UPS Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor

UPS Airlines Reviews

Updated May 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Mitch Nichols
11 Ratings
  1. "My time at the Ontario, Ca Western Hub & now rehired as PT Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Project Coordinating Supervisor in Ontario, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UPS Airlines for more than a year

    Pros

    Working around aircraft. It was the best thing for me. Hours Benefits Medical/ Dental Company Shares

    Cons

    When they ask you to stay longer, well let's just say, either you stay longer or your time with the company will be bad or even end. I understand you need to make some sacrifices, but there are just some sacrifices I am not ready to make.

    Advice to Management

    Ontario, Ca: as management, find a way to work with your crews. I feel powerless when I can't work with my crew. There is just some union folk that know how to take advantage of the system. It is painful.

    UPS Airlines2018-10-24
  2. "Decent Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ramp Supervisor 
    Recommends

    I have been working at UPS Airlines part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Treat workers well and cares about well-being.

    Cons

    Morning shift starts at 3:00

    UPS Airlines2019-05-29
  3. "Aircraft Maintenance Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UPS Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stable work, union, overtime available

    Cons

    Not too many “normal” shift hours

    UPS Airlines2018-12-05
  4. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UPS Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Opportunity, compensation, partnership, and stability.

    Cons

    Evolving into "just another place to work". Doing away with all management incentives.

    Advice to Management

    Loyalty earns loyalty

    UPS Airlines2018-05-31
  5. "Ground School Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ground School Instructor in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UPS Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My fleet coworkers were great! Some really fine people! Work was steady.

    Cons

    I felt that I was unvalued compared to the rest of the industry. Perception was considered the complete truth.

    Advice to Management

    Have the integrity to investigate a whole situation and not allow people to railroad their agenda.

    UPS Airlines2018-05-29
  6. "Best Flying Job On The Planet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - First Officer in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UPS Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    UPS is a fortune 100 company that has a family-business feel. Values, ethics, character, and work discipline are at the top of the company's priorities for its employees. The new contract signed in 2016 is phenomenal. The IPA (pilots union) did an outstanding job of negotiating with UPS management to secure some of the best pay and benefits in the airline industry. The airline management is solid and they all work...

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes corporate HQ doesn't recognize airline specific needs and makes decisions without consulting those with aviation expertise. The company has been around since 1907 and sometimes UPS still makes decisions like a trucking company that has an airline, but there are indications that's getting better.

    Advice to Management

    The airline is the heart of the business. With the rapid expansion of E-Commerce demand driving revenue, it would be smart to work with labor unions (pilots and mechanics) in a more cooperative/mutually beneficial way to better foster a sense of trust and teamwork.

    UPS Airlines2017-12-08
  7. "Positive, mostly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Developer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UPS Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In the department where I work the management is super - creative freedom and support in all respects. Unlimited sick days is a plus.

    Cons

    Salary is really meh (entry level, in my view), and the benefits have been squeezed out. Vacation policy sucks - 10 days for the first 5 years (though you get 5 discretionary days every year in addition to the usual holidays). Still a . "no jeans and no beards" policy, which is kind of ridiculous when you miss out on great candidates who have an opinion on either of these.

    Advice to Management

    To the management really high, high up there - we are talking about changing, fast, yet the company leadership is extremely slow to catch on its own motivational slogans.

    UPS Airlines2017-10-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at UPS Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Not much that I can say

    Cons

    Everything seems to be getting worse

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the DM's in M&E

    UPS Airlines2017-07-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Financial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UPS Airlines part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    UPS gives steady hours and friendly staff. They also give paid breaks even if you're in the corporate office.

    Cons

    Technology is way behind and they try to not rely on IT as much as they should.

    Advice to Management

    The job market has changed greatly and UPS has been left behind. Payment and benefits are below par.

    UPS Airlines2017-05-20
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company but old fashioned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UPS Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Lots of vacation time, flexible schedule, ok pay.

    Cons

    rotating shifts, a lot of part time work with very little full time, cutting benefits every year, pay is lower than the market average, stock program is ok.

    Advice to Management

    Promotion from within is good but it should not take an experienced and educated individual 20 years to make it to the manager level. Hiring people off of the street has a lot to offer a company like UPS but you will never be able to get the best people in the world if you continue to expect them to start part time moving boxes for very little pay. In the past UPS was all about taking care of its people. Ever since it...

    Show More
    UPS Airlines2017-02-21
Found 32 reviews