U.S. Army Reserve Reviews | Glassdoor

U.S. Army Reserve Reviews

Updated 18 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 627 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
U.S. Army Reserve CEO Jeffrey W. Talley
Jeffrey W. Talley
218 Ratings
  1. "Cool opportunities with some drawbacks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Judge Advocate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have gotten to do cutting-edge legal work that has materially impacted my command's ability to accomplish the mission.

    Cons

    People sometimes throw their ranks around. Also, a lot of the administrative stuff is a pain in the rear. If you can tolerate that, you will be rewarded with great opportunities and challenges.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-06-06
  2. "Army Reserve Transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - O3 - Army - Captain in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good compensation for drill and for extra training on non drill weekends. Very flexible for civilians with busy jobs.

    Cons

    Long wait times for schools needed for career advancements and opportunities.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-05-26
  3. "Great leadership skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Officer in Lawton, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A great way to lay your foundation for future work.

    Cons

    Not everyone can strive in a military environment.

    Advice to Management

    Prior military people normally make good employees

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-06-05
  4. "It’s an honor to serve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sfc in Tupelo, MS
    Recommends

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay & Benefits, free uniforms, part of a team

    Cons

    Civilian jobs do not want to hire you because you are in the Reserves and will have to miss some work doing training. If you put down you are in the Reserves and are seeking a supervisor job they will most likely not hire you. I’m experiencing that first hand.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-05-17
  5. "Army Reserve (AGR)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Personnel Adviser (AGR) 
    Recommends

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The Army Reserve AGR program is the opportunity not only serve and defend the nation, but to ensure the mission readiness and effectiveness of the Army's Reserve Forces. Having the benefits and advantages of being an active duty Soldier, but with the ability to be assigned to more locations and work in more diverse settings.

    Cons

    Sometimes it can be difficult to get needed personnel support from Human Resources Command. It is also common to quickly find yourself responsible for multiple various duty positions, but not really get any official training for them.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-05-11
  6. "Solid Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - E5/SGT 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I enjoyed the day-to-day activities and development in leadership.

    Cons

    Acquiring the proper schools becomes difficult.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-05-12
  7. "Waste of time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at U.S. Army Reserve full-time

    Pros

    GI Bill is pretty useful

    Cons

    Literally everything else that comes with it

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-06-05
  8. "Platoon SGT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Seargent Plt Sergeant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benifits, paid school, travel, and life learned experiences

    Cons

    sacrifice of family time and major moments with kids

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-05-11
  9. "Many Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Specialist 

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Plenty of training and opportunities to gain new skills.

    Cons

    Awkward schedules and pay that's sometimes not worth missing civilian work for.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-05-11
  10. "Worst Organization in the world."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 92F Petroleum Specialist in Chillicothe, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I would not recommend this organization.

    Cons

    Bad leadership in the chain of command from commander in chief down to the sergeant level. I tried to put in my two weeks at Basic Training and I am still in the U.S. ARMY three years later. Attached to an unprofessional unit in Chillicothe, OH who did not contact me until nine months after AIT Training. These positions are underpaid and I do not have enough money to afford a car and housing or to report to... Chillicothe, OH. Civilians are discriminatory towards soldiers in Cincinnati. This is the worst organization I have ever been a part of.

    Show More
    U.S. Army Reserve2019-05-28
Found 627 reviews