U.S. Office of Personnel Management Reviews | Glassdoor

U.S. Office of Personnel Management Reviews

Updated Jun 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 96 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
U.S. Office of Personnel Management CEO Kathleen McGettigan
Kathleen McGettigan
6 Ratings
  1. "Federal government a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Administrative Secretary in Washington, DC

      I worked at U.S. Office of Personnel Management full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Interesting job with diverse group of people.

      Cons

      Sometimes it was difficult trying to get promoted.

      Advice to Management

      Promote employees on their worth and not how long they have been on the job.

      U.S. Office of Personnel Management2019-06-09
    • Helpful (2)

      "find another agency"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at U.S. Office of Personnel Management full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      I can't think of any

      Cons

      Disorganized, lack established procedures, cronyism , lack of diversity, favoritism, no ethics, horrible culture of favoritism, cronyism, no values. If you are educated and have values and work ethic, stay away.

      Advice to Management

      hire a diverse group of managers, people with some education. Keep your racial biases in check.

      U.S. Office of Personnel Management2019-02-20
    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at U.S. Office of Personnel Management full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      flexible work hours training available supportive supervisors

      Cons

      too top heavy impossible deadlines lack of communication lack of opportunities lack of resources

      U.S. Office of Personnel Management2019-01-29
    • "OPM"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at U.S. Office of Personnel Management full-time

      Pros

      Work/Life Flexibilities Work is autonomous

      Cons

      Lack of recognition/rewards Lack of transparency

      U.S. Office of Personnel Management2019-01-12
    • "Flexible Schedule"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Analyst in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at U.S. Office of Personnel Management full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I can only speak for my office, but they encourage telework and as much time off as you need. The majority of work is done autonomously which is great.

      Cons

      You can get furloughed for an extensive period of time. My office needs to encourage more team projects.

      U.S. Office of Personnel Management2019-01-10
    • "Program Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at U.S. Office of Personnel Management full-time

      Pros

      Good location in Washington, DC.

      Cons

      Organization is in disarray, office environment is outdated, HR function needs to be strengthened.

      Advice to Management

      Focus on human capital issues at OPM and federal government, move non-HR and back office functions to other government entities.

      U.S. Office of Personnel Management2019-01-07
    • "Great place to work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Human Resources Consultant 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at U.S. Office of Personnel Management full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Get to work with many different federal agencies. You get to help define HR processes used in the federal government.

      Cons

      You are bound to many rules when working in the federal government compared to the private sector.

      U.S. Office of Personnel Management2019-01-02
    • "Disaster"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Contracting Officer in Philadelphia, PA

        I worked at U.S. Office of Personnel Management full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        I was able to return to the DOD

        Cons

        This place was such an unorganized mess

        Advice to Management

        Priorities and policies must align

        U.S. Office of Personnel Management2018-12-31
      • "Feedback"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at U.S. Office of Personnel Management full-time

        Pros

        The agency oversees an Influential policy area

        Cons

        Very bureaucratic. Agency cannot work across silos

        U.S. Office of Personnel Management2018-11-15
      • "Different organizations use it differently"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at U.S. Office of Personnel Management full-time

          Pros

          Security, stability, opportunity if you are driven.

          Cons

          Upward mobility can be challenging. There are good people, but many people who are just going through the motions.

          U.S. Office of Personnel Management2018-10-03
        Found 96 reviews