U.S. Soccer Federation Soccer Referee Reviews | Glassdoor

U.S. Soccer Federation Soccer Referee Reviews

Updated Feb 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
5.0
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
U.S. Soccer Federation Chief Executive Officer Dan Flynn (no image)
Dan Flynn
2 Ratings
  1. "Head"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Soccer Referee 

    I have been working at U.S. Soccer Federation part-time

    Pros

    No taxes on the pay

    Cons

    The work is labor intensive

    U.S. Soccer Federation2020-02-10
  2. "Highest standard of soccer in the US"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Soccer Referee 

    I have been working at U.S. Soccer Federation

    Pros

    Great relationships and instructions from all staff

    Cons

    Too many changes in presenters

    U.S. Soccer Federation2019-12-03
  3. "High school job that kept going in college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Soccer Referee in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at U.S. Soccer Federation for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Unparalleled in teaching grit, and learning how to perform under pressure. People are really good the more you work (referee) and the harder you work.

    Cons

    Can be a very negative/intimidating environment.

    Continue reading
    U.S. Soccer Federation2017-09-26
  4. "I work as a soccer official. It's a really good opportunity, especially for younger players looking for their first job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Soccer Referee 

    I have been working at U.S. Soccer Federation for more than 5 years

    Pros

    As a referee you work basically as a contractor, so you don't have to worry about working more than you want to.

    Cons

    Nobody likes referees, so if you become one you have to be ready to get yelled at. However, this doesn't really have anything to do with USSF.

    U.S. Soccer Federation2016-11-08
  5. "Tough, and Rewarding!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Soccer Referee in West Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at U.S. Soccer Federation for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Being a referee wil teach you everything you really need to know about life! Seriously, it will keep you in shape (if you take it seriously), train you to quickly spot things around you, make the right snap decision, and how to keep your cool and manage difficult people in stressful situations. And you get paid to work out.

    Cons

    The travel time to get to matches and time spent stretching out combine to create a large overhead compared to the actual mount of time you spend ref'fing the match. But this is necessary for those who take is seriously and want to improve. It's a time commitment, and you have to stay i shape too. Those are pretty minor cons for someone who values being in shape, frankly. And yo won't do this for the money, it's for the love of the game.

    Continue reading
    U.S. Soccer Federation2015-07-08
  6. "Good Part Time Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Soccer Referee in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at U.S. Soccer Federation for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You will get plenty of exercise. It is good for bring in extra money on the side during the weekends. I would recommend this job to anyone

    Cons

    Plenty of time off. As previously mentioned it is only part time . You have the ability to move up in ranks to do higher level games if you want or you can stay at the same rank. No pressure.

    U.S. Soccer Federation2015-02-23
  7. "Not really a career, more of a hobby"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Current Contractor - Soccer Referee in Red Bluff, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at U.S. Soccer Federation for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great way to get paid to exercise, especially if you love soccer. Also a wonderful way to meet others who enjoy the game as much as you do.

    Cons

    Most referees work youth games, and the pay isn't that great. And dealing with the parents and coaches makes it and pretty "thankless" job.

    U.S. Soccer Federation2012-10-23
  8. "Great part-time experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Soccer Referee in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at U.S. Soccer Federation part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working as a referee doesn't have a contract. It is just a weekend part-time experience for extra cash, literally, cash. In most cases you will get cash, while occasionally you will get checks. Usually having a habit will cost you some money, but being a referee is not the case, which makes this experience really attractive.

    Cons

    You will have busy weekends during Spring and Fall. Sometimes it can be stressful if you are taking this seriously. It can also make you really tired, physically tired.

    U.S. Soccer Federation2012-10-06
  9. "For a HS student, the pay is pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Soccer Referee in Dayton, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at U.S. Soccer Federation part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Outdoors, healthy, entertaining, fun, and decent pay.

    Cons

    Pay is not enough to live off of, but is a good supplement to any salary.

    U.S. Soccer Federation2012-09-19
  10. "Being a ref is a great experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Soccer Referee in West Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at U.S. Soccer Federation for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I get paid to exercise, be out in the fresh air, and travel around my region. The soccer referee community has some pretty amazing people in it, and I'm really happy that I became involved in this aspect of The Game. I feel like I'm really helping to preserve the soul of the game for future generations.

    Cons

    Sometimes the fans or players really don't know the Laws of the Game very well, leading to predictably annoying situations... Getting out there in the rain and dark in December, January and February can be pretty hard sometimes.

    U.S. Soccer Federation2012-08-08

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews