Cover image for UNC Health
Logo
See All Photos

UNC Health

Engaged Employer

UNC Health

Add a Review

UNC Health Employee Reviews about "unc health care"

Updated Oct 14, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 998 of over 999 reviews
3.8
74% Recommend to a Friend
UNC Health CEO Wesley Burks
84% Approve of CEO

Found 7 of over 999 reviews

3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
UNC Health CEO Wesley Burks
Wesley Burks
176 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on

Healthcare

21h

an 

Other

I’m going to be vague here so forgive me, but need some opinions. I got a Masters in a specialty and have worked in this specialty for 1 year. I was approached on LinkedIn by a recruiter for a position doing the job I was doing prior to my current specialty. This new opportunity has the potential to be a great stepping stone in my career with a better title and way more money but I feel like I’m taking a step backwards by not using my Masters. Would you stay on the path that you went to school..

7

6 Comments

Healthcare

81.7K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/medicine-2/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=UNC Health~322749
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of UNC Health and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "unc health care"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great job, great flexibility!

    Aug 15, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Chapel Hill, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I can schedule my shifts at any hour of the day/night for whatever length that fits around my other commitments.

    Cons

    Occasionally have to travel to other UNC Health campuses ~30 minutes away on short notice.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Horrible

    Jul 27, 2021 - Technician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Frontline staff are good people to work with along with support staff.

    Cons

    Leadership from Wesley Burks, Ernie Bovie down to department directors and Managers offer little to no support for Frontline Workers. During Pandemic they have sat at home dictating what frontline workers do at work and during personal time. They have taken away vacation time because of the purposeful staff shortage They have put hiring freezes on compromising patients and staff safety. They will pull at your heartstrings by saying things about caring for the patients in reality they only care about the bottom dollar .Most recent issue is Vaccine Mandates. If you do not comply with getting vaccine you are FIRED! I was once considered to be a healthcare hero but now all healthcare workers are disposable. My advice is to stay away from working at UNC Health system. If you believe in god you definitely will be unhappy here because they believe and force you to believe that there are more than two genders, and that there is systemic racism. If you know god you know he only made one Race and thats the human race. He teaches all humans are to be loved and Charished.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    UNC Health Response

    UNC Health Talent Acquisition

    UNC Health is grateful for the hard work and sacrifices of our health workers during the pandemic. However, we believe that requiring vaccines is in the best interest of public health and is essential for the safety of our patients, teammates and communities. Our employees are the heart of our organization and are crucial to UNC Health's success. As we are always looking to improve as both a company and employer, we recommend open communication with your direct manager.

  3. Join the UNC Health team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Wrong Direction

    Oct 14, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Allot of great people trying to keep this organization functioning.

    Cons

    Strategic plan and implementation is a mess. UNC Health has expanded beyond its' ability to maintain a cohesive culture or to function properly. Shared services are overextend and new entities are brought in with what appears to be little consideration for staffing resources. One UNC Health sounds nice, but is not reality.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Good career choice

    Jul 16, 2021 - Senior Unix Systems Engineer in Chapel Hill, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As an employee of the State of NC, this job provided excellent benefits, including a generous retirement plan.

    Cons

    Over time, UNC Health has transitioned to a new structure. New employees are hired through one of their affiliate organizations and no longer qualify for State Employee benefits.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Lack of Diversity within the Workplace, Immature Behavior Among Employees

    Jul 31, 2020 - Analyst in Chapel Hill, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    State benefits and free parking.

    Cons

    - Extreme lack of diversity when it comes to the faculty within the UNC Health Foundation. It became clear during my time there that a lot of the departments take a liking to a certain type of demographic with similar viewpoints. - Tolerance of inappropriate behavior from younger employees seems to be ongoing. I witnessed co-workers act unkindly towards other employees in an effort to isolate them from the team. Gossiping and other non-work related distractions seemed to be ongoing there. - Expectations to volunteer weekends on an ongoing basis for fundraising events seemed inconsistent with job role requirements and created an unhealthy level of competition among employees.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    If you need benefits, it's about the only reason to work here.

    Jul 21, 2020 - Residency Coordinator in Chapel Hill, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits, it's a job, maybe it's close to where you live

    Cons

    This place is so bad that if I wrote what honestly happened during my time, there is no way in hell you would believe me. So, I'll say this: you will only want to take a job at UNC Health if you are in desperate need for a job. If you have options, this is not the place for you to work. If you don't believe me, revisit this review after working there for one year and prove me wrong.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    UNC Health Response

    Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear your employee experience was not as expected . Please know, our employees are the heart of our organization and are crucial to UNC Health's success. We look to ensure successful careers for all employees. As we are always looking to make improvements as both a company and employer, we will be sure to share these concerns with our Human Resources team.

