UC San Francisco Clinical Research Coordinator Reviews | Glassdoor

UC San Francisco Clinical Research Coordinator Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
UC San Francisco 	Interim Chancellor 	Samuel Hawgood  (no image)
Samuel Hawgood
6 Ratings
  1. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Clinical Research Coordinator in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good hours, kind staff, great location

    Cons

    commuting can be hard sometimes

    UC San Francisco2019-07-18
  2. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Research Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Yearly raise. Friendly work Environment.

    Cons

    Prestige over pay. No social events.

    UC San Francisco2019-01-11
  3. "Clinical Research Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Clinical Research Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great academic setting for those looking for further schooling. Great benefits for employees. Long-term employees love staying with UCSF.

    Cons

    Low pay for single income. Not sustainable for short-term work.

    UC San Francisco2018-11-27
  4. "Sink or Swim"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Assistant Clinical Research Coordinator in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at UC San Francisco part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    + Cutting-edge research + Good benefits + Flexible schedule + Awesome shuttle system + Super helpful IT team

    Cons

    - Overworked and underpaid; expect to work extra hours without compensation and very little appreciation - Lack of support and training/mentoring - Unclear expectations and guidance on how to improve - Unclear rules and procedures for tedious administrative tasks

    Advice to Management

    If you want to maintain your high standards for quality research, you need to properly train your CRCs/ACRCs and give them the support they need to do their jobs.

    UC San Francisco2018-10-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Research Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Research Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at UC San Francisco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a beautiful campus to work in, and you receive great experience interacting with the patients in a clinical setting.

    Cons

    Highly underpaid for the amount of work that is assigned. There is no clear communication between upper management and HR.

    Advice to Management

    There is little-no management. Rather there are multiple supervisors who assign responsibilities, and do not cross-check with each other when those tasks are conflicting. Managers do not know how to mentor their research coordinators, as would be expected of someone in a managerial role.

    UC San Francisco2018-10-17
  6. Helpful (2)

    "You are working for an institution no matter what dept you are in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Research Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great experience learning about clinical trials in oncology with great doctors and staff that have been with UCSF for many years. A lot of prestige associated with the #2 in the country for Clinical Research. You will be challenged, but you will grow - great place to learn new skills.

    Cons

    You have to join a union, and seems like you need it because though there are steps for moving up the pay schedule, you are not rewarded as such even if you gain certification that would seemingly put you at a higher pay scale after a few years of proving oneself. Thus there is an institution barrier for being adequately compensated for hard work. Also if you commute long distance by BART, Caltrain, etc, your monthly pass is not paid for by UCSF, though you get it as pre-tax dollars.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please show appreciation to hard-working employees through raises that are well-deserved otherwise, you will start losing good employees that you invested in.

    UC San Francisco2018-06-09
  7. "Research Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Research Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UC San Francisco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great career opportunity where you can learn and grow. The doctors were very down to earth and helpful

    Cons

    Constant work since the studies consist of working with different universities in different time zones

    Advice to Management

    LOVED THEM

    UC San Francisco2018-02-26
  8. "Clinical Research Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Clinical Research Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UC San Francisco for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team at UCSF Memory and Aging Center. Dr. Bruce Miller is a wonderful leader. Physicians, nurses, social workers, and psychologists really care about the research and are great to work with.

    Cons

    A lot of turnover with coordinators, because we all go off to graduate schools. This can make getting big projects done a struggle. The data technology is also pretty outdated with bad UX.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Maybe hire somebody to revamp the tech team at the Memory and Aging Center. The current team is great but needs more help.

    UC San Francisco2018-03-13
  9. Helpful (2)

    "A great place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Research Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UC San Francisco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    UCSF attracts some of the most brilliant scientists, students, doctors, and researchers in the world. The atmosphere is friendly but with very high expectations. I was overworked (60+ hrs a week) but learned a ton and adored my colleagues. There is endless opportunity for growth, learning, mentorship, and building collaborative relationships across departments. UCSF definitely has a few things that I would change but overall I would recommend it as a workplace.

    Show More

    Cons

    UCSF, in recent years, has had little to no raises & pay is way less than similar industry research jobs. I ended up switching to tech (user research) to increase my salary and improve my work-life balance.

    Advice to Management

    They need to standardize the workload across departments. Some coordinators manage 30 very complex clinical trials and some coordinators manage two simple studies while getting paid the same amount. Also the strict and very limited vacation time is awful.

    UC San Francisco2017-09-20
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Clinical Research Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Research Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, good opportunity to learn

    Cons

    Low salary, hard to advance unless changing jobs

    Advice to Management

    Regular merit-based increases

    UC San Francisco2017-09-12
Found 25 reviews