US Bureau of Labor Statistics Reviews | Glassdoor

US Bureau of Labor Statistics Reviews

Updated Jul 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 129 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
US Bureau of Labor Statistics CEO Erica L. Groshen (no image)
Erica L. Groshen
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work life balance, great benefits, (generally) great co-workers(in 26 reviews)

  • "Non-political, great work environment, great location, match and technology focused(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "BLS is a government agency, so they follow a set pay schedule that you can't negotiate out of(in 13 reviews)

  • "Promotions are non-competitive only up to GS-12(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Wonderful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Economist in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Bureau of Labor Statistics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Career ladder, laid back, training provided

    Cons

    None. Best job I’ve ever had.

    Advice to Management

    Wonderful place to work.

    US Bureau of Labor Statistics2019-02-15
  2. "Good start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Economist in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Bureau of Labor Statistics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to start career, great work life balance

    Cons

    Siloed and a bit hard to advance

    US Bureau of Labor Statistics2019-07-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Interesting job , Advanced degree a plus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Economist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Bureau of Labor Statistics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work with many interesting people

    Cons

    Demands placed on personal Life

    US Bureau of Labor Statistics2019-05-25
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Economic Assistant in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Bureau of Labor Statistics part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, work independently, minimal supervision

    Cons

    No job advancement, little recognition, part time status but full time hours

    Advice to Management

    More recognition for EA’s

    US Bureau of Labor Statistics2019-04-28
  5. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Economist in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at US Bureau of Labor Statistics full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Once trust has been built, managers let you work from home and very independently.

    Cons

    Government shutdowns are becoming difficult

    US Bureau of Labor Statistics2019-01-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "BLS discriminates against older workers and females with regards to promotions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisory Economist in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at US Bureau of Labor Statistics full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Near transportation (Union Station) and free parking for carpools. Most jobs can telework at least part of the time. The building has a low-cost fitness center and a credit union onsite.

    Cons

    Young, white males are promoted to management ahead of older employees and females, BLS does not value experience. Older workers, especially women, are labeled as not being technically savvy. SES staff are a bottleneck in getting anything done, are unqualified, and promote this type of environment.

    Advice to Management

    Have your managers train in avoiding discriminatory practices. Value experience. Do not consider your longtime employees to be worthless.

    US Bureau of Labor Statistics2018-11-30
  7. Helpful (1)

    "A Perpetual Sluggish Pace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at US Bureau of Labor Statistics full-time

    Pros

    The work environment, as well as the pay and benefits are a positive. Most staff and management have a shared sense of wanting to do their jobs thoroughly. Although you may be paid less than what a comparable position within the private sector gets, the benefits balance out the compensation equation.

    Cons

    It seems there is always a chance your non-routine related work and projects will fall through the cracks once it is in someone else's hands and/or get stuck in review limbo, even if you strictly followed your given deadlines. It is almost naive to trust any timeline provided considering what may occur between you completing your portion and when the final deliverable comes about.

    US Bureau of Labor Statistics2018-10-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "older employees discriminated against in some divisions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Economist in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Bureau of Labor Statistics full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I worked for BLS for over 30 years. As a younger employee I was treated very well, but as I started nearing retirement things started to change. I have been the target of discriminatory treatment myself and witnessed other employees being targeted and forced to retire sooner than we wanted to. Before this I had a good experience at BLS. My job was interesting and I had good opportunities.

    Cons

    arbitrary and unfair treatment of employees, favoritism, discrimination of older employees

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees fairly and consistently with laws and regulations. Address workplace bullying and favoritism.

    US Bureau of Labor Statistics2018-09-15
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Economist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at US Bureau of Labor Statistics full-time

    Pros

    Lifestyle is good. work is interesting

    Cons

    Slow. government agency with a lot of long tenured employees

    US Bureau of Labor Statistics2018-06-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Economist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Bureau of Labor Statistics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance, great benefits, (generally) great co-workers. Also, they teach you useful skills such as SQL and SAS.

    Cons

    Advancement can be very difficult. After getting to a GS-12 there tend to be very few positions for GS-13 and it can take a long time to move up, especially if you want to stay in the same office you've been working in.

    US Bureau of Labor Statistics2018-05-05
Found 129 reviews