  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work...horrible IT Structure

    Aug 28, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Durham, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    UNC Health Care is a great place to work. One of the perks is that they made modifications to the state benefit package to subsidize health care insurance, 401k, etc. to make the benefits package more appealing. As not only an employee, but a patient and a family member of a patient, the place high emphasis on quality of care, which is something that you can pride yourself in as an employee.

    Cons

    The organization is growing faster that their IT infrastructure can support. Systems go down frequently. There is no career development and growth opportunities. It appears as though the department would rather bring on an external candidate versus promoting someone from within who has already grown accustom to the environment at UNC Health Care, and it's needs. Within my work unit, IT micromanages and makes decisions without thinking of the impact that this will have to the individual support teams. There is no cohesiveness between work areas within IT. Ultimately, I would return to UNC Health Care, but definitely in a different capacity than my previous role.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    UNC Health Care

    Dec 16, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Chapel Hill, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The work environment was very good. Each employee wants to help the others succeed, and the administrators care about the employees. It's hard work, but its a good environment to work in.

    Cons

    I don't really have much negative to say about working at UNC health care. The work can be hard and being a state job, raises aren't always the best, but UNC does try to give good benefits compared to other state employers.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    RN

    May 7, 2016 - RN At UNC in Chapel Hill, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    the support you receive from the management at unc health care is excellent. you will find encouragement to go back to school for a higher degree, to move up the clinical ladder and to balance work and home life.

    Cons

    since acquiring several small hospitals unc health care has down graded our pto package to match what is offered at the smaller hospitals now under the unc health care umbrella. this has caused concern in long term employees.

    1 person found this review helpful
  11. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Same struggles as most public hospitals, but making a real effort to overcome them.

    Jul 23, 2011 -  in Chapel Hill, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great facility and good pay. They are making real efforts to improve the tense culture that can arise from a stressed out work environment.

    Cons

    Like many public hospitals, too much work to be done by too few people. Management's stress over staying in budget trickles down to the staff. To be fair, this is a US health care system problem and not specifically a UNC Health Care problem.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with UNC Health Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at UNC Health? Share Your Experiences

UNC Health logo
or

Affiliated Companies

UNC Health Careers

Cover image for UNC Health

UNC Health System UNC Health is a not-for-profit integrated health care system owned by the state of North Carolina and based in Chapel...More

  • Vision/Values
  • Community
  • History
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

UNC Health

0 days ago

Careers
💥 UNC Hospitals Job Highlight - Dec. 5 💥 Come join the team at UNC Hospitals and UNC Faculty Physicians! Check out this week's hot jobs: 1️⃣ RN Clinical Nurse II - Pediatric Transport Team 2️⃣ RN Clinical Nurse Education Specialist - Oncology 3️⃣ RN Clinical Nurse Education Specialist - Critical Care 4️⃣ Ophthalmic Assistants and Ophthalmic Techs (certified) 5️⃣ Supervisor, Ophthalmic Imaging 6️⃣ Infusion Clinical Manager 7️⃣ Respiratory Therapist II - Pediatric Transport Team Explore these featured positions here and apply now: https://bit.ly/3BcbFEx
Shared image
Logo

UNC Health

3 days ago

Careers
💥 UNC Health Rockingham Job Highlight – Dec. 2 💥 UNC Health Rockingham in Eden, NC, is looking for dedicated staff to join its team! Below are our featured hot jobs for this week.  🔹 Medical Lab Tech (Job ID: 33114, 37637)  🔹 Medical Technologist I (Job ID: 38883, 38884, 42340) 🔹 Phlebotomist (Job ID: 40941) - Per Diem Apply today: https://bit.ly/3XQchJy
Shared image
See all

UNC Health Photos

+ Add Photo
UNC Health photo of: Eastowne
UNC Health photo of: Hillsborough
UNC Health photo of: Ground Advanced Life Support Paramedic
UNC Health photo of: Chatham Hospital
UNC Health photo of: Apex RNCC
UNC Health photo of: UNC REX Heart &amp; Vascular
UNC Health photo of: REX Holly Springs
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

UNC Health Job Seekers Also Viewed

WakeMed Health and Hospitals Logo
WakeMed Health and Hospitals

4.0

629 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 999 UNC Health reviews submitted anonymously by UNC Health employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if UNC Health is right for you.