UNC Wilmington Reviews | Glassdoor

UNC Wilmington Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 157 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
UNC Wilmington CEO Jose V. Sartarelli
Jose V. Sartarelli
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "Beautiful campus, nice facilities, near the beach(in 11 reviews)

  • "Work culture at UNCW is phenomenal(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "comparatively low pay, no childcare(in 11 reviews)

  • "I have worked for UNCW for almost 8 years continuously as a(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Assistant in Wilmington, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UNC Wilmington part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Almost every staff and faculty member that I came into contact with over the course of the two and a half years that I was a graduate assistant on campus was so helpful and kind. Both departments that I worked in truly had a team atmosphere.

    Cons

    It's really hard to get a job here. There is a list a mile long of part time employees who have been waiting years to be full time, and for every open position in general. But I suppose that's most of Higher Ed.

    Advice to Management

    Be faster at hiring.

    UNC Wilmington2019-06-11
  2. "UNCW Recreation Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UNC Wilmington part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexibility, understanding of school schedule

    Cons

    A decent amount of weekend meetings

    UNC Wilmington2019-06-17
  3. "Fun and Educating environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operation Supervisor in Wilmington, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at UNC Wilmington part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You are always provided with an opportunity to grow personally and professionally while working with incredible people.

    Cons

    Can be taken a little too serious at times.

    UNC Wilmington2019-06-12
  4. "Best place to work on campus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Supervisor in Wilmington, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at UNC Wilmington part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Short shifts, ability to pick up shifts, if you cant work your shift-almost always someone can help out

    Cons

    Can't go over 20hours/week if you're a full-time student.

    UNC Wilmington2019-06-07
  5. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Graduate Assistant 

      I have been working at UNC Wilmington part-time

      Pros

      taking classes and work in same location

      Cons

      poor pay and abuse of hours

      UNC Wilmington2019-06-05
    • "Beautiful campus but frustrating work environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Wilmington, NC

      I have been working at UNC Wilmington full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The campus and the city are beautiful. The UNC system offers good benefits.

      Cons

      UNCW has been one of the most frustrating places I've ever worked. My department has its own unique problems, but it seems the entire university lacks sufficient policies and protocols to address even minor concerns (ie. taking 6 weeks to get one piece of furniture moved, calls and emails to certain offices never getting answered, only having two buses for rental for the entire campus) to major (having internet servers...

      Show More
      UNC Wilmington2019-05-28
    • "Excellent employer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at UNC Wilmington full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great campus, great community to be part of

        Cons

        I currently do not have a con to list

        UNC Wilmington2019-04-30
      • "Good GA positions"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Graduate Assistant 

          I have been working at UNC Wilmington part-time

          Pros

          Working for the university is good while in graduate school. They are flexible with hours.

          Cons

          Sometimes very boring work.

          UNC Wilmington2019-04-21
        • Helpful (2)

          "Reliable if you have good mental health insurance"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Wilmington, NC
          Doesn't Recommend
          Positive Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I have been working at UNC Wilmington full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          It is reliable government work.

          Cons

          Extreme disorganization, dysfunction and elitism.

          Advice to Management

          You can't do anything without those around you.

          UNC Wilmington2019-04-30
        • "Great place to work"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Lecturer 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at UNC Wilmington full-time for more than 5 years

          Pros

          Beautiful campus, nice facilities, near the beach.

          Cons

          Salary, advancement opportunities for lecturers and adjuncts.

          UNC Wilmington2019-04-18
        Found 157 reviews