros

    Great perks (movie screenings, employee discount), beautiful lot, plenty of learning and networking opportunities for interns, very friendly environment

    Cons

    long hours are standard for the entertainment industry, not many opportunities for interns to become full time employees

    Twentieth Century Fox2017-11-26
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (7)

    "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Twentieth Century Fox full-time

    Pros

    Generally, good benefits, opportunities to network across the studio via diversity groups/organizations, and reputable name for your resume. Depending on your level of ambition and whether (or not) you have career goals, easy to get away with doing nothing and maintain employment, due to many hierarchical layers and comfy "legacy" employees.

    Cons

    Egos, gossip/social drama, and robotic conformity is all over the place. Employees are not valued and treated as expendable. Promotions and career growth stems from years worked at the company, instead of measurable performance and experience. Still lacking innovation in most divisions. Outside consultants are always contracted to develop and implement new ideas (probably one of the many reasons why budgets for... hiring new full-time employees are low).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If a company is run like a corporate machine, be mindful of the type of talent that will leave or stay in the long-run. Culture is key, especially in entertainment. The push for "breaking down silos" is a nice thought, but not embraced. Company ethics are governed from the top to the bottom, so if a managing executive isn't "practicing what is being preached", culture will not change.

    Twentieth Century Fox2017-09-28
  5. "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Senior Software Engineer in Century City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Twentieth Century Fox for more than a year

    Pros

    There were many good changes in the right direction since they began upgrading the asset management software platform. They hired a great Executive Director to lead the effort on the software side and began to improve processes and overall execution.

    Cons

    There are legacy employees playing politics and it's impossible for a full-time employee to get fired. They don't even have a process for firing incompetent full-time employees. There are people there that are part of the problem but they don't get rid of full-time employees. The infrastructure team in building 89 is a complete joke led by incompetent leadership. These guys would seriously be fired at most other... companies. Their skill sets are out of date and they can't keep up with modern technology. It will be great when technology makes their jobs obsolete.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Create a process for firing incompetent full-time employees. There are lots of contractors that come and go but the full-time employees that have been there for a while make up the core problems at Fox and they should be held accountable. Bring in 3rd party consultant companies to audit the maturity of various groups and use this to make changes.

    Twentieth Century Fox2017-08-18
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Avoid Like the Plague"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Producer in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Twentieth Century Fox full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked for FOX Sports. You get to do some cool things sometimes, but it's rare unless you're way up the totem pole.

    Cons

    FOX Sports: They pay you in peanuts and treat you as dispensable everyday. Bosses have zero respect for employees lives or successes. When I say peanuts, I mean that I have a bachelors degree, masters degree, worked for the company for 4 years, received 4 promotions in that time (up to full-time Associate Producer), was given 5 company achievement awards, and only made $40k per year... Good luck paying the bills... with "experience."

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Grow a heart.

    Twentieth Century Fox2017-06-23
  7. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern - Hourly in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Twentieth Century Fox for more than a year

    Pros

    Being an intern, I thought everyone would be mean like they normally are, but it was the complete opposite. Everyone was warm and welcoming, they wanted me to learn and experience everything I possibly could. They served as great mentors and leaders. As I was leaving, they did everything they could to ensure I had some thing else set up. The program was very well put together and made the transition smoother.

    Cons

    It can be difficult to turn internship into a full time job due to budget. Some times it could get a little boring if they ran out of things to give you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep encouraging the interns, it sets you apart.

    Twentieth Century Fox2017-04-09
  8. "MBA Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Twentieth Century Fox

    Pros

    Great exposure to senior management, free film screenings, overall great place to work.

    Cons

    Very low pay, no benefits, little corporate effort to move interns into full time roles.

    Twentieth Century Fox2016-06-27
  9. "Legal intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at Twentieth Century Fox

    Pros

    perfect working environment; friendly people

    Cons

    the internship don't turn into full time

    Twentieth Century Fox2016-05-18
  10. "Costume Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Costume Supervisor in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twentieth Century Fox for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Love what I do as a Costume Supervisor

    Cons

    Not full time and not knowing what my next job will be

    Advice to Management

    I am a very loyal employee

    Twentieth Century Fox2015-10-30
  11. "music editor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twentieth Century Fox

    Pros

    freelancer, creative. fun to work for. challenging

    Cons

    only contract positions no full time

    Twentieth Century Fox2015-10-06
Found 17 reviews