UCLA Health Reviews | Glassdoor

UCLA Health Reviews

Updated August 11, 2018
359 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
John Mazziotta
76 Ratings

359 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Great benefits package & 401K matching" (in 50 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, access to excellent healthcare, access to good restaurnats" (in 32 reviews)

Cons
  • "not much room for growth in the department" (in 9 reviews)

  • "work life balance, management, discounts" (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UCLA Health full-time

    Pros

    Greatest company I’ve worked for in years

    Cons

    Difficult to meet other department leaders if working off site

    UCLA Health Response

    Jan 8, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear you are enjoying working at UCLA Health. Have a nice day!


  2. "New Graduate RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at UCLA Health full-time

    Pros

    appears to have great benefits, relocation assistance up to 2,000 if you live farther than 50 miles

    Cons

    doesn't appear to be any so far

    UCLA Health Response

    Jul 24, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Thank you for your review and welcome to the UCLA Health team! We're excited to have you aboard. Have a nice day!

  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Research Associate in Los Angeles, CA
    Former Employee - Staff Research Associate in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at UCLA Health part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    easy payroll process, flexible hours

    Cons

    low pay, parking is not free

    UCLA Health Response

    Aug 12, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear you are enjoying working at UCLA Health. Have a nice day!


  4. "challenging work, great pension"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UCLA Health full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    challenging work
    great pension and other benefits

    Cons

    large salary increases are rare

    UCLA Health Response

    Aug 7, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Hello and thank you for your review! We're glad you're enjoying the work you're apart of at UCLA Health. Thanks for being a part of the team and enjoy your day!


  5. "Admin Assistant II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UCLA Health part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great benefits and good enviroment for work. Staff treat each other with respect. Workload is managable.

    Cons

    high rates for employee parking, high deductions for retirement.

    UCLA Health Response

    Aug 7, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Thank you for your review! We're so happy you are enjoying the benefits and your coworkers at UCLA Health! Eenjoy your day!


  6. "Office Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at UCLA Health part-time

    Pros

    Very good working environment and friendly staff.

    Cons

    Long hours and protests going on.

    UCLA Health Response

    Jul 24, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Thank you for your review! We're thrilled you are enjoying your work environment and coworkers at our organization. Thanks for being a part of UCLA Health and enjoy your day!


  7. "Experience is highly dependent upon the team that you are on, and the specific PI that you work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Research Associate in Los Angeles, CA
    Former Employee - Staff Research Associate in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at UCLA Health full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits (vacation time and sick time). Good opportunities for younger individuals who need entry-level experience, but I don't recommend staying for longer than a year or so.

    Cons

    Despite working for the company for many years, the majority of RAs that I met during my time here (including me) did not receive any pay increases or opportunities for growth.

    Advice to Management

    PIs operate with a lot of autonomy and no oversight. If you have an inexperienced PI, working for this company can be very, very difficult.

    UCLA Health Response

    Jul 24, 2018 – Content Strategist

    We appreciate your feedback and we want to make sure it reaches the appropriate places. Please reach out to your HR Manager in your department to speak further and we look forward to speaking with... More

  8. "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Westwood, CA
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Westwood, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UCLA Health full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Awesome, outstanding, phenomenal place to work. Best experience as an RN.

    Cons

    Rotating day/night shift schedule for first year of employment as a new grad.

    Advice to Management

    Offer full time nights sooner to new staff.

    UCLA Health Response

    Jul 24, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Hello and thank you very much for the wonderful review! We're delighted that you are so happy working at UCLA Health and we're excited to have you. Have a nice day!


  9. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at UCLA Health full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    co-workers were wonderful. opportunities for growth and discounts on UCLA extension courses.

    Cons

    HR is a hassle. there are a lot of policies to keep track of.

    UCLA Health Response

    Jul 24, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Thank you for your review! We're happy you're enjoying your teammates and growth opportunities at UCLA Health. Have a nice day!


  10. "A lot of the staff is great to work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Transporter in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Patient Transporter in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at UCLA Health full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Most of the staff in the hospital are friendly and there for the patients

    Cons

    Not enough staffing at times.

    UCLA Health Response

    Jul 24, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Thank you for your review! We're thrilled you are happy with your teammates and colleagues at UCLA Health. Our people are one of the things that make us great! Have a nice day!


Showing 359 of 385 reviews
Reset Filters