Twin Oaks Community Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Twin Oaks Community Services Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Bob Pekar
11 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great Experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher, Elementary School in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Twin Oaks Community Services full-time

    Pros

    Friendly environment, great employees, great families. I was very happy working here. I left because my husband's job relocated us. Otherwise would never have left!

    Cons

    The pay is low. But this should be expected for a small private school in a small city. The pros definitely out way the cons.

    Twin Oaks Community Services2017-09-18
  2. "Excellent Training program for staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Twin Oaks Community Services full-time

    Pros

    They offer continuous training for staff by the in-house training coordinator to make sure that staff stay up-to-date on the mandatory annual trainings required by the State.

    Cons

    Not enough large cons to list.

    Twin Oaks Community Services2017-07-26
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Flexible and good family/work balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Coordinator in Lumberton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twin Oaks Community Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Internal opportunities, flexible schedules, awesome Directors, supportive work environment and excellent staff training opportunities, great PTo and health benefit plan

    Cons

    Pay is on the low side and tend to have to move through the agency in different positions for pay increase

    Advice to Management

    Pay employees higher salaries to manage turn over

    Twin Oaks Community Services2016-08-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Youth Partial Care Case Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Twin Oaks Community Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Met some really nice co-workers

    Cons

    Overworked, underpaid; computers never worked and there were too many job responsibilities for the salary and the stress.

    Twin Oaks Community Services2016-08-06
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Working here is not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mount Holly, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Twin Oaks Community Services

    Pros

    -Learning experience for entry level

    Cons

    -No training -No moving up the ladder -Not good management

    Twin Oaks Community Services2016-07-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good collaboration between colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Twin Oaks Community Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good collaboration and camaraderie between colleagues. In this field support from colleagues is essential and necessary. Staff at the same level as I was essential to my work and the support was so beneficial.

    Cons

    Management often got pressure from above (upper management) to accomplish certain things that then put that pressure on staff. There was less discussion about things and more just doing what had trickled down from above

    Twin Oaks Community Services2016-06-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twin Oaks Community Services

    Pros

    good place to work. treat staff with respect

    Cons

    no cons, good training respectful management

    Twin Oaks Community Services2016-05-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Family Therapist, Facilitator in Duluth, GA

      I worked at Twin Oaks Community Services full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Enjoyed providing counseling services to children and their families. Opportunities to work in different departments.

      Cons

      Low pay for the position.

      Advice to Management

      Provide an increase in salary.

      Twin Oaks Community Services2016-04-18
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great for entry level experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Twin Oaks Community Services full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      -Supportive team of co-workers and supervisors -Flexible work times/days -Great PTO plans -Supervision offered -Community-based supports

      Cons

      -Low pay, however, this is community mental health... -Little to no contact with upper administration -Programs work within themselves and have very little communication with others

      Advice to Management

      I'd love to see more of a presence in the southern part of the state (cape may, atlantic, salem, cumberland)

      Twin Oaks Community Services2016-03-23
    • Helpful (1)

      "Substitute Residential Aide"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Residential Assistant in Edgewater Park, NJ
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Twin Oaks Community Services

      Pros

      Very flexible scheduling for subs. I love the people I work with and the experience and knowledge I've gained from working with children with special needs.

      Cons

      I personally don't have any. Maybe if I was full time I would have more issues but I don't work there enough to have complaints.

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what your doing. Twin oaks is running well and constantly expanding. We just got slight raises and with company expanding hopefully more will come.

      Twin Oaks Community Services2016-02-04
    Found 28 reviews