U.S. Office of Personnel Management Reviews | Glassdoor

U.S. Office of Personnel Management Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 95 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
U.S. Office of Personnel Management CEO Kathleen McGettigan
Kathleen McGettigan
6 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "You are bound to many rules when working in the federal government compared to the private sector(in 4 reviews)

  • "No cons maybe better pay no caps on pay(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at U.S. Office of Personnel Management full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Get to work with many different federal agencies. You get to help define HR processes used in the federal government.

    Cons

    You are bound to many rules when working in the federal government compared to the private sector.

    U.S. Office of Personnel Management2019-01-02
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at U.S. Office of Personnel Management full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    flexible work hours training available supportive supervisors

    Cons

    too top heavy impossible deadlines lack of communication lack of opportunities lack of resources

    U.S. Office of Personnel Management2019-01-29
  3. Helpful (2)

    "find another agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at U.S. Office of Personnel Management full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    I can't think of any

    Cons

    Disorganized, lack established procedures, cronyism , lack of diversity, favoritism, no ethics, horrible culture of favoritism, cronyism, no values. If you are educated and have values and work ethic, stay away.

    Advice to Management

    hire a diverse group of managers, people with some education. Keep your racial biases in check.

    U.S. Office of Personnel Management2019-02-20
  4. "OPM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at U.S. Office of Personnel Management full-time

    Pros

    Work/Life Flexibilities Work is autonomous

    Cons

    Lack of recognition/rewards Lack of transparency

    U.S. Office of Personnel Management2019-01-12
  5. "Flexible Schedule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at U.S. Office of Personnel Management full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I can only speak for my office, but they encourage telework and as much time off as you need. The majority of work is done autonomously which is great.

    Cons

    You can get furloughed for an extensive period of time. My office needs to encourage more team projects.

    U.S. Office of Personnel Management2019-01-10
  6. "Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at U.S. Office of Personnel Management full-time

    Pros

    Good location in Washington, DC.

    Cons

    Organization is in disarray, office environment is outdated, HR function needs to be strengthened.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on human capital issues at OPM and federal government, move non-HR and back office functions to other government entities.

    U.S. Office of Personnel Management2019-01-07
  7. "Disaster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Contracting Officer in Philadelphia, PA

      I worked at U.S. Office of Personnel Management full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I was able to return to the DOD

      Cons

      This place was such an unorganized mess

      Advice to Management

      Priorities and policies must align

      U.S. Office of Personnel Management2018-12-31
    • "Feedback"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at U.S. Office of Personnel Management full-time

      Pros

      The agency oversees an Influential policy area

      Cons

      Very bureaucratic. Agency cannot work across silos

      U.S. Office of Personnel Management2018-11-15
    • "Different organizations use it differently"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at U.S. Office of Personnel Management full-time

        Pros

        Security, stability, opportunity if you are driven.

        Cons

        Upward mobility can be challenging. There are good people, but many people who are just going through the motions.

        U.S. Office of Personnel Management2018-10-03
      • "Analyst"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Analyst in Cranberry Township, PA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at U.S. Office of Personnel Management full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Telework....nothing else I can think of at this time

        Cons

        Most of the duties are being moved to other various agencies, this will leave OPM as a shell of itself. The agency has a antiquated mindset and the work environment is like high school.

        Advice to Management

        Evolve

        U.S. Office of Personnel Management2018-09-27
      Found 95 reviews