UC San Francisco Analyst Reviews | Glassdoor

UC San Francisco Analyst Reviews

Updated Dec 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
UC San Francisco 	Interim Chancellor 	Samuel Hawgood  (no image)
Samuel Hawgood
28 Ratings
  1. "Great culture and colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive health and retirement benefits and growth opportunities.

    Cons

    Seriously, I can't think of any.

    UC San Francisco2019-12-08
  2. "Okay place to work in an expensive city"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Research Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Pension. Working for a great cause.

    Cons

    Bureaucracy, lots of red-tape, many unengaged and unskilled workers depending on the department. Changes and improvements are slow like any other big organization. Limited opportunity to move up; the most efficient way is by leaving.

    Continue reading
    UC San Francisco2019-11-23
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Project Policy Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexibility and benefits are good

    Cons

    Flexibility depends on your manager. Lots of bureaucracy

    UC San Francisco2019-11-20
  4. "Good Employer, Slow to innovation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Systems Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great benefits, committed to the UC mission, great people

    Cons

    slow to innovation, some are just waiting to retire, low engagement

    Continue reading
    UC San Francisco2019-10-31
  5. "Horrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Financial/Budget Analyst 

    I worked at UC San Francisco full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, offers the ability gain experience

    Cons

    Perpetually immature employees, no innovation allowed.

    Continue reading
    UC San Francisco2019-11-18
  6. "Pros outweigh cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Retirement plan includes pension, 457(B), 403(B); great work-life balance; strong diversity and inclusive

    Cons

    Bureaucratic, pay is not as competitive as private sector

    UC San Francisco2019-10-01
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Analyst in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You can move around internally especially if you network with the staff

    Cons

    The pay. You get lowballed and then stuck with that amount. Even if they add work that wasn’t in your job description.

    UC San Francisco2019-09-29
  8. "Doctors are medical professionals but not necessarily researchers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can do some interesting research and get published

    Cons

    If your work gets published, you are probably last mention, your intellectual work ripped from your hands. Besides that, imagine being offered a signing bonus and not seeing that until you leave... talk about incompetence. Just bad experience overall. Tech is old, management is older, people stuck in their ways and unwilling to change.

    Continue reading
    UC San Francisco2019-09-25
  9. Helpful (2)

    "UCSF Experience - Department of Surgery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Analyst II in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *University environment *Great retirement benefits *Career growth opportunity

    Cons

    Department of Surgery HR does not help you when dealing with unacceptable behavior from management which is why I ended up leaving. The work environment was very hostile for everyone in my division working under a specific administrative director and manager. I felt there was no way out when HR wasn't able to help me.

    UC San Francisco2019-08-04
  10. "Just Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst I in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UC San Francisco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Room for advancement Some coworkers were great people Decent benefits Free Shuttle

    Cons

    Reviews were unfairly skewed to keep employee doubting abilities. Virtually no reliable documentation/procedures Thus, training onus was on other experience employees, which caused tension between the trainer and new-hire.

    Continue reading
    UC San Francisco2019-05-08
Found 116 reviews