UNM Hospitals Reviews | Glassdoor

UNM Hospitals Reviews

Updated May 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 107 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
UNM Hospitals CEO Kathleen Becker
Kathleen Becker
1 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, good pay, great accommodations for pregnant/nursing women(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great Benefits, excellent learning experience(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Free health insurance" but premiums and deductibles were insanely high(in 4 reviews)

  • "Constant turn over often leaves clinics short staffed(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UNM Hospitals full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling. Small unit with limited nurses that work very well together. We get the chance to collaborate with our physicians throughout our day.

    Cons

    I would prefer to work a little closer to home. Communte is inconvienet at times. The same number of nurses can be a con too. Hard to find coverage when other are off.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to offer your staff opportunities to grow. Continue to work with your employees to get the best out of them.

    UNM Hospitals2019-03-13
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at UNM Hospitals part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - No drama with coworkers - Supervisors listen to concerns and respond - No micromanagement - Job responsibilities are clear and easy to understand - Always treated with respect

    Cons

    - Parking situation is really bad - Too many staff meetings

    UNM Hospitals2019-04-01
  3. "Good place for experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mental Health Technician in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UNM Hospitals part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Rewarding work when working with a caring team

    Cons

    High turnover rate of other employees. Kids go back to the situation that got them there

    UNM Hospitals2019-05-21
  4. "Culture of Nastiness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN 

    I worked at UNM Hospitals full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good care provided to the patients.

    Cons

    No support from management, HR, or the union if you are attacked by a superior or doctor. I would not advise working in this institution.

    Advice to Management

    Throughout my years associated with this institution, physicians have been allowed to slide, even after committing a crime, sexual harrassment, bullying, rudeness, etc. Please consider changing the culture so your nurses and other staff are protected.

    UNM Hospitals2019-05-03
  5. "PFS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Financial Service Representative in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UNM Hospitals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Love my job. Opportunities for advancement. Medical and dental coverage paid by company

    Cons

    Pay is lower than expected. Advancement opportunities can be slow.

    UNM Hospitals2019-04-06
  6. "You do not have a voice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in UNM, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UNM Hospitals full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good benefits for their employees

    Cons

    Very political. If you are a favorite you are good. If not... your life is hell working here. You are not allowed to have a voice and speak up. We need an employee advocate for those not covered by the Union.

    Advice to Management

    Try and see the good and compassion your employees have for their jobs. Know that your employees are here because they love what they do, and would love to further their career.

    UNM Hospitals2019-04-18
  7. "They promote incompetent people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech in Albuquerque, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at UNM Hospitals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Only level I trauma center in NM Interesting and diverse patients

    Cons

    Low pay compared to national average They value money over employees No consequences for managerial misbehavior, including hostile work environment ckaims

    UNM Hospitals2019-03-01
  8. "Work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UNM Hospitals part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Exposure to wide variety of patients and diagnoses

    Cons

    Constant turn over often leaves clinics short staffed

    Advice to Management

    To listen to their employee and communicate better

    UNM Hospitals2019-02-12
  9. "Great atmosphere, crappy benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UNM Hospitals full-time

    Pros

    Evidence based practice, teamwork, push for education and professional development

    Cons

    Health insurance is awful and PTO accrual is sad

    UNM Hospitals2019-01-06
  10. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at UNM Hospitals full-time

      Pros

      Good pay, supportive management, good hours

      Cons

      documentation, deadlines, hospital environment, not for everyone

      UNM Hospitals2018-11-13
    Found 107 reviews