U.S. Office of Personnel Management Reviews | Glassdoor

U.S. Office of Personnel Management Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 95 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
U.S. Office of Personnel Management CEO Kathleen McGettigan
Kathleen McGettigan
6 Ratings
  1. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC

      I have been working at U.S. Office of Personnel Management for more than a year

      Pros

      it was a great experience

      Cons

      No con's that i can think of

      Advice to Management

      No advice at the moment

      U.S. Office of Personnel Management2018-08-09
    • "Looking for New Opportunities"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at U.S. Office of Personnel Management full-time

      Pros

      Dedication to Country. Opportunity to lead.

      Cons

      Think I need a change.

      U.S. Office of Personnel Management2018-06-16
    • "Summer Internship"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at U.S. Office of Personnel Management full-time

      Pros

      You learn a lot about plan ratings as an intern.

      Cons

      It's not as structured as other internships.

      U.S. Office of Personnel Management2018-01-31
    • "Tech"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at U.S. Office of Personnel Management full-time

        Pros

        I had a pleasant rewarding fulfilling career at Tinker.

        Cons

        I have no negative comments regarding employment at Tinker.

        Advice to Management

        I have no advice for management or job opportunities at Tinker.

        U.S. Office of Personnel Management2018-01-30
      • "WORK FOR THE CHIEF PERSONNEL OFFICER"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Court Ordered Benefits Paralegal Specialist in Washington, DC
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at U.S. Office of Personnel Management full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        It is supposed to be the chief venue of opportunity for any qualified jobseekers and employees with disabilities to begin with and throughout its echelon

        Cons

        It is not an opportune location to work when there is/are some serious work issues which need to be addressed which have not truly been laid out on the table of discussion in-depth or face-to-face. (That explained my reasons why I saw myself being suddenly terminated from the Office of Personnel Management prestigious work opportunity few years back).

        Advice to Management

        My line of advice for the management from top to bottom is to carefully pay attention to any serious workload issues in order to mete out with transparency and honesty.

        U.S. Office of Personnel Management2017-12-23
      • "Great Place to Have a Career"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Human Resources Specialist in Chicago, IL
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at U.S. Office of Personnel Management full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        OPM is part of the Federal Government which has great benefits and career opportunities. Great Opportunities for advancement without having a college degree.

        Cons

        Working for the Federal Government has its downfalls like possible furloughs, reduction in forces, budget constraints.

        U.S. Office of Personnel Management2017-11-30
      • Helpful (5)

        "Special Agent"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Special Agent in Bowie, MD
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at U.S. Office of Personnel Management full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Flexible schedule and telework opportunities.

        Cons

        The position is extremely demanding and it's hard to maintain a healthy work life balance. There aren't any team lead positions. Most Agents move to another Agency for growth opportunities.

        Advice to Management

        Retention abs growth opportunities should be a priority.

        U.S. Office of Personnel Management2017-11-09
      • "Pathways Intern"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Pathways Internship 
        Recommends

        I have been working at U.S. Office of Personnel Management full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Best place to work!

        Cons

        No cons, love it here

        U.S. Office of Personnel Management2017-11-03
      • "Security assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Security Assistant in Boyers, PA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at U.S. Office of Personnel Management full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Excellent work life balance.

        Cons

        Regular updates to guidance and merging of information from multiple points of reference

        Advice to Management

        Na

        U.S. Office of Personnel Management2017-10-19
      • Helpful (2)

        "Federal Investigator"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at U.S. Office of Personnel Management full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        You get a government car, you get to work from home and you receive excellent training to use towards a better job and agency, like I did!

        Cons

        Training is excellent. Once you get to your office, you are paired with a mentor that literally tells you to forget EVERYTHING you learned in the academy. If you get a supervisor and mentor like mine, you will get harassed, threatened to be fired if you speak out against the "house practices", your workload will be manipulated and no matter how hard to try to make the situation better it will not get better. Working...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        When employees tell you that they feel discriminated upon, how about taking action. Don't try to say it's all in our heads or we are being overly sensitive.

        U.S. Office of Personnel Management2017-11-15
      Found 95 reviews