KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

UNC Health

Engaged Employer

UNC Health

Add a Review

UNC Health Reviews

Updated Sep 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 647 of over 694 reviews

3.9
81%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
UNC Health CEO Wesley Burks
Wesley Burks
83 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits if you're hired as a state employee(in 43 reviews)

  • "Great pay, adaptable, good benefits(in 32 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Management doesn't believe in work/life balance(in 11 reviews)

  • "Park and ride lots are available with shuttle buses(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of UNC Health and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      UNC Health is a great place for a career

      Sep 18, 2021 - Clinical Systems Manager in Morrisville, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      UNC Health is growing, has a track record of best in class patient care and research, and presents broad opportunities across both clinical and support functions.

      Cons

      The pandemic has greatly increased stress levels and led to greater staff attrition, especially within the inpatient clinical settings.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      UNC Health Response

      UNC Health Talent Acquisition

      We may be biased but couldn't agree more. We are committed to providing our colleagues with an enriching and rewarding environment, and we're thrilled to know of your experience. Thank you for your review.

    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Incredible place to work

      Sep 18, 2021 - Assistant MOA in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great DR,S , awesome coworkers, I miss this job!

      Cons

      Management shoped while I worked.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company

      Sep 17, 2021 - Medical Office Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working for UNC has been a wonderful experience and advanced my career in a positive direction. Our office manager was always welcoming to help her employees.

      Cons

      Training should be more available for our positions. HR is really not efficient at getting things done for employees such as new badges and granting security privileges.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good comp and benefits, poor leadership

      Sep 19, 2021 - Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Compensation for was very fair in my experience. Employees could bonus up to 3% of annual salary and management could bonus up to 12.5%. Annual merit and cost of living adjustments were regularly 2.5-4%.

      Cons

      Many of the senior physician leaders are very indecisive. As a “physician led” organization that makes life pretty miserable for the rest of us. Making hard decisions and communicating those decisions is the job. If you can’t hack it, you should go back to treating patients. There are lots of us who actually trained for this job and your indecision just makes our jobs more difficult (not impossible; remember we trained for this).

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Phlebotomist

      Sep 20, 2021 - Phlebotomist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great job, fun team, great team work

      Cons

      Hours, poor communication from managment.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good managment

      Sep 17, 2021 - Certified Nurse Assistant in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Better pay than duke by far

      Cons

      Could have better benefits than anything

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Love it

      Sep 16, 2021 - Senior Radiation Therapist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is Flexible and a small town

      Cons

      Lower salary than bigger towns

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place to Work

      Sep 9, 2021 - Certified Medical Assistant (CMA) in Burlington, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Benefit Packages are Great and Discounts.

      Cons

      Paying for parking, the cost to eat everyday if you dont bring your lunch is awful. Employees should get more than 20% off their tab.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good

      Sep 14, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overall great place to work.

      Cons

      Sometimes we were understaffed in the lab.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Horrible

      Jul 27, 2021 - Technician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Frontline staff are good people to work with along with support staff.

      Cons

      Leadership from Wesley Burks, Ernie Bovie down to department directors and Managers offer little to no support for Frontline Workers. During Pandemic they have sat at home dictating what frontline workers do at work and during personal time. They have taken away vacation time because of the purposeful staff shortage They have put hiring freezes on compromising patients and staff safety. They will pull at your heartstrings by saying things about caring for the patients in reality they only care about the bottom dollar .Most recent issue is Vaccine Mandates. If you do not comply with getting vaccine you are FIRED! I was once considered to be a healthcare hero but now all healthcare workers are disposable. My advice is to stay away from working at UNC Health system. If you believe in god you definitely will be unhappy here because they believe and force you to believe that there are more than two genders, and that there is systemic racism. If you know god you know he only made one Race and thats the human race. He teaches all humans are to be loved and Charished.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      UNC Health Response

      UNC Health Talent Acquisition

      UNC Health is grateful for the hard work and sacrifices of our health workers during the pandemic. However, we believe that requiring vaccines is in the best interest of public health and is essential for the safety of our patients, teammates and communities. Our employees are the heart of our organization and are crucial to UNC Health's success. As we are always looking to improve as both a company and employer, we recommend open communication with your direct manager.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 647 Reviews

    Popular Careers with UNC Health Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at UNC Health? Share Your Experiences

    or