U.S. Soccer Federation Referee Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Referee

U.S. Soccer Federation Referee Reviews

Updated Feb 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
5.0
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
U.S. Soccer Federation Chief Executive Officer Dan Flynn (no image)
Dan Flynn
5 Ratings
  1. "Head"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Soccer Referee 

    I have been working at U.S. Soccer Federation part-time

    Pros

    No taxes on the pay

    Cons

    The work is labor intensive

    U.S. Soccer Federation2020-02-10
  2. "Highest standard of soccer in the US"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Soccer Referee 

    I have been working at U.S. Soccer Federation

    Pros

    Great relationships and instructions from all staff

    Cons

    Too many changes in presenters

    U.S. Soccer Federation2019-12-03
  3. "Great Starting Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Freelancer - Referee in Staten Island, NY

    I worked at U.S. Soccer Federation for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can make your own hours.

    Cons

    The pay is not the highest but a good place to start.

    U.S. Soccer Federation2019-03-29
  4. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Referee in San Jose, CA

    I worked at U.S. Soccer Federation for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay, get a work out, flexible schedule

    Cons

    Fans and coaches can be verbally abusing, constant need for refs can mean you need to take on an extra load of games.

    U.S. Soccer Federation2018-02-19
  5. "High school job that kept going in college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Soccer Referee in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at U.S. Soccer Federation for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Unparalleled in teaching grit, and learning how to perform under pressure. People are really good the more you work (referee) and the harder you work.

    Cons

    Can be a very negative/intimidating environment.

    Continue reading
    U.S. Soccer Federation2017-09-26
  6. "Referee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Referee in Orange, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at U.S. Soccer Federation for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Could work on my own schedule

    Cons

    There were no problems I had while working.

    U.S. Soccer Federation2017-05-08
  7. "I work as a soccer official. It's a really good opportunity, especially for younger players looking for their first job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Soccer Referee 

    I have been working at U.S. Soccer Federation for more than 5 years

    Pros

    As a referee you work basically as a contractor, so you don't have to worry about working more than you want to.

    Cons

    Nobody likes referees, so if you become one you have to be ready to get yelled at. However, this doesn't really have anything to do with USSF.

    U.S. Soccer Federation2016-11-08
  8. "Ussf Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Referee - Grade 8 in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at U.S. Soccer Federation for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The process to get started refereeing was very easy, and the work schedules were very flexible.

    Cons

    As a soccer referee, since most soccer games take place on the weekend, the majority of your work will be on the weekend.

    Continue reading
    U.S. Soccer Federation2016-03-17
  9. "Ref"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Referee in Orlando, FL

    I worked at U.S. Soccer Federation part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Super flexible with hours, great environment and people, got to be around sports all day

    Cons

    Being outside with angry parents

    U.S. Soccer Federation2015-12-10
  10. "Tough, and Rewarding!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Soccer Referee in West Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at U.S. Soccer Federation for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Being a referee wil teach you everything you really need to know about life! Seriously, it will keep you in shape (if you take it seriously), train you to quickly spot things around you, make the right snap decision, and how to keep your cool and manage difficult people in stressful situations. And you get paid to work out.

    Cons

    The travel time to get to matches and time spent stretching out combine to create a large overhead compared to the actual mount of time you spend ref'fing the match. But this is necessary for those who take is seriously and want to improve. It's a time commitment, and you have to stay i shape too. Those are pretty minor cons for someone who values being in shape, frankly. And yo won't do this for the money, it's for the love of the game.

    Continue reading
    U.S. Soccer Federation2015-07-08
Found 22 reviews