Cover image for U.S. Xpress
Logo

U.S. Xpress

Engaged Employer

U.S. Xpress

Add a Review

U.S. Xpress Truck Driver Reviews

Updated Nov 21, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 167 of over 836 reviews
3.0
49% Recommend to a Friend
U.S. Xpress CEO Eric  Fuller
53% Approve of CEO

Found 167 of over 836 reviews

3.0
49%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
U.S. Xpress CEO Eric  Fuller
Eric Fuller
53 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of U.S. Xpress and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Us xpress

    Apr 17, 2022 - Truck Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great bosses great money great equipment

    Cons

    Hard work but very rewarding

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    U.S. Xpress Response

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoy working at U.S. Xpress and wish you the best in your future endeavors in our company!

  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Ok

    Nov 21, 2022 - Truck Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun and cool Good to get your experience

    Cons

    They don’t really pay that good

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the U.S. Xpress team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good enough

    Nov 20, 2022 - Truck Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I like it well enough

    Cons

    Need to hire better drivers

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good company overall,but..

    Oct 4, 2022 - Truck Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Upper management tends to not be very organized,I have an excellent fleet manager but her boss leaves a lot to be desired. Pay is good,good home time and excellent miles on SE regional Costco account,also they have guaranteed pay which is good

    Cons

    Upper management tends to not be very organized,having to change trucks every time your truck breaks down,it's rare but I have all the luck (bad). May let may not get to return to your original unit,when you have alot of stuff it's really a pain

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    No money made here

    Sep 10, 2022 - Class A Truck Driver in Tunnel Hill, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good load manager services. Easy access to dispatch. Good, friendly people to talk to.

    Cons

    Short runs mixed in with occasional 700 mile run. I am lucky to make a little more than a thousand dollars a week. This is a company that built it's customer base around short runs. They run a lot of 85/95 corridor congested with construction and trucks. The alternative is to run 81 which isn't too bad but has a lot of construction, too.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Good not

    Oct 12, 2022 - Truck Driver in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Consistent pay not great but good

    Cons

    A Very low home time

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good pay & decent benefit package

    Jul 23, 2022 - Class A Cdl Truck Driver in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company for first-time drivers. Got my CDL at one of their schools, paid for it with payroll deductions for one year. Then if you stay another year, you earn back the payroll deductions from the 1st year. Great for learning the ropes and how the industry works. They are proactive in developing and implementing the latest tech. The pay is pretty good (except for the 1st year -- pay quite low). Benefits are good (probably a little above average). I've mostly had good response time from fleet managers while on the road. Trucks are 2019, 2020, and 2021; and mostly Cascadias, with a few Kenworths and Internationals.

    Cons

    I'm sure if I was the kind of person who thinks the world owes me something, I could think of a few things I don't like, but the good outweighs it. The mindset you bring to any job determines your experience. The only reason I'm looking to leave after 3 years is that I recently got a new fleet manager who micromanages the S#!% out of his drivers. Calls at least 5 times a day to check up on me or to go over info that I already have or could be sent to me via SMS. He even calls me on days off! I feel him hovering over me as I drive, and it has taken away that feeling of independence that makes truck driving worthwhile. And he talks to me like he's talking to a 12-year-old. It's driving me insane. I mean, he's a nice guy, but I think he missed his true calling as vice-principal of an elementary school. So I checked with our HR dept to maybe get a transfer, but was told all they had were Family Dollar accounts. Nope! I got trained on a Family Dollar route. (Word of advice: no matter what company you work for, dear reader, don't take a dollar store route unless you enjoy feeling an overwhelming sense of dread upon waking every morning). But don't let any of that steer you away from US Xpress. They're a good company to work for. I've been mostly happy working here, and I really hate to leave, but it's time to see what else is out there.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Job

    Sep 15, 2022 - Truck Driver in Pineville, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice work Good pay other than that I haven’t had any issues as of yet

    Cons

    Be prepared to work a lot. Plus it might say dedicated but trust me it’s not

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Alot of racial bias bullying and discomfort

    Jul 23, 2022 - Truck Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Familiar routes most everyone in the safety department seem nice and eager to help and honest

    Cons

    The fleet managers play god with your hours miles and loads they lie threaten talk to you like a child or disrespectfully

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good start

    Aug 28, 2022 - Class A Truck Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay. Good support. Plenty of room to grow.

    Cons

    Benefits not great. Could use more local.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 167 Reviews
</>Embed

U.S. Xpress Reviews FAQs

Truck Driver professionals working at U.S. Xpress have rated their employer with 3 out of 5 stars in 167 Glassdoor reviews. This is a lower than average score with the overall rating of U.S. Xpress employees being 3.1 out of 5 stars. Search open Truck Driver Jobs at U.S. Xpress now and start preparing for your job interview by browsing frequently asked Truck Driver interview questions at U.S. Xpress.

Truck Driver professionals rate their compensation and benefits at U.S. Xpress with 3 out of 5 stars based on 167 anonymously submitted employee reviews. This is 3.3% worse than the company average rating for salary and benefits. Find out more about Truck Driver salaries and benefits at U.S. Xpress.

49% of Truck Driver employees at U.S. Xpress would recommend their employer to a friend. This rating has decreased by -26% in the past 12 months. Truck Driver professionals have also rated U.S. Xpress with a 2.3 rating for work-life-balance, 3.2 rating for diversity and inclusion, 2.8 rating for culture and values and 3.1 rating for career opportunities.

Popular Careers with U.S. Xpress Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at U.S. Xpress? Share Your Experiences

U.S. Xpress logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

U.S. Xpress Photos

+ Add Photo
U.S. Xpress photo of: U.S. Xpress on the road
U.S. Xpress photo of: 2020 Freightliner
U.S. Xpress photo of: Military Trucks
U.S. Xpress photo of: Teams
U.S. Xpress photo of: U.S. Xpress Headquarters
U.S. Xpress photo of: U.S. Xpress Team Drivers
U.S. Xpress photo of: US. Xpress Truck
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

VariantXpress Technologies

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

U.S. Xpress Job Seekers Also Viewed

Werner Enterprises Logo
Werner Enterprises

3.1

1,098 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 836 U.S. Xpress reviews submitted anonymously by U.S. Xpress employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if U.S. Xpress is right for you.