UNM Health Sciences Center Reviews | Glassdoor

UNM Health Sciences Center Reviews

Updated Jun 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 60 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Paul B. Roth, MD, MS
17 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "turnover would likely be higher if there weren't hiring freezes right now at UNM(in 5 reviews)

  • "Upper management not sensitive to the growing exposure of RNs to traumatic situations(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Speialty RN in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends

    I have been working at UNM Health Sciences Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, work hours, autonomy, flexibility, time off

    Cons

    pay, lack of training difficulty navigating EMR--not the easiest one to use

    UNM Health Sciences Center2019-01-28
  2. "Treated like an entry level file clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Albuquerque, NM
      Doesn't Recommend

      I have been working at UNM Health Sciences Center full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good pay. Subsidized cafeteria. Okay hours

      Cons

      I was treated like a child. Job was just phones and files. Parking close to work was so expensive I had to park in never never land. NEVER AGAIN.

      Advice to Management

      Don't have 'relationships' with coworkers. Don't display favoritism.

      UNM Health Sciences Center2019-06-28
    • "Great for basic research"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Post Doctoral Fellow in Albuquerque, NM
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at UNM Health Sciences Center full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Office of research supports basic research. Multidisciplinary science labs

      Cons

      Benefits are almost non-existing. Post-doctoral fellows do not qualify for tuition remission, this limits training opportunities. UNM does not follow the NIH recommended Post-doc payscale. Most departments will not hire internally, including promoting post-docs

      Advice to Management

      Special funding and training opportunities for post-doc would be amazing

      UNM Health Sciences Center2019-04-25
    • "I got lucky with the research group"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Albuquerque, NM
      Recommends

      I have been working at UNM Health Sciences Center for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Got a lot of experience with teaching and research

      Cons

      Sometimes the research environment wasn't friendly

      UNM Health Sciences Center2019-01-16
    • "UNM HSC"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at UNM Health Sciences Center full-time

      Pros

      Great benefits, holidays, and retirement.

      Cons

      Mandatory retirement is a drag.

      UNM Health Sciences Center2018-10-15
    • "Amazing Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at UNM Health Sciences Center part-time

      Pros

      Worked for the CTSC and the are great people. They take the time to train you properly and do there best to accommodate your schedule into the working environment

      Cons

      Nothing bad to say about the CTSC great company to work for if you are wanting to do psychological research

      UNM Health Sciences Center2018-08-07
    • "Postdoc"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at UNM Health Sciences Center full-time

      Pros

      A lot of resources, people are nice

      Cons

      Lack of organization and efficiency, no specific postdoc organization or opportunities. No retirement contribution from employer or vacation payout.

      Advice to Management

      Treat postdocs as full time employees with standard benefits. Foster the formation of a postdoc organization and encourage postdoc training programs.

      UNM Health Sciences Center2018-08-01
    • "clerk"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Courtesy Clerk in Albuquerque, NM
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at UNM Health Sciences Center full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      good benefits with good pay everyday patient interaction

      Cons

      no opportunity to advance in the hospital

      Advice to Management

      out the box thinking and giving employees a say

      UNM Health Sciences Center2018-06-26
    • "Resident several years ago"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Resident Physician in Albuquerque, NM
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at UNM Health Sciences Center for more than 3 years

      Pros

      After working at several other hospitals, I think this is actually a pretty good one. For the most part they provide quality care. I did not feel this way when I worked there. The cafeteria is also very good for hospital food. The green chili on everything helps.

      Cons

      Cockroaches in the hospital, including what should be sterile areas.

      Advice to Management

      Stop overworking your residents to the point that you have resident suicides and residents leaving medicine for good.

      UNM Health Sciences Center2018-06-24
    • "As a research postdoc: Good coworkers, good facilities, mediocre pay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in Albuquerque, NM
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at UNM Health Sciences Center full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good coworkers, good research equipment, flexible schedule

      Cons

      Lower than average postdoc pay

      Advice to Management

      Better pay

      UNM Health Sciences Center2018-05-08
    Found 60 reviews