US Bureau of Labor Statistics Economist Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Economist

US Bureau of Labor Statistics Economist Reviews

Updated Jul 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
US Bureau of Labor Statistics CEO Erica L. Groshen (no image)
Erica L. Groshen
22 Ratings
  1. "Wonderful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Economist in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Bureau of Labor Statistics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Career ladder, laid back, training provided

    Cons

    None. Best job I’ve ever had.

    Advice to Management

    Wonderful place to work.

    US Bureau of Labor Statistics2019-02-15
  2. "Good start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Economist in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Bureau of Labor Statistics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to start career, great work life balance

    Cons

    Siloed and a bit hard to advance

    US Bureau of Labor Statistics2019-07-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Interesting job , Advanced degree a plus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Economist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Bureau of Labor Statistics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work with many interesting people

    Cons

    Demands placed on personal Life

    US Bureau of Labor Statistics2019-05-25
  4. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Economist in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at US Bureau of Labor Statistics full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Once trust has been built, managers let you work from home and very independently.

    Cons

    Government shutdowns are becoming difficult

    US Bureau of Labor Statistics2019-01-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "BLS discriminates against older workers and females with regards to promotions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisory Economist in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at US Bureau of Labor Statistics full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Near transportation (Union Station) and free parking for carpools. Most jobs can telework at least part of the time. The building has a low-cost fitness center and a credit union onsite.

    Cons

    Young, white males are promoted to management ahead of older employees and females, BLS does not value experience. Older workers, especially women, are labeled as not being technically savvy. SES staff are a bottleneck in getting anything done, are unqualified, and promote this type of environment.

    Advice to Management

    Have your managers train in avoiding discriminatory practices. Value experience. Do not consider your longtime employees to be worthless.

    US Bureau of Labor Statistics2018-11-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "older employees discriminated against in some divisions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Economist in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Bureau of Labor Statistics full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I worked for BLS for over 30 years. As a younger employee I was treated very well, but as I started nearing retirement things started to change. I have been the target of discriminatory treatment myself and witnessed other employees being targeted and forced to retire sooner than we wanted to. Before this I had a good experience at BLS. My job was interesting and I had good opportunities.

    Cons

    arbitrary and unfair treatment of employees, favoritism, discrimination of older employees

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees fairly and consistently with laws and regulations. Address workplace bullying and favoritism.

    US Bureau of Labor Statistics2018-09-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Economist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Bureau of Labor Statistics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance, great benefits, (generally) great co-workers. Also, they teach you useful skills such as SQL and SAS.

    Cons

    Advancement can be very difficult. After getting to a GS-12 there tend to be very few positions for GS-13 and it can take a long time to move up, especially if you want to stay in the same office you've been working in.

    US Bureau of Labor Statistics2018-05-05
  8. "Federal Civilian Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Economist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Bureau of Labor Statistics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not stressful and not overloaded with work.

    Cons

    Governement positions of pay do not move with the market and they can cut any pay and benefits anytime they need to for the budget. This makes federal work risky compared to the private markets.

    Advice to Management

    If congress cuts civilians pay and benefits, they should cut their own. They make multiple more for less time in the position.

    US Bureau of Labor Statistics2018-05-08
  9. "Economist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Economist in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Bureau of Labor Statistics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great ideas and people are very smart plus great working together

    Cons

    Budget is at the mercy of the white house and congress

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people

    US Bureau of Labor Statistics2018-05-04
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Nice, steady work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Economist in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at US Bureau of Labor Statistics full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work Experience all depends on your managers. I'm in the San Francisco office working with compensation statistics. Our managers are easy going, supportive and don't do any micro-managing. I can work from home and set my own schedule. Co-workers are friendly but I work pretty independently and don't interact much with them. I wanted a low stress job so this is perfect. No worries about lay offs or long work... days. I finish work early each day and leave by 3 pm. Work is interesting enough.

    Show More

    Cons

    Must be pretty self motivated. Must be comfortable reaching out to company to request data and to able to take some rejection since some companies will refute to cooperate.

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in IT. Our email and reporting systems are confusing and inefficient.

    US Bureau of Labor Statistics2018-04-25
Found 69 reviews