Cover image for UCLA Health
Logo
See All Photos

UCLA Health

Engaged Employer

UCLA Health

Add a Review

UCLA Health Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated Nov 25, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,306 of over 1K reviews
4.0
78% Recommend to a Friend
UCLA Health Interim CEO John Mazziotta
79% Approve of CEO

Found 241 of over 1K reviews

4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
UCLA Health Interim CEO John Mazziotta
John Mazziotta
299 Ratings

What people are saying about UCLA Health

Join the conversation on

Administrative Assistants on Fishbowl

7m

an 

Administrative Assistant

I need help. Anyone have information of being an advanced medical support assistant for veterans affairs? I got offered a job in the SF valley . The pay Is a bit less but it's about 5.5 miles from my house.close. Why do people pray for government jobs? At the moment I'm with ucla health as an admin assistant float permanent& have been offered permanent placement at a site in LA about 16 miles . The pay seems pretty decent& also have the pension plan. Been here about 2 years no issues.

6

4 Comments

Healthcare

132.5K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/medicine-2/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=UCLA Health~321780
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about UCLA Health? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with UCLA Health employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great Benefits and retirement plans with only 5 years required before invested in Pension program(in 191 reviews)
  • "Good pay and many fun events(in 91 reviews)
  • "Great people here who are committed to their projects and their jobs; lots of activities happening on campus(in 55 reviews)
  • "Great and friendly staff.(in 30 reviews)
  • "Great place to work, great benefits and raises.(in 29 reviews)
Cons
  • "Poor management, some blatantly unqualified and others tyrannical(in 52 reviews)
  • "Parking is expensive and it would be nice if it was free(in 41 reviews)
  • "Low salary and contracts only last yearly(in 22 reviews)
  • "15. Very little communication between new hire and their direct manager.(in 14 reviews)
  • "There is no training map.(in 12 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of UCLA Health and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "great benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    UCLA Benefits

    Aug 31, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Retirement Salary and Medical Benefits

    Cons

    Favoritism is Rampant throughout the system

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    challenging work, great pension

    Jul 31, 2018 - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    challenging work great pension and other benefits

    Cons

    large salary increases are rare

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    UCLA Health Response

    Content Strategist

    Hello and thank you for your review! We're glad you're enjoying the work you're apart of at UCLA Health. Thanks for being a part of the team and enjoy your day!

  3. Join the UCLA Health team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    very satisfied with workload and benefits at UCLA

    Sep 20, 2013 - Lab Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    comprehensive benefits package are great! people are very friendly. i stayed in a lab that has continuous funding, so I was pretty secured until I had another offer in the biotech industry. i love going to Westwood Village for lunch or happy hour. it's got an inclusive college town vibe, yet it's so close to Santa Monica or West Hollywood where we can go for some more play time. makes me forget all the bad traffic i have to go through everyday.

    Cons

    traffic sucks all-year long, plus staffs don't get free parking space. monthly costs ~$60, and continues to increase every year. low pay to start with, but it increases each year by unions and based on funding of the PI.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Good Benefits

    Sep 13, 2021 - Data Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Benefits and retirement plans with only 5 years required before invested in Pension program

    Cons

    Terrible management and too much politics, not represented by a union

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Management Services Officer II

    Apr 25, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits and retirement plans if you work at least 5 years

    Cons

    Minuscule pay raises for a great deal of additional work

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Working for UCLA

    Apr 3, 2018 - Patient Service Representative in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Medical Benefits are Great! 13 Holidays per year Great sick and vac accrual's per month No weekends Decent hours Union job Guarantee annual raises

    Cons

    Office politics Doctors don't respect you and talk down to you Inconsistent treatment with peers and management UCLA does not pay into state disability or Social Security

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    UCLA Health Response

    Content Strategist

    Thank you for your review and the positive feedback regarding the benefits and compensation that UCLA Health provides. We appreciate your feedback regarding work environment and would love to speak with you further to get your issues resolved. Please reach out to your HR Manager in your department and we hope to hear from you soon!

  8. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Great place to work

    Dec 2, 2022 - Asst. director in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits and lots of paid holidays

    Cons

    Too many managers not enough workers

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Growth

    Feb 1, 2020 - Administrative Assistant III 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits and days off

    Cons

    False hope for growth within a department Minimal raises

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great benefits, pay low

    Feb 11, 2022 - Public Administration Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits are great and wellness programs are very helpful

    Cons

    Pay is below livable and hard to get a raise of any kind

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Wish I had stayed! (Left for higher degree)

    May 23, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Westwood, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Energetic, friendly, diverse and professional workplace I'd go back to in a heart beat! Great benefits (not sure if they still offer pension after 5 yrs- who does that!) Job stability especially if covered by union. Have had co-workers covered for maternity leaves and disability. Managers were supportive of progress and development of employees as well as providing needed training if your eval falls below par (promotions or transitions is a different story depending on your position/department - networking with people in other departments seem to be best in transitioning to better positions)

    Cons

    Some office politics in upper management made me uneasy, but it had no effect on the work that we were doing. So just focus on your work and do not get involved in office drama.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    UCLA Health Response

    HR Communications

    Thank you for your review and recommendation! Best wishes on your future endeavors.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 241 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with UCLA Health Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at UCLA Health? Share Your Experiences

UCLA Health logo
or

UCLA Health Careers

Cover image for UCLA Health

Working at UCLA Health You can turn great aspirations into great outcomes—for our patients and for yourself. At UCLA Health, you’ll be...More

  • Diversity
  • Benefits
  • Careers
  • Stories
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

UCLA Health

3 days ago

Diversity and Inclusion
During Black History Month, we’re proud to celebrate the positive impact African Americans have made throughout the history of our nation. Their dedication, determination, passion, and vision have left an indelible imprint on our communities, our country, and our world.
Shared image
Logo

UCLA Health

5 days ago

Culture
What is Learning & Development all about at UCLA Health? "In Learning and Development, we’re committed to providing personal and professional development for all UCLA Health employees. We collaborate with all departments and grow all leadership. This includes both in-person and online training." - Nickle, Learning & Development Specialist
Shared image
See all

UCLA Health Photos

+ Add Photo
UCLA Health photo of: UCan Improve Health and Make a Difference
UCLA Health photo of: UCan Work with World-Class Colleagues
UCLA Health photo of: Allied Health Careers
UCLA Health photo of: UCan Start an Exceptional Journey Here
UCLA Health photo of: UCan Enjoy Exceptional Benefits
UCLA Health photo of: Nursing Careers
UCLA Health photo of: UCan Help Build Our Inclusive, Respectful Culture
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

UCLA Health Job Seekers Also Viewed

Kaiser Permanente Logo
Kaiser Permanente

3.9

13,315 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,315 UCLA Health reviews submitted anonymously by UCLA Health employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if UCLA Health is right for you.