Twilio Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Engineer

Twilio Engineer Reviews

Updated Nov 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
69%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Twilio CEO Jeff Lawson
Jeff Lawson
24 Ratings
  1. "Strong Ownership Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is growing like gangbusters and so there is always more fun projects to tackle. If you see a problem and want to attack it, you have a ton of open road ahead fo you.

    Cons

    A lot of legacy processes made sense when the company was smaller but have not scaled well. The product and process learning curve is still too steep for new employees. Everyone is super supportive but you really gotta go and get your answers.

    Advice to Management

    Just because something is 'working' today does not mean that it's ideal or that it scales.

    Twilio2019-10-24
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Used to be Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    CEO Knows what he's doing, business-wise Support for Remote work (WFH for locals, fully remote for select positions)

    Cons

    Lots of growth and associated pain Current management has a very top-down mentality, dictating stuff that should be left to teams, treating team members as fungible commodities they can just move around on a chess board Trying to save money by focusing on very junior hires and hiring in places like Estonia and India (moratorium on US hiring). Focus on junior devs means senior devs have to spend all their time... mentoring and aren't able to be Individual Contributors, which is unsatisfying for many and leads to pretty crappy code

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire senior people who know how to get stuff done, and then let them decide how to do it

    Twilio2019-11-08
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Good company, lots of room to improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great product and work life balance Smart co-workers Senior leadership is very inspiring and employees seem excited to be part of a growing company

    Cons

    There is a tribal culture within the engineering orgs! Teams seem to focus on their deliverables and there isn’t much focus or priorities given to unblock or help other teams! Although the upper management says we want to get rid of tribal culture and focus on bigger picture, the ground reality is completely different. As the team and company grows, there seems to be silos of information stacked amongst few ‘key’... old timers and very little is done to disseminate the information, the tribal culture makes it even more worse.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I like all the talk about getting rid of tribalism, the ground reality is very different. Please take an internal survey if you think its not a problem anymore

    Twilio2019-05-01
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Support Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not one bad thing to say

    Cons

    Working remote can be tough

    Twilio2019-03-05
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Good value here, but you may have to work to find it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of independence and ownership, smart coworkers, own your destiny kind of place. Good comp, and minimal bs in communication all the way to the top. I've met and worked with some extraordinary people here, and I really value what I've learned from them.

    Cons

    The first year I worked here, I was ready to quit. I lucked into a change in situation and now I really like my job, but working here is very much like participating in the free market in that you have to go make your own success and job fit, and there are no safety nets if something goes wrong. However, there are high rewards when you do well if you've managed to find your way into a good team or org. Overall, I... think the risk is worth it, because there are lots of good areas, but I hate seeing valuable people wasted on bad management and churn.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The important stuff won't show up on hr surveys or nps scores. Take a hard look at where human assets are leaking from to identify problem areas. Because the good areas are really good, so I know Twilio can do better.

    Twilio2019-01-24
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer II in Temecula, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Twilio has an excellent culture, and is inclusive of everybody. Twilio's values are strongly adhered to throughout the company. As we expand globally, our remote presence is growing and our remote culture is booming. As leaders in communications software, we're figuring out how to do something that's never been done every day.

    Cons

    My only gripe in the past was the limited 401k matching, but this has changed recently and is now very reasonable!

    Twilio2019-02-01
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Twilio was an excellent place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer() in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Twilio for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing smart people, supportive company, good benefits.

    Cons

    The company is extremely liberal and in some cases this caused myself and others to feel like we could not express ourselves.

    Advice to Management

    Keep promoting diversity, make sure you expand that to political diversity as well.

    Twilio2018-12-20
  8. "Don't miss a chance to work here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome people! Hands down the best people I have worked for until now. CEO and the company on the whole is very energetic which makes you feel that your contributions actually matter. Definitely do not miss a chance to work here! People here think from the perspective of customers experience and actually strive to make it better (One of their core principles). I have never seen any company take this as serious as... Twilio does.

    Show More

    Cons

    I cannot think of one, but if I have to say something, I would may be wish to have better employee benefits such as a better health insurance, commuter checks, etc

    Twilio2018-09-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "It's a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Twilio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good overall culture working here.

    Cons

    Sometimes there is a disconnect between managers and workers

    Advice to Management

    Always good to listen to your workers more and illicit their feedback

    Twilio2017-12-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Technical Support Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Support Engineer in Herndon, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company went public recently and a lot of new products being released and making life of both, developers and non-developers easy. Coming from a non-developer background, I learnt a lot of new technologies from Day 1.

    Cons

    None I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Doing a great job.

    Twilio2017-10-23
Found 28 reviews