KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

U.S. Xpress

Engaged Employer

U.S. Xpress

Add a Review

U.S. Xpress Reviews

Updated Aug 11, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 758 of over 785 reviews

3.3
60%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
U.S. Xpress CEO Eric  Fuller
Eric Fuller
236 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "I started on the dollar tree account out of Savannah Georgia; it was a lot of work hand unloading the trailer but good pay.(in 61 reviews)
  • "Great people to work around(in 35 reviews)
  • "The benefits are great and start right away.(in 28 reviews)
  • "Decent work environment.(in 12 reviews)
  • "Team driving can make some good money with the right teammate(in 10 reviews)
Cons
  • "Bad Management(in 21 reviews)
  • "lack of communication poor equipment/repairs no miles/sit more then you drive at time(in 17 reviews)
  • "long hours and labor intensive work(in 15 reviews)
  • "Fleet managers always changing,never can answer questions, repeated issue with loads canceling, forced team driving, 90% of the time did not get home on time.(in 11 reviews)
  • "Lack of training and sometimes long hours(in 10 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of U.S. Xpress and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great job

    May 10, 2022 - Company Driver in Front Royal, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great pay and home time.

    Cons

    Not many cons just na

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    U.S. Xpress Response

    Thank you so much for leaving a review - we appreciate your positive feedback.

  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good pay & decent benefit package

    Jul 23, 2022 - Class A Cdl Truck Driver in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company for first-time drivers. Got my CDL at one of their schools, paid for it with payroll deductions for one year. Then if you stay another year, you earn back the payroll deductions from the 1st year. Great for learning the ropes and how the industry works. They are proactive in developing and implementing the latest tech. The pay is pretty good (except for the 1st year -- pay quite low). Benefits are good (probably a little above average). I've mostly had good response time from fleet managers while on the road. Trucks are 2019, 2020, and 2021; and mostly Cascadias, with a few Kenworths and Internationals.

    Cons

    I'm sure if I was the kind of person who thinks the world owes me something, I could think of a few things I don't like, but the good outweighs it. The mindset you bring to any job determines your experience. The only reason I'm looking to leave after 3 years is that I recently got a new fleet manager who micromanages the S#!% out of his drivers. Calls at least 5 times a day to check up on me or to go over info that I already have or could be sent to me via SMS. He even calls me on days off! I feel him hovering over me as I drive, and it has taken away that feeling of independence that makes truck driving worthwhile. And he talks to me like he's talking to a 12-year-old. It's driving me insane. I mean, he's a nice guy, but I think he missed his true calling as vice-principal of an elementary school. So I checked with our HR dept to maybe get a transfer, but was told all they had were Family Dollar accounts. Nope! I got trained on a Family Dollar route. (Word of advice: no matter what company you work for, dear reader, don't take a dollar store route unless you enjoy feeling an overwhelming sense of dread upon waking every morning). But don't let any of that steer you away from US Xpress. They're a good company to work for. I've been mostly happy working here, and I really hate to leave, but it's time to see what else is out there.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Small Dedicated Location

    Jul 30, 2022 - Parts Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    US Xpress is a large company with locations all over the US with opportunities to transfer when jobs are available. They also provide training for the mechanics to increase their knowledge and move up in the company.

    Cons

    As with any large company spread out across the country, communication can some times be a challenge.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Very poor communication skills

    Aug 10, 2022 - Dedicated Company Driver in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great for teaming company drivers for beginners and for sap solo drivers.

    Cons

    Managers have poor communication skills when it comes to loads and getting home time. Worked a short while here because no one communicated about getting a load. The driver managers will make up lies about you and then you give you a hard time to work. It's like they want you to quit. BEWARE! Black people stay away from this company!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Alot of racial bias bullying and discomfort

    Jul 23, 2022 - Truck Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Familiar routes most everyone in the safety department seem nice and eager to help and honest

    Cons

    The fleet managers play god with your hours miles and loads they lie threaten talk to you like a child or disrespectfully

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Kinks need worked out

    Aug 8, 2022 - Manager in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fast paced Environment Good equipment provided management and support

    Cons

    Communication Hyrbid / Remote work disappeared Collaboration with other internal depts Constant Roadblocks slow progress

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Horrible management

    Aug 11, 2022 - Transportation Supervisor in Cowpens, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Salary and time off are the only good

    Cons

    Leadership across the board is horrible.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good place to work with right manager

    Jul 15, 2022 - BI Reporting Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bonuses Remote Good pay School reimbursement program

    Cons

    Low communication CEO tends to lie

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Good people to work with, poor opportunity professional growth

    Jul 20, 2022 - Information Technology in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people, flexible work schedule

    Cons

    Unless you are in specific departments there are very little opportunities for advancement. The only departments that seem to see regular promotions are the HR, Recruiting and Operations teams.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good place to work

    Jul 13, 2022 - Junior Digital Tracking Specialist in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Straight forward work Good managers

    Cons

    Would still work there if not for massive layoffs.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 758 Reviews

U.S. Xpress Reviews FAQs

U.S. Xpress has an overall rating of 3.3 out of 5, based on over 785 reviews left anonymously by employees. 60% of employees would recommend working at U.S. Xpress to a friend and 49% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, U.S. Xpress employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.2 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at U.S. Xpress. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

60% of U.S. Xpress employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated U.S. Xpress 3.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.3 for culture and values and 3.2 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at U.S. Xpress to be career development, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be work life balance, culture, management.

Popular Careers with U.S. Xpress Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at U.S. Xpress? Share Your Experiences

or

U.S. Xpress Photos

+ Add Photo
U.S. Xpress photo of: U.S. Xpress on the road
U.S. Xpress photo of: 2020 Freightliner
U.S. Xpress photo of: Military Trucks
U.S. Xpress photo of: Teams
U.S. Xpress photo of: U.S. Xpress Headquarters
U.S. Xpress photo of: U.S. Xpress Team Drivers
U.S. Xpress photo of: US. Xpress Truck
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

VariantXpress Technologies