U & SLUNO Reviews | Glassdoor

U & SLUNO Reviews

10 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Jiří Bílý
6 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at U & SLUNO full-time

    Pros

    - very inteesting projects from business point of view
    - nice people and good working athmospehre

    Cons

    -older building and equipment
    -obligatory company breakfast

    U & SLUNO Response

    Apr 16, 2018 – HR specialist

    Thank you for your positive review.

    I am happy to see that you enjoyed your experience here and work with your team members.

    Also thank you for your feedback about „obligatory“ breakfast. The... More


  2. "Focused on business but people are considered"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ostrava (Czech Republic)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ostrava (Czech Republic)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at U & SLUNO full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The company is not too big to climb high career ladder but the opportunities to grow profesionally are wide. You just have to show you want and you get the support.
    Very good work team, we know each other across the company. Informal environment. The management is ready to listen to us.
    Variable types of projects for interesting clients.
    The salary is good and rises according to proved skills and responsibilities.
    Demanding work but the effort is appreciated.
    Support of new colleagues. Not only juniors but everyone get a mentor for their break in training.
    Opportunities to learn.

    Cons

    As we are growing, there is lack of meeting rooms and some of the offices are a bit overcrawded.

    Advice to Management

    Follow the changes you set in resent period. It seems to be good way.

    U & SLUNO Response

    Nov 27, 2017 – HR specialist

    Thank you for positive review. I am so glad to have employees working for us like you!

    Jakub

  3. "Just Sunshine :)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ostrava (Czech Republic)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ostrava (Czech Republic)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at U & SLUNO full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    You will not get colleagues, but family members on board.. :) Sharing success becomes more joyful and sharing failure does not hurt so much.. everyone can beautifully collaborate and pull one rope together, if needed.. :) We all work hard, but the achievements are visible and we are very happy about it. The basis point is to look forward to the office every day.. which is absolutely a matter of course for us.. :) Join U&S and You will understand what I´m talking about :)

    Cons

    The only "Cons" is, that You will NOT want to go home .. ;)

    Advice to Management

    Just keep on doing what you do, because You do it well..

    U & SLUNO Response

    Nov 30, 2017 – HR specialist

    Thank you for your glowing review. I am happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience here and work with your team members.

    Jakub


  4. "I'm updating my last review here with 2 stars to share some facts, because I've obtained HR' reaction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer in Ostrava (Czech Republic)
    Former Employee - Programmer in Ostrava (Czech Republic)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at U & SLUNO full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Except the cons I've written it's not so bad and you can be employed there with easy
    People in prog's office have been nice
    As it isn't "software house" there is exceptional amount of womans

    Cons

    I've been working there for 2 month and then I've leaved rather:

    Monitors in programmer's office are the cheapest Iiyamaa supported with books because there isn't even ergonomic stand. HR's office have had monitors with ergonomic arm. What to say about that?

    Several programmers including me had to used old Lenovo notebooks for Java programming with 4-8GB RAM and no SSD - can you imagine that?

    Damaged unmaintained sunblinds in prog's office so sun illuminated my monitor always

    Lot of people in single one office - people don't like openspaces but this is even worst

    Traditional monday company breakfast in not so big room with no ventilation - I've been sweating after several minutes because of stuffy air from approx 60 people standing there

    Continuous problems with Internet connection in the company

    Before 3 years they've employed juniors with bachelor degree for 18000,- CZK - and they all leaved the company soon of course, so the seniors lost work they had to put in them.

    Management abused variable part of employees salary - every programmer had to have about 7 hours overtimes per week to get all his money

    I've been working on old project in Java 1.5 in completely bugged and old JDeveloper IDE (but the code was ok) with no debugging possibility, only way to get errors have been logs

    I've seen junior programmer which had to work on project from approx 1995 written in Oracle Forms (or something like that) running at virtualised Win 95

    They are saying that U&SLUNO is "family" company.....

    They are also saying openly (in management) that U&SLUNO isn't "software house" meaning programmers aren't main working stuff there

    Despite of tragic working environment they've had enough money to pay psychologist for "scanning" each newcomer. They not said it before employed you and not asked for agreement. Isn't it weird?

    In top of U&SLUNO is old lady owning this company of 100 employees. I don't know what she is supposed to do but I've never seen working her on something. She even not drive the company directly as an manager and I've never seen her personally. She cares but possibly only in own profit from U&SLUNO. It isn't too much competitive model in today (in IT), it is?

