UC San Francisco Postdoctoral Scholar Reviews | Glassdoor

UC San Francisco Postdoctoral Scholar Reviews

Updated Aug 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
76%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
UC San Francisco 	Interim Chancellor 	Samuel Hawgood  (no image)
Samuel Hawgood
6 Ratings
  1. "Great place, great resources, creme-de-la-creme science"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Scholar 

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time

    Pros

    Great place, great resources, creme-de-la-creme science. People are happy to collaborate in most instances.

    Cons

    Slow like any government institute

    UC San Francisco2019-02-23
  2. "Postdoc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Scholar in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Highest public school postdoc salary in US, good careers service

    Cons

    Lower salary and less benefits than private universities

    UC San Francisco2019-08-17
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Scholar 

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Knowledgeable faculty, good place to grow as a scientist

    Cons

    Cost of living in SF is very high compared to postdoc salary

    UC San Francisco2019-05-31
  4. "The UCSF postdoc experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Scholar in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UC San Francisco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic science Great benefits Modern equipment Lots of career development training programmes

    Cons

    High living costs Take care when selecting a PI. The experience depends a lot on your PI and some are nicer than others.

    Advice to Management

    The UCSF experience varies widely by PI. I personally had a negative experience solely due to my PI.

    UC San Francisco2019-01-07
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Postdoctoral Scholar in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UC San Francisco

    Pros

    Nice atmosphere for working in university

    Cons

    Low salary for sf living

    UC San Francisco2018-05-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good facilities and rich career development resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Scholar in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    New buildings at Mission Bay have "Wellness Rooms" for new moms to do lactation/pumping. As a postdoc/junior faculty member, there are tons of career development workshops/classes/seminars to go to. I have a good postdoc PI, who allows for very flexible work schedules.

    Cons

    The commute is horrible and living expense is high. Not a teaching university so there are not much options for courses to take for skill development. It's a very fast-paced working environment and the workload could be a bit high sometimes.

    Advice to Management

    Have more student/postdoc housing options/stipends to help attract excellent international scholars. Help promote more public transportation options, e.g., ferry to the east bay, money incentives to take public transportations.

    UC San Francisco2018-03-30
  7. "POSTDOC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Scholar in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great collaborations, good funding, great coworkers. Fast-paced, corporate-like environment.

    Cons

    Benefits are poor, work-life balance is poor, salary is very low for Bay area.

    UC San Francisco2018-03-27
  8. "Postdoc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Scholar in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good medical benefits. Great people to work with. Shuttles available.

    Cons

    Parking is expensive, with minimal subsidy. Hard to get into city at peak hours. Campuses are far from each other. Gym is expensive.

    UC San Francisco2017-08-14
  9. "Innovative place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Scholar 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UC San Francisco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cutting edge Research and facilities. Positioned well for translational research. Mission bay campus is where it's at. Lots of smart and collaborative people.

    Cons

    Not much work life balance. Cost of living is high. Lots of ego, gender bias. Publish or peril strong mentality.

    Advice to Management

    Publishing needs to change. Stronger movement to support open access journals. Obtaining grants becoming biased with I scratch your back you scratch mine mentality

    UC San Francisco2017-07-24
  10. "Usual opinion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Postdoctoral Scholar in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UC San Francisco

    Pros

    Collaborative friendly, high quality science

    Cons

    Very expensive place to live especially if you have non working dependents

    UC San Francisco2017-05-27
Found 38 reviews