U.S. Army Reserve Reviews | Glassdoor

U.S. Army Reserve Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 622 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
U.S. Army Reserve CEO Jeffrey W. Talley
Jeffrey W. Talley
216 Ratings
  1. "Excellent Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Colonel 

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent opportunities if you take advantage of them

    Cons

    Always the chance you could get deployed.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-08-16
  2. "Great Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Company Commander in Austin, TX
    Recommends

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Ability to continue serving and have a civilian career

    Cons

    Difficult to manage schedule, abrupt changes to scheduling

    Advice to Management

    Provide as much consistency as possible to Soldiers.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-08-14
  3. "Great being a Chaplain in the U.S. Army Reserve!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chaplain 
    Recommends

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Ministering is Soldiers and DA Civilians is very rewarding!

    Cons

    Can't come up with any at the moment!

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-07-16
  4. "Excellent Experience Building Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Company Commander 

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time

    Pros

    Helps you develop people skills focusing on teamwork, problem solving, and resource management.

    Cons

    Like with anything military you should expect to spend time away from your family.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to improve communication across all levels of the organization.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-07-11
  5. "Engineer Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Military Officer in Tulsa, OK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great benefits, good retirement and excellent health insurance. Best decision I ever made in my civilian or military career.

    Cons

    time commitment is greater than expected

    Advice to Management

    keep solider involved in planning and in career progression

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-07-08
  6. "Awesome job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Unit Supply Specialist 

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time

    Pros

    Learn lots of things and have many different experiences.

    Cons

    Schdule is always subject to change.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-07-03
  7. "Great Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 92A Automated Logistics Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and competitive salary

    Cons

    So far, I have not found any cons.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-06-22
  8. "Cool opportunities with some drawbacks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Judge Advocate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have gotten to do cutting-edge legal work that has materially impacted my command's ability to accomplish the mission.

    Cons

    People sometimes throw their ranks around. Also, a lot of the administrative stuff is a pain in the rear. If you can tolerate that, you will be rewarded with great opportunities and challenges.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-06-06
  9. "Army Reserve Transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - O3 - Army - Captain in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good compensation for drill and for extra training on non drill weekends. Very flexible for civilians with busy jobs.

    Cons

    Long wait times for schools needed for career advancements and opportunities.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-05-26
  10. "It’s an honor to serve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sfc in Tupelo, MS
    Recommends

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay & Benefits, free uniforms, part of a team

    Cons

    Civilian jobs do not want to hire you because you are in the Reserves and will have to miss some work doing training. If you put down you are in the Reserves and are seeking a supervisor job they will most likely not hire you. I’m experiencing that first hand.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-05-17
Found 622 reviews