    U&SLUNO has been possibly successful company in 90's but I've big doubt about it's current status.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    U & SLUNO Response

    Nov 30, 2017 – HR specialist

    Thank you for feedback and reaction.

    You are right, there were some people which had problems with hardware equipment in the past. But the management has realized this unsufficiencies and today´s... More


  5. "When knowledge is appreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Consultant in Prague (Czech Republic)
    Current Employee - Business Consultant in Prague (Czech Republic)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at U & SLUNO full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Challengig approach of work
    Great people engagement
    Many working and projects opportunities for those who care
    No time consuming activities
    Knowledge and skills are highly appreciated
    What people need for their work the get it

    Cons

    Coordination is challenging
    Cooperate more with universities
    Be positive
    For underperforming find sollution
    Follow more competitors

    Advice to Management

    If there is anyone who doesn´t want let him/her go
    Focus more on innovative sollution
    Not every leader knows how to lead and manage

    U & SLUNO Response

    Oct 26, 2017 – HR specialist

    Thank you for the positive feedback. I'm really happy that you're having a great experience here.

    In your review you also noted some cons. I appreciate you letting us know how we can improve U... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "A company with great potential and with people who love what they are doing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Ostrava (Czech Republic)
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Ostrava (Czech Republic)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at U & SLUNO full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Open cultured environment, perfect for learning.
    Gaining invaluable experience in a real working environment.
    Experienced staff around.
    Big growth potential.

    I can recommend this company.
    Enjoy US!

    Cons

    Location - headquarters in Ostrava Privoz

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    U & SLUNO Response

    Oct 25, 2017 – HR specialist

    Thank you so much for saying all of that! I am so glad to have employees working for us like you!

    Jakub


  7. "Review from current employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ostrava (Czech Republic)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ostrava (Czech Republic)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at U & SLUNO full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    It´s quite hard to write what is the best thing when you are working in U&SLUNO. I really appreciate to work with a great collegaues who are inteligent, skillful and helpful. Another thing is that it´s great to have flexible working hours and possibility to have home office. It doesn´t matter where you are working but you have to have done your tasks.

    Cons

    There is no open space offices and one thing is that this company is not Apple Inc.

    U & SLUNO Response

    Oct 26, 2017 – HR specialist

    I would like to thank you for the glowing review on Glassdoor. I love to hear about your great experience with your collegaues and benefits like flexible working hours or home office.

    Thank you... More

  8. "Challenging, interesting and providing opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ostrava (Czech Republic)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ostrava (Czech Republic)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at U & SLUNO (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Opportunity to participace in various projects
    Work variability
    Career development
    Learning opportunities
    Interesting benefits
    Great team
    Cozy offices for 8 persons top

    Cons

    The diversity of projects means you have to learn all the time and keep your mind open. It might be quite demanding sometimes.

    U & SLUNO Response

    Oct 26, 2017 – HR specialist

    Thank you for your feedback, I’m glad to see that you are happy here for many years. I know that working on SLUNO projects can be demanding. Therefore we value our people as intelligent and... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Nothing special here dear colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer in Ostrava (Czech Republic)
    Former Employee - Programmer in Ostrava (Czech Republic)
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Just an average (or maybe underaverage?) company for programmers.

    Cons

    There are many better employers in Ostrava even for junior programmers so why go here? Don't know....
    Questionable management for many years (I just hear that from various persons working here)
    Terrible working instruments for programmers ( old notebooks, low-end monitors, old desks, programmers office visage)
    Under-average salary
    Working on dry projects

    Advice to Management

    Nothing to say.

    U & SLUNO Response

    Oct 25, 2017 – HR specialist

    I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am really sorry that your experience at U & SLUNO did not match with our intention to be one of the best employers in... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Challenging, innovative and dynamic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at U & SLUNO full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Career development opportunity
    Modern technologies
    International activities
    Valuable brand
    Long term tradition
    Multinational diversity
    Good salaries
    Opened possibilties
    Business consistency
    Professional potential

    Cons

    Company culture focused to individual and team performance, so it is very demanding for personal and time engagement. Work-life balance is not on the level where is should be.

    Advice to Management

    Mind your people

    U & SLUNO Response

    Oct 26, 2017 – HR specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. I’m glad to see that you are happy here for many years.

    If you’d like to provide further feedback or ways that we could help implement better... More