UC San Francisco "low salary" Reviews | Glassdoor

UC San Francisco Employee Reviews about "low salary"

Updated 11 Feb 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
77%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
UC San Francisco CEO 	Samuel Hawgood  (no image)
Samuel Hawgood
225 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Cost of living in SF is very high compared to postdoc salary(in 55 reviews)

  • "low salary with high living expenses(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "low salary"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Research Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time

    Pros

    Good insurance, world class researchers/PIs

    Cons

    Low salary, high cost of living, not much child care support

    UC San Francisco2017-12-19
  2. "Worst experience ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UC San Francisco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked at Sarwal Lab in Department of Surgery. Colleagues are really nice and friendly . I learned a lot from them.

    Cons

    1. The boss is a scammer, she totally screwed me over. Also she picked on basically every employees, I can't count how many times my colleagues came over to me and cried about them being bullied by my boss. 2. Extremely low salary

    Advice to Management

    If you see people leaving a university/department/lab frequently, that means there are some serious issue with the supervisors and the working environment.

    UC San Francisco2019-02-12
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Postdoctoral Scholar in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UC San Francisco

    Pros

    Nice atmosphere for working in university

    Cons

    Low salary for sf living

    UC San Francisco2018-05-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "junior specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time

    Pros

    the inspiring atmosphere, there are plenty opportunities for collaborations, good health benefits

    Cons

    low salary with high living expenses

    UC San Francisco2018-01-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Clinical Research Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Research Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, good opportunity to learn

    Cons

    Low salary, hard to advance unless changing jobs

    Advice to Management

    Regular merit-based increases

    UC San Francisco2017-09-12
  6. "Postdoctoral Fellow do not get paid a living wage for SF"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Postdoctoral Researcher in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UC San Francisco for more than 3 years

    Pros

    UCSF has many resources for postdoctoral fellows, which is considered a training position. UCSF has a postdoctoral union that fights for the postdoctoral researchers to receive benefits that the university has tried to deny postdoctoral researchers.

    Cons

    UCSF does not pay postdoctoral fellows well for the cost of living in San Francisco. The wage is a less than livable wage. If it wasn't for the postdoctoral union, postdoctoral fellows would be paid far less than their already low salary. UCSF does not provide family leave for the postdoctoral fellows.

    UC San Francisco2017-09-13
  7. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at UC San Francisco

    Pros

    good research environment and facility

    Cons

    low salary and benefit compared to other institute

    UC San Francisco2016-10-22
  8. "Fair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good scientific environment. Resources Lot of vacation time

    Cons

    Low salary, not very good benefits compared to other institutions.

    Advice to Management

    improve conditions of postdoctoral fellows

    UC San Francisco2016-09-29
  9. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at UC San Francisco

    Pros

    There is a pension and the health plan covers for free vision and dental.

    Cons

    Low salary relative to market. There is a deduction for retirement contribution and it is not optional to remove. It is not likely that you will get challenged.

    Advice to Management

    Career growth and optimization for more knowledgeable employees. Not just output driven or fighting constant fires, need to retain a good work life balance and include challenges. Work smarter not harder.

    UC San Francisco2016-06-21
  10. "Postdoctoral Scholar"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at UC San Francisco full-time

    Pros

    Prestigious University, Prestigious city, intensive interaction with nurse professors, communication in English, many training courses

    Cons

    Low salary, high living expense

    UC San Francisco2016-06-03
Found 22 reviews