UK Ministry of Defence Reviews | Glassdoor

UK Ministry of Defence Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 315 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
UK Ministry of Defence CEO Michael Fallon
Michael Fallon
71 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Pay not the greatest compared to private sector(in 13 reviews)

  • "No real pay rise for years and years(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "is a good institution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Emergency Medical Technician Basic in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at UK Ministry of Defence full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    you are always protected happy to serve the country

    Cons

    we always do before complain

    Advice to Management

    united we stand divided we fall

    UK Ministry of Defence2014-02-21
  2. "Mod"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Officer in Bristol, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at UK Ministry of Defence full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible employer with lots of opportunity to study and progress

    Cons

    Can be very slow to change

    UK Ministry of Defence2016-03-26
  3. "Req Mgr"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Requirements Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UK Ministry of Defence full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Good pay and opportunities, promotion

    Cons

    Time away, can be up to 9 months

    UK Ministry of Defence2019-04-15
  4. "Fair and flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UK Ministry of Defence full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working Lots of fun colleagues Bosses are fair Generally well organised Lots of opportunities for personal and professional development Flexible for Reservists Civil service benefits Fair pay

    Cons

    Sometimes quite archaic Slightly adverse to change

    UK Ministry of Defence2019-04-07
  5. "It’s OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UK Ministry of Defence full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible working, work/life balance, pension scheme.

    Cons

    Pay is not the most competitive, management and change is handled extremely poorly.

    UK Ministry of Defence2019-04-17
  6. "MOD senior official"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UK Ministry of Defence full-time

    Pros

    Significant influence on Government decisions and outcomes for the Armed Forces and international affairs.

    Cons

    At times reactive and very procedural.

    Advice to Management

    Learn the operating model and stakeholder community.

    UK Ministry of Defence2019-03-27
  7. "Great remediation package"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at UK Ministry of Defence full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible work conditions, all additional hours are OT or time off in lieu. Interesting work Upskilling available to all staff Great promotion opportunities/sideways moves for all staff. Particualar at lower grades.

    Cons

    Salary is less than market rate. Can be very stressful if you are directly supporting front line operations

    UK Ministry of Defence2019-03-28
  8. "An Interesting and Broad Job Role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intelligence Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UK Ministry of Defence full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunities that are only available through Service.

    Cons

    Demanding job roles that encroaches on the work/life balance.

    UK Ministry of Defence2019-04-10
  9. "Working for Joint Forces Command"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Manager in Corsham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UK Ministry of Defence part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Amazing career development. Flexible working Family friendly or good work/life balance Interesting and satisfying work

    Cons

    IT not up to scratch Not enough parking or desk spaces Salary is not competitive

    UK Ministry of Defence2019-03-22
  10. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at UK Ministry of Defence full-time

      Pros

      Good place to work and excellent work life balance.

      Cons

      None apart from slow at times

      UK Ministry of Defence2019-03-20
    Found 315 reviews