UC San Francisco Junior Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor

UC San Francisco Junior Specialist Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
86%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
UC San Francisco 	Interim Chancellor 	Samuel Hawgood  (no image)
Samuel Hawgood
4 Ratings
  1. "Great Research Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great for recent college graduates with biomedical research interest

    Cons

    Long paperwork, low pay

    UC San Francisco2019-09-20
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Junior Specialist 

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, collaborative, forward thinking, fast paced, great benefits

    Cons

    Long hours, low paying job, little to no perks

    UC San Francisco2019-05-06
  3. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Specialist in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good environment for career grow

    Cons

    Very robust environment No leisure/recreational time Living in city is expensive, but if you live further, public commute is also very expensive. Low pay High Stress

    Advice to Management

    Need to considered for the competitive salary

    UC San Francisco2018-12-05
  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time

    Pros

    Its a university..they're all the same.

    Cons

    Working as a research tech is truly akin to being a cog.

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    UC San Francisco2018-10-16
  5. "Horrible UT infrastructure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Specialist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great research teams, nice facilities

    Cons

    Horrible IT infrastructure at CIN

    UC San Francisco2018-09-14
  6. "Junior Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Specialist in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very prestigious place to work at, with a lot of opportunities to meet best scientist in the world

    Cons

    Money, not many opportunities to grow. Also what's typical for academia is work/life ratio.

    UC San Francisco2018-08-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Jr Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Specialist in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment, tons to learn

    Cons

    UC system does not take cost of living in San Francisco into effect

    UC San Francisco2018-04-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Junior Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Specialist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing research, great people, good opportunities to publish, wonderful on a resume

    Cons

    Low pay, people can be condescending at times

    Advice to Management

    Raise wages

    UC San Francisco2017-07-15
  9. "Junior Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Junior Specialist 

    I have been working at UC San Francisco part-time

    Pros

    Good research quality. Working with smart and nice people.

    Cons

    Too many steps for paperworks in HR.

    UC San Francisco2017-03-13
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Bad PIs continue to work there abusing past and and future employees. UCSF clearly cares zero about fixing this problem."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Junior Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at UC San Francisco

    Pros

    Nice, pretty campus and facilities. Some half decent food options.

    Cons

    All along the hiring process I was told blatantly false and inaccurate information as to what I would be receiving. No one cared enough to even help me sort this out to after the fact. Salary is barely livable for SF.

    Advice to Management

    Mandate PIs to give contact information of previous employees to prevent employees from being tricked into working in a bad environment. Mandate employee turnover rates of each lab to be public knowledge and this information to be given to potential employees. Mandate confidential exit reviews of employers, to be held by UCSF. Actually care about employees and weed out or take action to remedy bad PIs, which we all know exist here and there. While they aren't the rule, they are way too common.

    Show More
    UC San Francisco2015-02-04
Found 12 reviews