Twitch Reviews

Updated Jun 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
57%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Twitch CEO Emmett Shear (no image)
Emmett Shear
175 Ratings
Pros
  • "We have great perks and benefits(in 20 reviews)

  • "And the work/life balance is pretty good, people rarely work nights or weekends on my team at least(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Still some growing pains from being a growth focused startup to a more mature company(in 13 reviews)

  • "Because of mandates from upper management pushing a product or idea because they think it will drive minutes(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IOS Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Twitch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get to work on an awesome product. Great managers and coworkers. Get to work on industry leading tech with challenging problems. Good company culture.

    Cons

    Amazon does not pay as well as other big 5 tech companies, bureaucracy can slow things down.

    Twitch2020-03-03
  2. "d"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Twitch full-time

    Pros

    Great place, great work, great people

    Cons

    nothing that i can think of

    Twitch2020-03-02
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Leaves much to be desired"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - People Team in San Francisco, CA
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Twitch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are quite a few amazing perks: free lunch, massages, cool swag, etc. The office is fun and you have work life balance.

    Cons

    The company culture is ridiculous. The company doesn’t value diversity and the People team lacks direction. Promo process is a joke. Your ability to make an impact is severely limited to who you are best buddies with. The inclusivity group doesn’t seem to be backed by Emmett or the company (employees are left to fight the extremely narrow minded, racist and sexist Twitch trolls on their own). The company can’t keep good employees for an extended period of time and it shows. Literally the entire People team has overturned in the past few years. That says something when you can’t keep the people who are tasked with engagement.

    Continue reading
    Twitch2020-06-02
  4. Helpful (12)

    "The emperor has no clothes."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Twitch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are some genuinely smart and and honest people that work at Twitch that do their best to work around the nonsense created by overwhelming management incompetence coupled with controlling/micromanagement.

    Cons

    At Twitch leadership at is nothing more than cronyism. Its like watching the self abuse of the Republican Party - stroke the ego of your leader and you will do ok. Disagree with the Grand Emperor and get blacklisted and labeled a "untrustworthy." It is at that point that management begins to make it as uncomfortable as possible for the individual so there's no real choice but to leave (if you don't already want to). Individuals that get promoted are the ones with their lips firmly planted on the managers backside or have a bobble-head. "Values" have been weaponized for daily use to justify bad behavior by managers. Twitch Managers should actually read and attempt to invest in the values that get recited at every meeting like cult prayer. Maybe if managers lead through example the staff might not need to be "programed" through repetition. Positional authority is the only measure of how correct someone's opinion is within Twitch (regardless of the information provided). Leaders fly off the handle with "hunches" or "educated guesses" and then seek opinions that support their view (sound like a President you know?) Confirmation bias over real information is the order of the day at Twitch and if you are not on their wavelength you will not be on the team. Sad really.... but unfortunately is part of the game with "engineer thinking." Meaning, "I am smart about software so I therefore know everything." Grow up.

    Continue reading
    Twitch2020-03-20
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Terrible culture and Robotic People leader"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Operations in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Twitch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great food, Benefits are excellent, Working hours are decent

    Cons

    Being an Amazon subsidiary, the Chief People Officer is a robot, bad culture, terrible pay, COO runs the entire company and is a dictator

    Twitch2020-04-25
  6. "you'll learn a lot"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Operations Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twitch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    work hard, much to digest, learn a lot, good pay and perks

    Cons

    stressful, good luck turning your brain off

    Continue reading
    Twitch2020-02-28
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Good but not great"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Twitch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People who work here generally love the product. Great location in FiDi SF Relevant tech stack Good WLB

    Cons

    Compensation is tied to Amazon policies that can be uncompetitive for high performers

    Twitch2020-01-15
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Worst Culture I've ever seen"

    1.0
    Current Employee - Product 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Twitch full-time

    Pros

    Free food/snacks Gaming culture if you are really into games Cool office

    Cons

    If you are engineers, you are well treated at twitch. If you are in product, be prepared with political coworkers/managers. Majority of decisions here are top down.

    Twitch2020-01-26
  9. Helpful (4)

    "One of my favorite places to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twitch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great product that overall has a lot of deeply passionate fans. TwitchCon is a blast - I LOVE my manager, and my manager's manager. Really enjoy working with my team over the past couple years. I have many close friends within the company now - I've learned a ton at the company and I get a lot of flexibility to pursue projects that are important to me (and add value to our team/company of course) - I can easily see it being a company I stick with for a long time (10 years)

    Cons

    - As with most places, work experience can vary by team - Collaboration within the company is a weak area. Everyone's trying to work hard on this but there have certainly been some growing pains - Compensation is a little too heavily indexed on Amazon Stock. Compensation adjustments due to raises or promotions largely come in stock grants which can take a couple years before you see that money - not the most immediately gratifying thing

    Twitch2019-12-05
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Join at your own Risk"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Operations 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Twitch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food If you are lucky, great coworkers

    Cons

    Favoritism by the upper People Team leadership It's all about who screams the loudest Support is only provided after they've broken you

    Continue reading
    Twitch2019-12-25
Found 244 reviews