UCLA Health Reviews | Glassdoor

UCLA Health Reviews

Updated January 14, 2018
311 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
John Mazziotta
59 Ratings

311 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Great benefits package & 401K matching (in 41 reviews)

  • Good benefits, access to excellent healthcare, access to good restaurnats (in 32 reviews)

Cons
  • Little room for growth if you don't hold an advanced degree, raises rarely based on merit but length of employment (in 9 reviews)

  • Low-pay; Poor work-life balance; Hard to advance (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Junior Fund Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Junior Fund Manager
    Former Employee - Junior Fund Manager

    I worked at UCLA Health full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues. Good work-life balance

    Cons

    Low Pay. Few promotion opportunities


  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Friendly, Fast Paced, Professional Environment

    Cons

    Overworked and under-appreciated by some.

  3. "Staff Research Associate I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I worked at UCLA Health full-time

    Pros

    Great PhD students as well as professors. PI's are reasonable yet challenged me throughout my time there. I felt very comfortable to ask questions and get feedback.

    Cons

    Machine weren't always top notch.

    UCLA Health Response

    Jan 10, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Thanks for the feedback and being a part of the UCLA Health team!


  4. "Decent place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UCLA Health full-time

    Pros

    Job Stability
    Pension/Benefits Package
    Good people
    Job Gratification
    Prestigious Place to work

    Cons

    Parking
    Slow work
    Poor Performance is ignored, not corrected
    Very bureaucratic
    Promotion/Advancement is slow or near impossible

    UCLA Health Response

    Jan 10, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Thank you for your review! We are very happy to hear you are enjoying your teammates and benefits at UCLA Health. Have a nice day!


  5. "Work Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at UCLA Health full-time

    Pros

    Variety of interesting work with different companies, good job to gain experience. Great benefits package & 401K matching.

    Cons

    Not really any cons, huge learning curve if you weren't a microbiology major in school but you learn quick

    UCLA Health Response

    Jan 8, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear you are enjoying working at UCLA Health. Have a nice day!


  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UCLA Health full-time

    Pros

    Greatest company I’ve worked for in years

    Cons

    Difficult to meet other department leaders if working off site

    UCLA Health Response

    Jan 8, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear you are enjoying working at UCLA Health. Have a nice day!


  7. "Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at UCLA Health part-time

    Pros

    Excellent place to work as a nurse

    Cons

    Parking is expensive, but it is LA

    UCLA Health Response

    Jan 8, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to hear that you’re enjoying your experience at UCLA Health. Thank you for being part of the team!

  8. "HR Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UCLA Health full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Organization is top in the country and has amazing benefits. Fairly advanced for being a non-profit.

    Cons

    Retirement benefits were reduced by CA legislators. Not a lot of room for growth.

    Advice to Management

    Individual developments plans should be implemented.

    UCLA Health Response

    Jan 8, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Thanks for the feedback and being a part of the UCLA Health team!


  9. "Research Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UCLA Health part-time

    Pros

    Smart people, very good authorship opportunities

    Cons

    Pretty intensive pressure; physicians are never punctual for meetings

    UCLA Health Response

    Jan 8, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We're glad to have you as part of the UCLA Health team. Have a nice day!


  10. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UCLA Health full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work in my opinion.

    Cons

    For some reason they won't provide coffee to IT workers.

    UCLA Health Response

    Dec 13, 2017 – Content Strategist

    Thank you for being a part of the UCLA Health team! We value your review and feedback.


Showing 311 of 331 reviews
Reset Filters