UMass Medical School Reviews

Updated Aug 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
54%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
UMass Medical School Chancellor  Michael F. Collins
Michael F. Collins
91 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "low pay, limited space to promotion(in 13 reviews)

  • "UMass doesnt enforce the NIH recommended postdoc pay(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Fantastic Opportunity"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Coordinator I in Worcester, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UMass Medical School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers and supervisor, great experience, great connections. Results will vary GREATLY depending on what lab you join as the majority of the labs have their own way of doing things.

    Cons

    UMass' Med School building is a bit old and dull. If you're working an office/lab it can be somewhat of a bland environment unless you're in a new building.

    UMass Medical School Response

    August 12, 2020Chief Information Officer

    Thank you for your feedback. The Medical School is investing significantly on its labs and classrooms in the coming years - we think you will be very happy with the enhancements. Also, you may be interested in the new Veteran's Administration Hospital being constructed on campus. The Medical School is committed to helping those who served our country. Here is an article with info on this exciting project! https://bit.ly/2DXuWi2

  2. "low salary"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in Worcester, MA

    I have been working at UMass Medical School full-time

    Pros

    great resources, small campus, cheaper cost of living

    Cons

    Very low salary for postdoc compared to all the others. Most of the PI only pay the lowest requirement from NIH.


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Work Environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate in Worcester, MA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UMass Medical School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very Good working environment, clean.

    Cons

    Its like a small company

    UMass Medical School Response

    August 1, 2020Chief Information Officer

    We feel the strong collaborative spirit of UMass Medical School makes us feel like a small company, too! Thank you for your feedback.

  4. COVID-19
    Helpful (1)

    "Extraordinary leadership during COVID-19"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Technology Management in Worcester, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UMass Medical School full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    UMMS is incredibly mission oriented. There is consistent, honest communication from senior leaders. There is no better industry to work in right now. UMMS is training the next generation of clinical leaders, researching novel therapies and supporting state healthcare programs.

    Cons

    I thought working outside the Boston area would be a downside to this job, but it has been a bonus! Light traffic and a thriving downtown in Worcester are great.

    Continue reading

    UMass Medical School Response

    August 1, 2020Chief Information Officer

    Thank you for your feedback. You may be interested in a recent Boston Globe article highlighting the lessons from UMass Medical School on bringing students and faculty back safely to campus. https://www.bostonglobe.com/2020/07/30/opinion/returning-college-students-test-them-frequently/

  5. "Professors overuse their power"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at UMass Medical School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers may look nice but don't be fooled.

    Cons

    Poor leadership and teamwork. Very political. Professors take advantage of young employees and overuse their power. Very low salary. Always making employees overwork without pay. Toxic work environment.

    Continue reading
  6. COVID-19
    Helpful (2)

    "Great Experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate in Worcester, MA
    Recommends

    I have been working at UMass Medical School full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great institution to work for even during the difficult COVID time

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons to report

    UMass Medical School Response

    August 1, 2020Chief Information Officer

    Thank you for your feedback. The Medical School leadership is working hard to further strengthen all that our institution provides particularly during the pandemic.

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Stable"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Policy Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at UMass Medical School full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have been working here for 5 years in lows and highs. The university is very stable place to work. The work environment varies by unit.

    Cons

    It's not great with professional development and career growth.

    Continue reading

    UMass Medical School Response

    August 1, 2020Chief Information Officer

    Thank you for your feedback. UMass Medical School recently expanded its Career Advancement and Leadership Training offerings, and added Clark University tuition reimbursements to its expansive list of college partners. Please see the HR Learning and Development web page for details.

  8. Helpful (3)

    "There is poor leadership. Where is your diversity?"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Technology 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UMass Medical School full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits are decent Peers work hard and are bright leaders.

    Cons

    IT leaders lack knowledge and judgement. Management is a joke. Consistently making the wrong decisions for a great institution. The turn over rate is too high. The lack of communication continues to decline. The worst part is that there is no diversity in IT.

    Continue reading

    UMass Medical School Response

    August 1, 2020Chief Information Officer

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for your experience. UMass Medical School is committed to embracing the full richness of diverse people, perspectives and experiences, and enabling all members of our academic community to thrive in a welcoming and inclusive environment. The Medical School is incredibly proud of its Information Technology department and IT leadership which transitioned our entire institution to a remote workplace in two weeks. The IT department has also positioned our three schools, researchers and Commonwealth Medicine to grow and succeed during COVID-19. A multi-year IT Innovative Internship program has attracted many diversity candidates.

  9. Helpful (3)

    "So so"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Reviewer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UMass Medical School full-time

    Pros

    Salary, benefits, friendly co-workers, location

    Cons

    Zero diversity, Poor middle management leadership, inadequate training, impossible expectations, poor environment for anyone with a disability

    Continue reading
  10. "research and knowledge"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Research Associate in Worcester, MA

    I have been working at UMass Medical School full-time

    Pros

    can get the experience for further career

    Cons

    not much you can use them

    UMass Medical School Response

    August 12, 2020Chief Information Officer

    Thank you for your feedback. We feel UMass Medical School's research is one our strengths thanks to the amazing people in our labs. We're happy to hear you feel your experience will also further your career!

Found 334 reviews