URS Corporation "aecom" Reviews | Glassdoor

URS Corporation Employee Reviews about "aecom"

Updated Nov 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
URS Corporation Chief Executive Officer Michael S. Burke (no image)
Michael S. Burke
52 Ratings
Pros
  • "good people , good pay , very safety minded(in 40 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and decent staff and management(in 38 reviews)

Cons
  • "Unfortunately absorbed by AECOM(in 32 reviews)

  • "Upper management is very focused on how billable you are, not good with communicating new processes(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "aecom"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Engineering Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at URS Corporation for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Such a great place to work

    Cons

    Unfortunately absorbed by AECOM

    URS Corporation2018-10-05
  2. "URS Now AECOM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Arlington, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at URS Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Paid well, large corporation. Customer focus.

    Cons

    Large corporation, if you did not work in a corporate building you were on your own. AECOM was a construction company that was moving into IT, bought URS. Could not win IT contracts.

    Continue reading
    URS Corporation2017-01-14
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Management corruption"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Planner in Richland, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at URS Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is okay but that's about it. and its only okay

    Cons

    where do I begin, discrimination, harassment, fraud, and poor management make AECOM / URS what it is. HR is a JOKE!! Went to them about the above stated issues and out of the blue I received a final warning for attendance and I have NEVER have a single reprimand. Moral is some of the worst and there is a VERY high turn over

    Continue reading
    URS Corporation2016-06-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at URS Corporation

    Pros

    The people, places and opportunities are/were great until Aecom bought them

    Cons

    They got bought by AECOM

    URS Corporation2016-03-29
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Environmental Scientist in Hermiston, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at URS Corporation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay and training opportunities.

    Cons

    Since being bought out by AECOM lack of opportunity for being carried over to new projects once current job ended. 25 years experience didn't seem to matter with new company.

    Continue reading
    URS Corporation2015-12-25
  6. Helpful (3)

    "As Engineering companies go, one of the better ones"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at URS Corporation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Worked for URS for 20 years and always had a job # to charge to. Not that common within the industry. Knew the Sr. Management and they were always accessible. Benefits and pay were good as was the location - 1 Penn - just above Penn Station in NYC.

    Cons

    Lack of promotional opportunities during my time. With the acquisition by AECOM, the management structure and identity of the company is a mystery to legacy URS personnel. Sr. Management seems distant and it is unclear what the future holds for many when their respective projects end. This has and will continue to trigger a high turnover rate.

    Continue reading
    URS Corporation2015-12-23
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Project Controls Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Controls Manager in Anchorage, AK
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at URS Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Houston Project Controls Department Management is very good.

    Cons

    URS/AECOM is a bunch of patched together companies existing on the reputations of their predecessor companies. As such there is much in-fighting and conquered/conquerer attitude creating an undesirable work environment particularly amongst executives.

    Continue reading
    URS Corporation2016-01-14
  8. "Environmental Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in New Haven, CT

    I worked at URS Corporation

    Pros

    Enjoyed working with staff at all levels.

    Cons

    Limited environmental, ecological work at time. Now merger with AECOM has opened up this area and opportunity with a much larger and stronger local presence in the ecological field.

    URS Corporation2015-09-28
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Merger woes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at URS Corporation for more than 3 years

    Pros

    URS team members are good to work with

    Cons

    Recent merger with AECOM has everything in uproar. Trying to consolidate too many systems offices group end up hap hazard

    Continue reading
    URS Corporation2015-08-26
  10. "Room For Improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanic in Albany, GA

    I have been working at URS Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Company contributions to the 401 K are based on federal law and the Service Contract Act and on actual hours worked per employee. They have been good for the time URS has had the contract

    Cons

    The company as a whole seems to be well managed since the merger with AECOM. But that opinion is based only on what I read from other sources. As far as site specific where I am, management has problems. There are clashes of personality, issues of closet racism which are denied but exist nonetheless.

    Continue reading
    URS Corporation2015-08-29
Found 32 reviews