Twilio Reviews | Glassdoor

Twilio Reviews

Updated Nov 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
78%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Twilio CEO Jeff Lawson
Jeff Lawson
136 Ratings
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Attorney in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Twilio full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Such a great company to work for.

    Cons

    None. Truly a great company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Twilio2019-08-14
  2. Helpful (31)

    "Fast growing but ruthless company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Twilio full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Talented, smart & experienced executive team -Leading CPaaS product -Stock performance -Aggressive commission plans (at least while I was there) -Commercial sales segment doing exceptionally well - most reps are far exceeding plan -Budding sales culture -Good alignment with marketing -Employees are friends with each other outside of the office

    Cons

    -More focus on looking good in front of the right people vs. actual performance -Executives will not own their mistakes, would rather offload blame and fire scapegoats -Dehumanizing, tyrant executives who will cut you off mid-sentence and bring down morale -Culture of judgment where you could be alienated for a mistake -Secretive, "big brother" leadership style where little info is shared with individual... contributors -Leadership style is "do as I say not as I do" -Short term decision making > long term decision making (e.g. win the logo at all costs instead of focusing on margin, activation and solution delivery) -Zero empathy for any personal struggles experienced outside of the office -No mechanism for management feedback -Struggles with moving up-market (particularly Flex) - top enterprise reps are not 100% of plan -Internal battles continue to ensue over account ownership -Most remaining employees I've personally spoken with are staying because they feel handcuffed by RSU vesting

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Treat employees like people, trust, empower and encourage -Leave the Oracle/Salesforce cutthroat culture in the past - it's possible to aggressively grow a business and not leave dead bodies behind -Give employees & management constant feedback on performance, too little of this happens today -Get organized, too many employees using different systems for video conferencing, email/SFDC integration, slides,... etc -Continue to invest in start-ups and growth companies, some will grow into the next major accounts -Strike the balance of an aggressive, yet human sales culture

    Show More
    Twilio2019-07-01
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Good growing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Physical Security Manager 

    I have been working at Twilio full-time

    Pros

    Great leadership and the pay is nice.

    Cons

    No work-life balance, you will just work all the time.

    Twilio2019-07-20
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Best Place I've Worked..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture is very inclusive with strong leadership that puts the people first. The product is strong and the space is very interesting.

    Cons

    The product is very technical, so you have to be committed to learning if you want to be good at your role. Also, the company is growing so fast that the pace is very fast. I don't see either as a 'con,' but rather, the challenge of working for a great company.

    Advice to Management

    Continue doing what you are doing.

    Twilio2019-07-13
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Fantastic company - once in a career opportunity to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company - truly values diversity and autonomy at every level of the business. Supports employees through ongoing education, employee resource groups, volunteer opportunities, etc.

    Cons

    Still ironing out some growing pains due to the rapid, post-IPO growth they've endured.

    Twilio2019-05-15
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Good overall company. Hot and cold teams. Ego risks."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Twilio

    Pros

    Solid product in a good space. Going to grow on this basis alone. Lots of chances to stand out Always a challenge Great, energetic people. Rewards for giving back Doers and builders stand out

    Cons

    Egos alienate good people and overlook risks. eg 1 SF-centric mentality forgets simple things like different time zones and cultural differences. eg 2 Product teams face competition with the attitude of “XXX is barely a product”, even in the face of customers spending millions on these supposed “non products”

    Advice to Management

    Customers come first. Too often decisions got made to appease a manager - not a customer. Customers pay the bills. Conflicts between teams and offices aren’t healthy. Bridge. Don’t divide Watch out for the hypocrisy. Diversity isn’t just about gender.

    Twilio2019-06-03
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Good product but terrible culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time

    Pros

    really great product, smart executive team

    Cons

    too much stress, no reliable source to give real feedback, no growth for employees

    Twilio2019-06-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, Leadership and Coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Account Executive in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Transparency and access- Within the first six months of working at Twilio in a remote office, I personally met with 5 C-levels here. There are constant "ask me anything" type forums and feedback is encouraged. There is always something to contribute, and I know that in my short time here I have made an impact. 2. The people - smart and genuine people work here and its easy to be inspired to be greater. ... "All-in" mentality and most people will help. 3. Twilio works. Customers love Twilio and want to talk about what they build. This company is transforming the future of communications. Our earnings call keeps getting more and more impressive each quarter. My LinkedIn is blowing up with people that want to join.

    Show More

    Cons

    1. Lots of internal inefficiencies - learn to "be ok" that there isn't a process to everything (or most things) 2. Easy to be overwhelmed and overworked. There is always something to fix or take ownership on. There isn't always a clear path. You can get a little emotional if you don't anticipate this. 3. Remote employees are often an afterthought. Logistics with everything from scheduling meetings, technology..., and benefits still are messy outside of HQ.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    1. Continue to ask and implement feedback from employees. 2. Incentivize all departments to be a revenue focused company. (More Sales Spiffs wouldn't hurt $$$) 3. Our customers are our best marketing assets, and easiest revenue generation. We should be doing everything possible to make it easy for them to evangelize and inform themselves on Twilio.

    Twilio2019-05-03
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Talent Researcher in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for! Great leadership team and the entire culture of the company is awesome.

    Cons

    I don't have any. This company pays fair, promotes internal growth, has great managers and takes care of its employees.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on hiring a diverse workforce.

    Twilio2019-04-24
  10. Helpful (20)

    "Some strange decisions have been made in the last few months."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are a lot of smart, communicative, inclusive people here. Twilions are willing to work with each other across teams and a lot of us work well together. Even those of us who didn’t work well together at first have managed to figure out how!

    Cons

    Some confusing management picks have been made. Some new management has displayed immature behavior, stonewalling & giving the cold shoulder to some, while loudly being friendly to others. It makes the work environment uncomfortable. Other management changes have included replacing someone with amazing experience with another person with very little. This feels hostile and it feels like all the work I’ve done since... starting means nothing to these new people. I had hoped to stay here for years, but I’m not sure I want to do that. I’ve tried to talk to multiple people in management about my concerns, but have been brushed off. I used to feel like I actually mattered here. Not the case anymore.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look at experience before hiring. Listen to employees when they tell you they’re being treated badly. Give us enough backup to do our jobs. Set us up for success instead of waiting until it’s too late, then blaming us.

    Twilio2019-04-03
Found 175 reviews