KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

U.S. Xpress

Is this your company?

U.S. Xpress

Add a Review

U.S. Xpress Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Oct 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 of over 819 reviews

3.2
49%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
U.S. Xpress CEO Eric  Fuller
Eric Fuller
255 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "I started on the dollar tree account out of Savannah Georgia; it was a lot of work hand unloading the trailer but good pay.(in 65 reviews)
  • "the people are great and doing their best(in 38 reviews)
  • "Good benefits for mechanics and drivers(in 31 reviews)
  • "Decent work environment.(in 13 reviews)
  • "Team driving can make some good money with the right teammate(in 11 reviews)
Cons
  • "Poor management and if you try to quit they lie on you report.(in 23 reviews)
  • "lack of communication poor equipment/repairs no miles/sit more then you drive at time(in 17 reviews)
  • "long hours and labor intensive work(in 16 reviews)
  • "Fleet managers always changing,never can answer questions, repeated issue with loads canceling, forced team driving, 90% of the time did not get home on time.(in 11 reviews)
  • "Bad ran Fleet Managers and planners ,Bad Miles ,Get paid movers miles , They do Not having it going on.(in 10 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of U.S. Xpress and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Dedicated Truck Driver-Dollar Tree Stores

    Oct 6, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great family oriented work environment. US Xpress Employees out of Berwick Pa are great people who work with you when you need time off. There is no politics that come into play and your loads arent fully based on who you are but when they receive the orders. Thy understand that things at home can happen to their employees and are sympathetic/ willing to help them out. As a new employee I was taken care of and paid very well. Its unfortunate that I had to resign due to personal problems at home because I would still be there.

    Cons

    Hard back breaking work and it will take its toll on you. It doesnt matter your age or sex either because its a very labor intensive job. I was probably stuck with the worst trainer ever. I lived in a dirty grimy truck for 30 days of training and it was a complete nightmare working with this guy. I feel they dont screen their trainers enough and may just possibly put who wants it into that position. I can honestly say that it was the worst training experience in my life but not due to their program in general but due to their employee who should have never been in that job position. Lastly they dont pay you for sitting around waiting on your truck after the initial screening/background process. I waited for over 2 days to get my truck and then later learned they would not be paying me for it. They also do not pay you once you get to your terminal and take their specific road test and application process either. So a total of almost 5 days I wasnt paid.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Dispatch

    May 8, 2022 - Driver Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Salary and benefits were great. I had some great drivers

    Cons

    Company trains you to believe that their drivers are their most valuable asset. You are to dispatch and monitor safety at all times and always to use judgment to Benefit the drivers and company while ensuring on time delivery to the customer. However in reality they do not stand behind either the driver or dispatchers. When things are reported to account managers and HR no one bothers to check into complaints to fix the]problems. But it will reflect on the dispatcher and go against them if they complain. The work environment will become hostile and your labeled a troublemaker. Not all dispatchers will be Trained equally but expected to give 200% at all times. In the 5 yrs I worked there I only got one sat off and worked every holiday while upon hire was told these days would be rotated equally. In the office I worked in I was the Sr citizen and discriminated against because the acct Mgr wanted me out. While the entire staff was married affairs were plentiful and girlfriend were paid for hours not even worked, the acct Mgr pd one office worker $100 to see her breasts, the planner was dating the data entry operator and it was common practice that extended lunch hrs were given for sexual favors. My salary information was shared with Co workers which created animosity among them. I was even told by the acct Mgr that he was God and I'd do what he said when he said. So personnel practices were the absolute worst I'd ever experienced. Both federal and state labor laws were broken daily but when I reported this to HR at corporate level I was labeled a trouble maker and it went against Me.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Intern 2018

    Feb 25, 2022 - Logistics Coordinator in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun environment to work in

    Cons

    long hours 0700 to 1700

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Fleet Manager

    Jan 5, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good Work Environment Good Pay Good Hours 730-530 Good Bonus Opportunites

    Cons

    Alot of the issues you run into are out of your hands. Whether it be a safety issue, or issue with nights and weekends covering you fleet. Drivers a lot of times are unhappy with rate of pay and there is nothing you can do to change it. You are responsible for so much that is out of your hands and it can be stressful.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great company overall

    Mar 3, 2021 - Orientation 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work environment Good people Work life balance

    Cons

    Micromanagement in some departments is not fun

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good Company

    Feb 14, 2019 - Truck Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Generally a good work environment.

    Cons

    Long days, usually run hard

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    There are opportunities

    Mar 6, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Casual and comfortable work environment

    Cons

    There are layoffs from time to time

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    If you have no emotions and are competitive and like to fear for your job every day, this one is for you.

    Jul 4, 2021 - Recruiter in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Few good coworkers. Flexible hours.

    Cons

    I will NEVER work for this company again. It is the most toxic abusive work environment. You go in and leave in fear for your job everyday and on top of it all half the people don’t treat you with a ounce of respect.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    KEY NOT FOUND: jobLine.self_employ-former

    .

    Oct 30, 2020 - Home Inspector in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very relaxed environment to work in

    Cons

    You need patience on waiting for a load

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Company frustrating Job

    Dec 11, 2014 - Class A Truck Driver in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Clean work environment nice trucks. Great pay nice view and nice trucks to look at

    Cons

    Being solo otr and little to no help over the phone but...lol oh and the 10 4 message that dosent mean anything to them cause they just keep on working you

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 44 Reviews

Popular Careers with U.S. Xpress Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at U.S. Xpress? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

U.S. Xpress Photos

+ Add Photo
U.S. Xpress photo of: U.S. Xpress on the road
U.S. Xpress photo of: 2020 Freightliner
U.S. Xpress photo of: Military Trucks
U.S. Xpress photo of: Teams
U.S. Xpress photo of: U.S. Xpress Headquarters
U.S. Xpress photo of: U.S. Xpress Team Drivers
U.S. Xpress photo of: US. Xpress Truck
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

VariantXpress Technologies

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

U.S. Xpress Job Seekers Also Viewed

Werner Enterprises Logo
Werner Enterprises

3.1

1,059 Reviews
Compare