US Army RDEC Reviews | Glassdoor

US Army RDEC Reviews

Updated Jan 10, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
US Army RDEC CEO Mark A. Milley
Mark A. Milley
0 Ratings
  1. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electronics Technician in Vicksburg, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at US Army RDEC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work with

    Cons

    No complaints at this time

    Continue reading
    US Army RDEC2017-01-11
  2. "Division chief"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Division Chief in Aberdeen, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at US Army RDEC full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great R&D technology research developer

    Cons

    Red tape to get the work done

    Continue reading
    US Army RDEC2016-07-03
  3. "Pleasant people to work with. Work can be challenging at times."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electronics Engineer in Aberdeen, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at US Army RDEC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Access to lots of educational resources and technology

    Cons

    Top management is disconnected from reality

    Continue reading
    US Army RDEC2014-07-25
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Not bad, but it can wear on you, especially if you're young."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at US Army RDEC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to know the technology being developed for the military and being a part of that. It's also great to know that you're helping to protect and possibly save the lives of Soldiers that may use the very technology you helped develop.

    Cons

    Many processes and hoops to get through to get tasks accomplished, which is expected. Creativity is not really fostered, but I believe it really depends on where in the government you are and what projects come your way.

    Continue reading
    US Army RDEC2013-10-26
  5. "US Army RDEC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at US Army RDEC

    Pros

    Varied work, good people, job stability if you are a government employee.

    Cons

    No job stability if you're not a government employee. Lots of red tape.

    Continue reading
    US Army RDEC2013-03-14
  6. "Disappointing start for someone who started his career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electronics Engineer in Aberdeen, MD

    I have been working at US Army RDEC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good vacation plan. Management is nice. If you're old and looking for a more relaxed place to work then this is the place to be.

    Cons

    If you're looking for challenging techincal work, this is not the place to be! It is very difficult to move up. For new graduates in engineering, this isn't the best place to work if you are hungry and looking to expand your technical skills. Advanced degrees aren't very useful.

    Continue reading
    US Army RDEC2012-12-18
  7. "Difficult to get your work done"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Champaign, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at US Army RDEC for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Freedom to do what you want, unlimited budget at times

    Cons

    A business that is benchmarked like a research university with very skewed incentives. Our work was based on publishing once or twice a year, with very high turn-over and lack of communication between management and employees. Our goals changed almost daily, including the roles that the employees fulfilled. Additionally, the most inexperienced staff at times were given projects and roles that could be done better by others. Everything was at a certain point micro-managed by management with high opaqueness on the goals of the work.

    Continue reading
    US Army RDEC2012-11-07
  8. "Stable career, but future is not bright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Engineer in Fort Monmouth, NJ
    Recommends

    I have been working at US Army RDEC

    Pros

    - One of the Best benefits. - Job stability - Decent salaries - Convenient Work schedule - Great paid time off / sick time off - Easy Work

    Cons

    - Works get bored sometime - Promotion is not based on your work. - Takes too much time to get promoted. - Too many lazy people.

    Continue reading
    US Army RDEC2011-01-31
  9. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Huntsville, AL

    I have been working at US Army RDEC

    Pros

    The pressure one might find in the private sector is not as present when working for the public sector. The United States Army has given me many opportunities to grow and develop into a top quality engineer.

    Cons

    The pay is comparable but not as good as the private sector.

    Continue reading
    US Army RDEC2011-01-03
  10. "Research Development and Engineering Command"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Aerospace Engineer in Corpus Christi, TX
    Recommends

    I worked at US Army RDEC

    Pros

    Support the U.S. Army, career training.

    Cons

    Career development not a focus.

    Continue reading
    US Army RDEC2010-10-07
Found 10 reviews