UCLA Health Reviews | Glassdoor

UCLA Health Reviews

Updated October 19, 2018
371 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
John Mazziotta
79 Ratings

371 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Great benefits package & 401K matching" (in 51 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, frequent performance evaluations tied to salary/bonus" (in 33 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "Immunotherapy research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Project Scientist in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Assistant Project Scientist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UCLA Health full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great research facilities and work environment
    Several opportunities to collaborate and advance your career

    Cons

    Promotion to higher steps of Project Scientist series difficult
    1-2% pay increase per year does not keep up with inflation

    Advice to Management

    Provide opportunity to take official credit for students and trainees mentored

    UCLA Health Response

    Oct 16, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Thank you so much for your review. We're thrilled to hear you are happy with the research opportunities and work environment that we have here at UCLA Health! Thank you again and have a great day!... More


  2. "Telecommunication Field Service Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UCLA Health full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    friendly environment, flexible schedule, good benefits

    Cons

    highly demanding job requirements. bad traffic

  3. "Friendly environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Editor in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Web Editor in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UCLA Health part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I get to work flexible hours

    Cons

    Sometimes run into computer problems

    UCLA Health Response

    Oct 5, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Thank you for your review! We're thrilled to hear you're enjoying the flexible and supportive culture that makes UCLA Health so great. Have a wonderful day!


  4. "Very competitive pay and benefits. Good staffing and patients ratio also"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UCLA Health part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Very good pay compare with other hospitals out there.

    Cons

    The traffic around the area is terrible. Unless you live around the hospital otherwise it’s such a pain to get to work

    UCLA Health Response

    Sep 26, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Hello and thank you for your great review! We're very happy to hear you are enjoying the compensation at UCLA Health. Have a great day.


  5. "financial specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at UCLA Health part-time

    Pros

    lots of opportunity for lateral movement

    Cons

    employees must pay for parking

    UCLA Health Response

    Sep 26, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear you are enjoying working at UCLA Health. Have a nice day!


  6. "CNA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UCLA Health part-time

    Pros

    Staff is very helpful, supportive, and encouraging

    Cons

    Per Diem does not receive benefits

    UCLA Health Response

    Sep 26, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Thank you so much for your review. We're thrilled to hear you are enjoying the work environment and your coworkers at UCLA Health. Have a nice day!


  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at UCLA Health part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Supportive, Pays well, Great teamwork

    Cons

    Parking is expensive, No benefits for per diem

    UCLA Health Response

    Sep 12, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Hello and thanks for being a part of UCLA Health! We're happy to hear you are enjoying the work environment and compensation at UCLA Health. Have a nice day!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UCLA Health full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good pay and many benefits options to consider

    Cons

    The culture has always been cover your own butt. Nepotism is RAMPANT. Nepotism is in your face and obvious. Yes you may be recognized for the quality of your work. But certainly you will get hired or promoted based on who you know. The majority managers here care for more about their own careers than the well being of their staff. The culture is not about family or team -it's be out for yourself. Corruption and harrassment are hidden. UCLA is superficial and has toxic people. It has improved in the last 10 years, but it still has miles to improve. UCLA is agist and cares more about systems than people. Parking is absurdly expensive. Pay may be good, with good benefits options, but it all adds up to reduce paychecks significantly. Many jobs are dead end and career growth can take decades, again based on who you know.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to your staff and not your next promotion.


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great for the name."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    The name looks great on your resume.

    Cons

    Management is biased in a sense that they are all hired though friends & family.

    UCLA Health Response

    Sep 18, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Hello and thanks for being a part of UCLA Health! We're proud of the name brand that UCLA Health has made for itself in healthcare around the world and it's because of the talented and passionate... More


  10. "Great pay and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UCLA Health full-time

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Management is not so great and they always choose favorites.

    UCLA Health Response

    Sep 5, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Hello and thanks for being a part of UCLA Health! We're happy to hear you are enjoying the compensation and benefits at UCLA Health. Have a nice day!


Showing 371 of 402 reviews
Reset Filters