UC San Francisco Associate Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor

UC San Francisco Associate Specialist Reviews

Updated Sep 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
9%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
UC San Francisco 	Interim Chancellor 	Samuel Hawgood  (no image)
Samuel Hawgood
1 Rating
  1. Helpful (1)

    "UCSF is a good stepping stone to new places"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Specialist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UC San Francisco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of vacation and useful experience. My manager was great with lots of new ways to learn. I was able to choose most of my hours but ended spending most of my time in the lab

    Cons

    Low pay unless you have a very large pedigree and lots of letters after your name. Unless you have a MD or PhD you hit a ceiling very quickly.

    UC San Francisco2016-03-30
  2. "Great science, poor institutional loyalty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Specialist in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UC San Francisco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    UCSF has world-class scientists working on important and interesting projects. The atmosphere was generally friendly and collegial. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Campus accommodation was expensive. Day-care was expensive. Pay is low compared to local industry. No sponsorship for green cards unless you are on the professorial track, regardless of time served. Bureaucratic behemoth.

    Advice to Management

    The cost/benefit analysis for retaining skilled foreign workers via Green Card seems non-existent.

    UC San Francisco2019-09-20
  3. "Part of the UC System"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Specialist in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UC San Francisco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great reputation and some really bright people

    Cons

    UC system has fixed salaries that are not in line with Bay Area cost of living. For this reason, the research faculty have trouble retaining senior talent.

    Advice to Management

    Increase salaries.

    UC San Francisco2018-12-24
  4. "giant organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Research Specialist in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UC San Francisco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    comparably good welfare and life work balance

    Cons

    bad management, problems blows out once a while

    Advice to Management

    follow the RAs on track instead of letting go till something happens

    UC San Francisco2017-05-15
  5. "Rate for UCSF"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Specialist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time

    Pros

    Very good equipments with excellent scientists. Very diverse culture from all over the world.

    Cons

    Low salary, bad parking, and bad environment (always under construction).

    UC San Francisco2015-11-19
  6. "Hard work, looks good on CV, low compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Specialist in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great institute with excellent infrastructure that has the possibility to give you lots of valuable experience. Large community with great opportunity to meet peers. Lots of collaboration between groups and Pis Flexible hours, if you want to. Good benefits (vacation, sick days, health insurance etc.)

    Cons

    Long hours, with low compensation in relation to what is expected of you. Very hard to make a living in San Francisco with this salary level.

    UC San Francisco2014-11-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good environment for science if you are in the right department with the right boss."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Specialist in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time

    Pros

    Good scientific environment. Plenty of good people to talk to.

    Cons

    Pay level is not nearly high enough to survive with a family in the bay area. The university is resistant to promotion even when the boss advocates for it. Lab heads can be autocratic and not careful about science.

    Advice to Management

    Senior support staff with high degrees of experience, advanced degrees, and a record of major contributions to their scientific field don't always get paid well. I would be getting paid far more now if I had never attended graduate school and did a postdoc, and I would have the savings of all those years in my 401k.

    UC San Francisco2014-08-06
  8. "Mostly positive, but very different from industry, Certainly not run like a business."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Specialist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UC San Francisco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart people, easy commute. Good pension

    Cons

    stagnant pay unless you change jobs which is hard to do.

    UC San Francisco2014-04-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place for research training and gaining experience to advance your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Specialist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UC San Francisco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent mentors, research collaborators, facilities on par with best Academic institution, Famous

    Cons

    High cost of living in SF, poor salary, extra hours of work that you have to put in

    UC San Francisco2014-03-05
  10. "Very resourceful and congenial workplace."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Specialist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Faculty, location, benefits, infrastructure, work culture.

    Cons

    Since it is primarily a medical school, it would have been nice to have collaborations with engineering schools for technical courses.

    UC San Francisco2014-02-05
Found 13 reviews