US Air Force "military" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

US Air Force Employee Reviews about "military"

Updated Dec 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
US Air Force CEO Gen. David L. Goldfein
Gen. David L. Goldfein
1,769 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours in challenging environments(in 1228 reviews)

  • "More work than other jobs in the military(in 1006 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "military"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Weight and Balance Expert"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Aircraft Loadmaster 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Air Force full-time

    Pros

    Good hours, flexibility, world travel

    Cons

    Military quirks and lots of deployments

    US Air Force2019-12-03
  2. "Not terrible, not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 3D1X1 - Client Systems Administrator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Air Force full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's the military. You should know what you're signing up for. Rank means a lot but isn't everything like the other branches. You do have a voice.

    Cons

    Military management and old heads.

    US Air Force2019-11-21
  3. "Security Police"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL

    I worked at US Air Force full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great experience not only for law enforcement but leadership and management as well

    Cons

    Your in the military

    US Air Force2019-10-28
  4. "Just don't do it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Systems Technician 
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at US Air Force full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Military: Wide diversity of career selection. Many roles.

    Cons

    Military: You're an airman first. Job second. Don't enlist if want to be the best technically.

    US Air Force2019-11-08
  5. "Wrong Mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Air Force Pilot 

    I have been working at US Air Force full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and people are good to work with albeit a very conservative and Republican group.

    Cons

    Mission of the military is wrong and current commander in Chief (Trump) would make work morality difficult.

    US Air Force2019-10-31
  6. "Excellent Early Career Option"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cryptologic Linguist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Air Force full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    As a member of the Air Force, I have had the opportunity to travel to very interesting places and do some very interesting things. I feel that, had I never joined the Air Force, I may have never gone to Monterey, California or Hawaii. I may never have received a degree - certainly not for free. The Air Force has also forced me to exercise more than what I would have and has opened up my mind to value of... volunteering.

    Show More

    Cons

    Your experience in the Air Force will depend on how well your career field matches with your career aspirations and your personality and will also depend on your immediate leadership. Some career fields deploy a lot more than other career fields. Some career fields are much more transferable to the civilian world than others. Your ability to score high on your performance reviews and to receive awards could... depend on circumstantial buzzwords and/or your supervisor's ability to write good bullets and very little on how much effort you put into your work. The military is also famously bureaucratic, so often even the most minuscule changes take far too long to implement unless they come from the top.

    Show More
    US Air Force2019-10-13
  7. "Excellent Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Intelligence Analyst in Boise, ID

    I have been working at US Air Force part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Job stability in the military is a plus.

    Cons

    Lack of control over where you live is a downside of being in the military

    US Air Force2019-10-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Worlds Greatest Air Force"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager, Operations Analyst in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Air Force full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I spent working 23 years for the worlds greatest Air Force.

    Cons

    Not many. Too many deployments in my 23 years, but what do you expect? Its part of being in the military!

    Advice to Management

    Current Air Force leaders are finally moving the Air Force in the right direction.

    US Air Force2019-09-28
  9. "Amazing if you fit in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Aircraft Mechanic 

    I worked at US Air Force full-time

    Pros

    There is definite sense of comradery, opportunities to promote based on one's self ambition, plenty of chances to travel around the globe, gives you a chance to prove yourself and grow as an individual and become a leader.

    Cons

    Do your research. It can be difficult if you enlist with a job you don't want, and need to be ready to work with very different types of people and mindsets. There can be long hours, unfit leadership, long deployments, and a sense of alienation if you don't fit the stereotypical personality of a military member.

    US Air Force2019-09-30
  10. "Steady job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Airman 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Air Force full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits Great Education Travel a lot

    Cons

    Military standards Long hours Too much training

    Advice to Management

    Remember that Airmen are human beings

    US Air Force2019-10-10
Found 1006 reviews