U.S. Army Reserve Reviews | Glassdoor

U.S. Army Reserve Reviews

Updated Aug 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 663 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
U.S. Army Reserve CEO Jeffrey W. Talley
Jeffrey W. Talley
230 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, everything is open to the soldiers, great leadership, excellent training opportunities(in 38 reviews)

  • "Great Benefits and competitive salary(in 35 reviews)

Cons
  • "Many deployments, time away from family, some jobs have high inherent risks(in 43 reviews)

  • "Not everyone can strive in a military environment(in 31 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Colonel 

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent opportunities if you take advantage of them

    Cons

    Always the chance you could get deployed.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-08-16
  2. "Great Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Company Commander in Austin, TX
    Recommends

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Ability to continue serving and have a civilian career

    Cons

    Difficult to manage schedule, abrupt changes to scheduling

    Advice to Management

    Provide as much consistency as possible to Soldiers.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-08-14
  3. "If you want the full military experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Combat Engineer in Ogden, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You work hands on with numerous types of explosives

    Cons

    A lot of time in the field and requires a lot of time away from family.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-08-24
  4. "It was a pleasure and worldly experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Active Duty Military 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    To protect our freedoms and the freedoms of others.

    Cons

    Long periods of separation from family.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-08-21
  5. "Pride and patriotism to our country. Proud to be a part of a large government organization."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Colonel-Command Surgeon & Nurse Staff Officer in Los Alamitos, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at U.S. Army Reserve full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Leadership and management authority and responsibility. Increased responsibility with promotions and pay. Excellent career opportunities and benefits! Great culture and values!

    Cons

    There are no cons to this career field.

    Advice to Management

    Organization, leadership and management done correctly!

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-07-30
  6. "Great being a Chaplain in the U.S. Army Reserve!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chaplain 
    Recommends

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Ministering is Soldiers and DA Civilians is very rewarding!

    Cons

    Can't come up with any at the moment!

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-07-16
  7. "Excellent Experience Building Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Company Commander 

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time

    Pros

    Helps you develop people skills focusing on teamwork, problem solving, and resource management.

    Cons

    Like with anything military you should expect to spend time away from your family.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to improve communication across all levels of the organization.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-07-11
  8. "Regret it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - 25U - Signal Support Systems Specialist 

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time

    Pros

    -Insurance Benefits -Training Opportunities -Physical fitness is strongly encouraged and coached

    Cons

    -We're the Active Duty Army's little brother who only gets hand-me-downs -Sometimes they aren't very nice to us

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-08-15
  9. "Engineer Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Military Officer in Tulsa, OK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great benefits, good retirement and excellent health insurance. Best decision I ever made in my civilian or military career.

    Cons

    time commitment is greater than expected

    Advice to Management

    keep solider involved in planning and in career progression

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-07-08
  10. "Awesome job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Unit Supply Specialist 

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time

    Pros

    Learn lots of things and have many different experiences.

    Cons

    Schdule is always subject to change.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-07-03
Found 663 reviews