U.S. Government Accountability Office Reviews

Updated Mar 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
69%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
U.S. Government Accountability Office Comptroller General Eugene Louis Dodaro
Eugene Louis Dodaro
105 Ratings
Pros
  • "Supportive, work life balance was very important(in 57 reviews)

  • "Great work products, smart people, great introduction to federal government issues(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "The work can move very slowly, and the organization is on the whole slow to change and risk-averse(in 14 reviews)

  • "Also, sometimes the work environment can be a bit slower(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Short term"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Census Enumerator 
    Recommends

    I worked at U.S. Government Accountability Office full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Set your own hours. Reimbursed for driving time and mileage.

    Cons

    Unpredictable end time. Hard to plan for the future.

    U.S. Government Accountability Office2020-02-25
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great at Policy, but Slow and Risk-Averse"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at U.S. Government Accountability Office full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work-life balance, great reputation among people who know it, flexibility on the topics/agencies you work on, guarantee that you'll be published and that your work will be meaningfully disseminated

    Cons

    Very risk-averse, technologically backwards, slow to change, culture varies a lot by team, takes a long time to get promoted

    Continue reading
    U.S. Government Accountability Office2020-03-29
  3. "Great place to work and grow"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at U.S. Government Accountability Office full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Supportive, work life balance was very important

    Cons

    Slow, bureaucratic. Often a hyper risk averse culture.

    U.S. Government Accountability Office2020-02-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Solid DNA but lost its way"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at U.S. Government Accountability Office full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The mission of the organization is great. The agency is truly non-partisan. The work can be meaningful.

    Cons

    Promotions are too focused on who has been waiting the longest instead of who is the most competent. Many managers are not motivated. Enhanced telework policies make the office feel like a ghost town.

    U.S. Government Accountability Office2020-02-17
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Depends on Who you work with"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at U.S. Government Accountability Office full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    interesting work; potential to travel; interesting colleagues

    Cons

    your rating depends more on who you work with than what you do

    U.S. Government Accountability Office2019-12-12
  6. "Good place"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst 

    I have been working at U.S. Government Accountability Office full-time

    Pros

    Smart people and very interesting work.

    Cons

    A lot of process - sometimes process over substance of you get placed with the wrong people.

    U.S. Government Accountability Office2019-11-14
  7. "One of the better public sector careers"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at U.S. Government Accountability Office full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work-life balance. Some genuinely smart people and some interesting projects

    Cons

    Slow pace of work, rigid top-down hierarchy, red tape

    U.S. Government Accountability Office2019-11-04
  8. "Great place to work, but slow paced"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Washington, DC
    Recommends

    I have been working at U.S. Government Accountability Office full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great flexibility in schedule (set your own start time, can flex ever other Friday, nice sick and annual leave)

    Cons

    Not a lot of autonomy on what projects you get staffed on, and the overall pace of work is very slow and independent.

    U.S. Government Accountability Office2019-09-19
  9. "so-so"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Engineer in Fredericksburg, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at U.S. Government Accountability Office full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    new equipment is always being purchased

    Cons

    to much red tape to do anything

    Continue reading
    U.S. Government Accountability Office2019-06-03
  10. "Overall good experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Analyst Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at U.S. Government Accountability Office full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -- Friendly, intellectually curious colleagues -- Lots of training opportunities for incoming people -- You can go to hearings on the Hill and meetings with Congressional staffers -- There are many events at GAO that are interesting - it almost felt like being on a college campus

    Cons

    -- Work can be very slow moving -- Extremely process-oriented

    U.S. Government Accountability Office2019-05-02

    U.S. Government Accountability Office Response

    September 13, 2019

    Thank you for your comments. We often hear that one of the best things about working at GAO is the opportunity to collaborate with and learn from such great colleagues. We also hear that our internal processes can feel slow at times. While these processes are in place to ensure the quality and integrity of our work, we are always looking for ways to improve them so our practices and products better reflect the demands of a fast-moving, ever-changing world.

    Previous
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next
Viewing 1 - 10 of 190 Reviews