U.S. Army Reserve Reviews | Glassdoor

U.S. Army Reserve Reviews

Updated 12 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 627 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
U.S. Army Reserve CEO Jeffrey W. Talley
Jeffrey W. Talley
219 Ratings
  1. "Great being a Chaplain in the U.S. Army Reserve!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chaplain 
    Recommends

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Ministering is Soldiers and DA Civilians is very rewarding!

    Cons

    Can't come up with any at the moment!

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-07-16
  2. "Trainee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intelligence Analyst in Austin, TX

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid learning opportunities with reimbursement

    Cons

    deployable with any time and annual training will affect your regular employer

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-07-15
  3. "Thinking About the Military?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Drill Sergeant in Greensboro, NC

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    In the US Army Reserve, I am able to have a dual career. Just like with Active Duty Army, traveling is still involved as well as just as many possibilities depending on the job and the unit. Once you retire from the Army, instead of starting all over again in regards to a career, you are able to continue from the one you already built while you are in the military.

    Cons

    You are still away from home at times and you are balancing a dual career. Sometimes it is a headache when you have deadlines from both careers coming at you. It can be stressful.

    Advice to Management

    A lot of military service members takes initiative and works really well with deadlines. Sometimes, personality wise, we may come off as harsh and rough around the edges. Please don't take it personal. You want us to complete a task, we are going to complete it to the best of our ability.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-07-15
  4. "Excellent Experience Building Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Company Commander 

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time

    Pros

    Helps you develop people skills focusing on teamwork, problem solving, and resource management.

    Cons

    Like with anything military you should expect to spend time away from your family.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to improve communication across all levels of the organization.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-07-11
  5. "Engineer Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Military Officer in Tulsa, OK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great benefits, good retirement and excellent health insurance. Best decision I ever made in my civilian or military career.

    Cons

    time commitment is greater than expected

    Advice to Management

    keep solider involved in planning and in career progression

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-07-08
  6. "Awesome job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Unit Supply Specialist 

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time

    Pros

    Learn lots of things and have many different experiences.

    Cons

    Schdule is always subject to change.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-07-03
  7. "family oriented"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Nutritionist 

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve full-time

    Pros

    the job has a self enriching level of discipline

    Cons

    the disseminating of information to military personnel is unorganized

    Advice to Management

    work on structure at rank stratification

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-07-02
  8. "Very Variable Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 25S in Fort Lewis, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Possible retirement benefits are good.

    Cons

    Lots of paperwork at times.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-06-25
  9. "Great Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 92A Automated Logistics Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and competitive salary

    Cons

    So far, I have not found any cons.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-06-22
  10. "Cool opportunities with some drawbacks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Judge Advocate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have gotten to do cutting-edge legal work that has materially impacted my command's ability to accomplish the mission.

    Cons

    People sometimes throw their ranks around. Also, a lot of the administrative stuff is a pain in the rear. If you can tolerate that, you will be rewarded with great opportunities and challenges.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-06-06
Found 627 reviews