U.S. Army Reserve E5 - Army - Sergeant Reviews | Glassdoor

U.S. Army Reserve Reviews

Updated Jul 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 617 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
U.S. Army Reserve CEO Jeffrey W. Talley
Jeffrey W. Talley
215 Ratings
  1. "Excellent Experience Building Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Company Commander 

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time

    Pros

    Helps you develop people skills focusing on teamwork, problem solving, and resource management.

    Cons

    Like with anything military you should expect to spend time away from your family.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to improve communication across all levels of the organization.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-07-11
  2. "Engineer Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Military Officer in Tulsa, OK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great benefits, good retirement and excellent health insurance. Best decision I ever made in my civilian or military career.

    Cons

    time commitment is greater than expected

    Advice to Management

    keep solider involved in planning and in career progression

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-07-08
  3. "Awesome job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Unit Supply Specialist 

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time

    Pros

    Learn lots of things and have many different experiences.

    Cons

    Schdule is always subject to change.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-07-03
  4. "Thinking About the Military?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Drill Sergeant in Greensboro, NC

      I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      In the US Army Reserve, I am able to have a dual career. Just like with Active Duty Army, traveling is still involved as well as just as many possibilities depending on the job and the unit. Once you retire from the Army, instead of starting all over again in regards to a career, you are able to continue from the one you already built while you are in the military.

      Cons

      You are still away from home at times and you are balancing a dual career. Sometimes it is a headache when you have deadlines from both careers coming at you. It can be stressful.

      Advice to Management

      A lot of military service members takes initiative and works really well with deadlines. Sometimes, personality wise, we may come off as harsh and rough around the edges. Please don't take it personal. You want us to complete a task, we are going to complete it to the best of our ability.

      U.S. Army Reserve2019-07-15
    • "Trainee"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Intelligence Analyst in Austin, TX

      I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Paid learning opportunities with reimbursement

      Cons

      deployable with any time and annual training will affect your regular employer

      U.S. Army Reserve2019-07-15
    • "Great Opportunity"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - 92A Automated Logistics Specialist 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great benefits and competitive salary

      Cons

      So far, I have not found any cons.

      U.S. Army Reserve2019-06-22
    • "family oriented"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Nutritionist 

        I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve full-time

        Pros

        the job has a self enriching level of discipline

        Cons

        the disseminating of information to military personnel is unorganized

        Advice to Management

        work on structure at rank stratification

        U.S. Army Reserve2019-07-02
      • "Very Variable Experience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - 25S in Fort Lewis, WA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Possible retirement benefits are good.

        Cons

        Lots of paperwork at times.

        U.S. Army Reserve2019-06-25
      • "Cool opportunities with some drawbacks"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Judge Advocate 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        I have gotten to do cutting-edge legal work that has materially impacted my command's ability to accomplish the mission.

        Cons

        People sometimes throw their ranks around. Also, a lot of the administrative stuff is a pain in the rear. If you can tolerate that, you will be rewarded with great opportunities and challenges.

        U.S. Army Reserve2019-06-06
      • "Army Reserve Transition"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - O3 - Army - Captain in Austin, TX
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Good compensation for drill and for extra training on non drill weekends. Very flexible for civilians with busy jobs.

        Cons

        Long wait times for schools needed for career advancements and opportunities.

        U.S. Army Reserve2019-05-26
      Found 617 reviews