UDR Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 328 of over 338 reviews

3.4
60%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
UDR President & CEO Thomas W. Toomey (no image)
Thomas W. Toomey
186 Ratings
Pros
  • "Bonuses,Good Benefits, Corporate perks(in 22 reviews)

  • "great benefits and ways to move up in company(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Last couple months upper management (Regional and above) make the maintenance feel like we are expendable(in 21 reviews)

  • "However, it doesn’t seem to matter that much since we stay leasing(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Easily the greatest place I've ever worked

      Aug 10, 2020 - Computer Systems Analyst in Highlands Ranch, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Management maintains good communication, are open to ideas, and seem to genuinely care for employee's career and personal life. The IT department is pretty cohesive and innovative. The work is challenging yet rarely overwhelming. Plenty of opportunities to explore, learn more, and change positions depending on qualifications.

      Cons

      I struggle to think of any.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Former Employee

      May 6, 2021 - Leasing Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Loved the people, loved the community, loved my bosses

      Cons

      There was none to my knowledge!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Rapidly changing, not for the better.

      Jun 11, 2021 - Resident Services Manager in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great manager, work/life balance, pre-covid office amenities. The UDR that I knew when I first started was excellent. Find a way to get back to that.

      Cons

      Unwilling to adapt to a remote/hybrid work model after COVID, low pay for an experienced employee, no uniform standards despite having a policies manager. It is sad to see such a great company take such drastic turns in such a short amount of time. The renting of community common areas is truly bad practice. You charge your residents for those amenities and then lock them out of them so that an unaffiliated company can rent them out. Don't get me started on taking away maintenance techs and sending residents a "how-to" video instead. What are the residents paying for at the point if amenities and maintenance are no longer included in their home? Stop putting revenue before the satisfaction of your residents. The innovation you are touting is hurting your customers. As for employees, offer your employees higher pay. I could not afford to rent within my community even with a 30% discount. What does that say about my compensation? Take resident feedback seriously and do more to help. The canned responses of "sorry but not sorry" just make it harder for the associates to establish good rapport with their residents.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Could be a great place to work but....

      Jun 17, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits is all I can say

      Cons

      No clear policies, procedures or work flow. No training provided. Management does not want to hear suggestions to make things better, much less concerns that are their job to address.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company with a vision. Very frustrating industry. Company moving away from site associates.

      Jan 22, 2021 - Resident Services Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      UDR has a solid culture built on the ideas of associate engagement, resident engagement, and winning the market. The competitive nature of a public REIT makes the job rewarding. Benefits were good and there are a lot of great people within the organization, both personally and professionally. They do promote from within, albeit sometimes not very fast. UDR has best in-class technology to perform the job. The best part of the job was the people and bonuses/commissions, although the commission structure was consistently in flux.

      Cons

      Multifamily in general is a rough environment for on-site associates. It can be draining emotionally and mentally, although you can be compensated well for this. The work-life balance for salaried managers can be improved as there is a "always connected" vibe floating in the culture. UDR is also very much pushing the needle in every way around the resident experience. They are investing so heavily in technology that site associates are starting to feel the pressure with less site associates (sometimes 1 for 150+ units). The pressure is so heavy to boost margins across the company that year-over-year there have been commission and position related cuts. I've seem many associates come and go over the years I was there. The business model has not changed drastically, but enough to systematically change who works at the company. They also refused to open the offices in Southern California due to COVID-19, well past the point necessary.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Spiraling

      Jun 6, 2021 - Manager in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Expired last summer in 2020

      Cons

      People in the Silicon Valley area are talking about leaving and some have already gone. I can’t believe they had to leave because of one person, nothing is being done. I used to love my job and everyone I worked with but the dynamic has changed so significantly and everyone is miserable. No one has a good thing to say about our supervisor and people don’t talk anymore and have fun they just commiserate over how awful the management is and what rude thing of the day was said by them or the complete lack of communication.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Employee Moral is DOWN

      Jun 1, 2021 - Office Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Unfortunately there are less and less every day

      Cons

      It is so disappointing to see the SF team doing fun events and seem to be really enjoying team bonding time while our south bay team gets turned down for events or told to do it at our own expense. Especially when we see our supervisor in SF at their events! It is obvious to us that our supervisor wishes they were still in SF and could care less about making any effort to get to know us. I miss when upper management actually went out of their way to ensure our teams were happy and motivated. I've never felt so unmotivated and deflated in my time at this company.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee

      UDR culture in South Bay is non-existent

      Jun 7, 2021 - Office Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Best technology in the industry

      Cons

      Current management in South Bay is incompetent and unethical. Management is cold and distant and is uninterested in building a rapport with her team. We used to have a caring and engaged manager that genuinely cared for his team. Those days are long gone. I used to love my job and my coworkers. The UDR culture is completely gone thanks to our current manager. There is no motivation and everyone is miserable. Current manager does not respond to emails or even let her team know when she is out for the week on vacation. No out of office reply or direction of who to go to. I guess that doesn’t matter when she takes weeks to respond to anything if you even get a response. She thinks a weekly call that she barely makes it to is sufficient to not responding to anything in between these weekly 20 minute calls. She needs training on how to manage managers. I have never heard any positives come from her, it’s always negative no matter how hard we have worked and no matter what we have accomplished. Site visits and one on one time with your manager- those are a thing of the past. The only time we see her is when we have a visit from the executives and she comes a few days days before the visit with an impossible list to get through all with our limited staffing platform. If she actually did a site visit, even once a quarter these executive visits wouldn’t be a fire drill for all of her associates. Her visits or stop by’s are also very short and non-engaging because she often has her dog with her and she always needs to leave to care for him. The only saving grace for this district is that our former manager is her boss so we can escalate emergencies to him when needed, even though we were told by her never to contact him again unless he reaches out to us first. She lacks tact and professionalism. Also, nothing is confidential anymore.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Mediocre

      Jun 8, 2021 - Manager in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent benefits and commission even though it has been cut short due to platform changes

      Cons

      Lack of training, resources, support

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place with Great Pay

      May 13, 2021 - Resident Services 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They pay well and there is a lot of potential for growth within the company.

      Cons

      Communication from upper management needs improvement.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 328 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with UDR Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at UDR? Share Your Experiences

    UDR logo
    or