Two Sigma "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Two Sigma Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Oct 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Two Sigma CEO David Siegel and John Overdeck (no image)
David Siegel and John Overdeck
39 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "As Two Sigma grows into a medium-sized entity, there are some growing pains(in 8 reviews)

  • "There's still some red-tape around getting environmental changes approved(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great firm with interesting work and flat organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Two Sigma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Very flat structure. Everyone is approachable. - Interesting work. - Senior management comes from a place of trust, meaning they trust business and project owners to do what's best. And that culture permeates the organization. I feel like my manager has trust and confidence in me. - Certainly a tech firm in the finance / investment management world. This means casual dress code, great benefits, work-life balance, and workplace perks. - From what I've seen, internal mobility happens often and is encouraged. - Employees are empowered and encouraged to take on additional work / solve problems that aren't currently being worked on.

    Cons

    - Different business units can be compartmentalized so can be difficult to meet others throughout the organization.

    Two Sigma2019-10-08
  2. Helpful (4)

    "pays well, bad culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Two Sigma full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - pays quite well - good work-life balance - depending on team, might work on something very interesting

    Cons

    - extremely secretive culture which makes for both awkward interactions with colleagues (people on your own team won't say hi to you in the hallway) and actually makes your job harder (lots of things don't just lack documentation - they CAN'T be documented, people get thrown out of meetings half way through to preserve secrecy, no one casually talks about what they're working on) - can't interact with open source community or speak at conferences about your work very easily

    Continue reading
    Two Sigma2019-10-31
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Great place for a quant researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quantitative Researcher in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Two Sigma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Great work-life balance and flexible hours. 2. Smart people with high level of intellectual curiosity as their main motivation. 3. Great tech-company-like culture that values creative ideas from everyone. 4. Challenging and interesting work.

    Cons

    No major complaints yet.

    Two Sigma2019-08-08
  4. "Great company to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Two Sigma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Average quality of employees is high. Good work life balance. Good reputation in financial world.

    Cons

    Although people here try to be very helpful, Green Card application process takes longer than normal big IT companies due to limit of experience and resource.

    Two Sigma2019-08-15
  5. Helpful (20)

    "To me, super interesting work matching my skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quantitative Researcher in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Two Sigma full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    (1) As a quant researcher, super exciting work. See the impact of your own models to bring revenue to the company, see you can predict the future by using advanced quant techniques; (2) Great work-life balance, the company understand that great idea takes time to become effective and it understands that letting researchers have their own schedules and pace is good in the long run; (3) Excellent pay with no doubt.

    Cons

    In my view, the company hires way many engineers than needed sometimes. I need to maintain the bar to be high and hire just enough and really excellent engineers, and of course treat them well. Too many so-so hires hurts the company reputation and the business.

    Continue reading
    Two Sigma2018-06-11
  6. Helpful (11)

    "Glad I ended up here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Two Sigma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work/life balance - Management doesn't want people to burn out and actively looks out for your working conditions. My manager will regularly tell me to go home when I work past 6:30 and gives me mornings off when I work late fixing a high priority support issue. People/Culture - The people are great! Everyone I've worked with here has been highly competent and easy to work with. There's a huge culture of learning and exploration here. Tons of tech talks and study groups with food catered in year-round. There's also non work-related groups and competitions for just about everything like Poker, Bridge, Magic The Gathering, Basketball, Running etc.. Work - The work itself has been quite fulfilling. I can't speak for how it is on every team, but I've worked on backend, frontend, infrastructure, networking, devops, and mobile for my team. My manager does an excellent job at matching me with projects that I'm currently interested in working on. There's a constant stream of exciting and technically challenging new ideas and features. Career Growth - Two Sigma wants to keep people for the long haul and it's super easy to move around the company. There's a big emphasis on setting work related goals for yourself to help you grow and revisiting them a few times a year to see where you're at.

    Cons

    There's still some red-tape around getting environmental changes approved. However, over the last year there has been a ton of progress on speeding things up and being more flexible on security concerns as more teams explore different environmental setups. Some of the legacy internal infrastructure is starting to show its age. There's a lot of work being done to modernize it and embrace more open source solutions, but there's still a ways to go. However, teams who are working in the cloud don't really have to worry about this.

    Two Sigma2017-01-04
  7. Helpful (3)

    "High level individual responsibility & autonomy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Two Sigma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High level of talent - the firm is filled with smart people High level of impact - the projects we take on are meaningful Interesting work - you will have the opportunity to be creative & take on interesting challenges Autonomy applies to work life balance - you are responsible for creating value, not for putting in long hours

    Cons

    It's up to you to determine how to contribute to the success of the firm, since you are given autonomy. This can be con, if you require direction to succeed.

    Continue reading
    Two Sigma2016-05-03
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Two Sigma hires good people, and does some interesting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Two Sigma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A good work / life balance, some very nice office space in some of the buildings, with enough size and stability to make it feel as if long-term careers are possible.

    Cons

    Salaries may not compete with other tech companies in the area. Company claims to be working on numerous very interesting problems, but in reality there is a lot of uninteresting work mixed in.

    Two Sigma2012-11-10
Found 8 reviews