UCLA Health Reviews | Glassdoor

UCLA Health Reviews

Updated November 23, 2018
382 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
John Mazziotta
82 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "not much room for growth in the department" (in 9 reviews)

  • "Low-pay; Poor work-life balance; Hard to advance" (in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "New Graduate RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at UCLA Health full-time

    Pros

    appears to have great benefits, relocation assistance up to 2,000 if you live farther than 50 miles

    Cons

    doesn't appear to be any so far

    UCLA Health Response

    Jul 24, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Thank you for your review and welcome to the UCLA Health team! We're excited to have you aboard. Have a nice day!


  2. "Network Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oakland, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UCLA Health full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Lots to learn. Not in one place all day

    Cons

    Management Lacks communication. No visible plan of action for growth.

    UCLA Health Response

    Nov 27, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Hi there and thanks for your review! We're happy to hear you are enjoying personal growth opportunities that we have at UCLA Health. Have a great day.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for! But too much bureaucracy and nepotism."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Research Associate I in Santa Monica, CA
    Current Employee - Staff Research Associate I in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UCLA Health full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    -Flexible work schedule.
    -Plenty of opportunities to do side projects.
    -Great benefits!

    Cons

    -Difficult to advance without applying for different labs.
    -Raises are a problem.
    -Rampant nepotism.

    Advice to Management

    Corruption is easy when one person is in charge of supervision.

    UCLA Health Response

    Nov 19, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Hello and thanks for your review! We're happy to hear you are enjoying the flexible schedule and personal advancement opportunities that we have at UCLA Health. Have a great day.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Hospital Lab Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hospital Lab Technician in Los Angeles, CA
    Former Employee - Hospital Lab Technician in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UCLA Health (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent benefits and coworkers are amazing.

    Cons

    No room to grow with in department

    Advice to Management

    A more thorough explanation of advancement opportunities.

    UCLA Health Response

    Nov 14, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Hello and thanks for your review! We're happy to hear you are enjoying your benefits and coworkers that we have here at UCLA Health!


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Westwood, CA
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Westwood, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UCLA Health full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits and job security.

    Cons

    Have to cope with legacy systems. Slow to innovate

    Advice to Management

    reorganize work into small project, mission-oriented, teams

    UCLA Health Response

    Nov 6, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Hello and thanks for your review! We're happy to hear you are enjoying the benefits, and job security that we have here at UCLA Health! Thank you again and have a great day!


  6. "Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UCLA Health (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits for medical, dental, etc.

    Cons

    Pay is not with the market

    Advice to Management

    Get outta using 20-year-old methods and embrace technological advancements.

    UCLA Health Response

    Nov 27, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Thanks for your review! We're delighted to hear that you are enjoying the benefits available at UCLA Health. Have a great day.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Part time physician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UCLA Health part-time

    Pros

    Very large health system. Well funded. Great colleagues. Wonderful academic medical center.

    Cons

    not a diverse patient population or MediCal population

    UCLA Health Response

    Oct 31, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Hello and thanks for your review! We're happy to hear you are enjoying the work environment and learning opportunities that we have here at UCLA Health! Thank you again and have a great day!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Parking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Parking Attendant in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Parking Attendant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UCLA Health full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    great pay, benefits, management

    Cons

    growth is a bit stagnant

    Advice to Management

    create growth for the employees working for the company for a long time

    UCLA Health Response

    Oct 31, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Hello and thanks for your review! We're happy to hear you are enjoying the benefits, management, and compensation that we have here at UCLA Health! Thank you again and have a great day!


  9. "Hospital Lab Tech II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at UCLA Health part-time

    Pros

    Nice people to work with

    Cons

    No growth in the lab I worked for

    UCLA Health Response

    Nov 6, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Thank you for your review! We appreciate the feedback. Have a nice day.


  10. "Administrative Assitant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Specialist in Los Angeles, CA
    Former Employee - Administrative Specialist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UCLA Health full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Work Life Balance, Room for growth

    Cons

    Large organization with a lot of bureaucratic obstacles, lots of cumbersome systems that dont incorporate well.

    Advice to Management

    Streamline the organization of the overall system

    UCLA Health Response

    Oct 23, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Hello and thanks for your review! We're happy to hear you are enjoying the benefits, work-life balance and career growth opportunities that we have here at UCLA Health! Thank you again and have a... More