US Bureau of Labor Statistics Reviews | Glassdoor

US Bureau of Labor Statistics Reviews

Updated Jul 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 129 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
US Bureau of Labor Statistics CEO Erica L. Groshen (no image)
Erica L. Groshen
45 Ratings
  1. "Senior Economist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Bureau of Labor Statistics full-time

    Pros

    The flexibility and independence they allow in how I am able to do my job.

    Cons

    The salary ceiling and narrow scope of the job.

    US Bureau of Labor Statistics2017-04-11
  2. "Economist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Economist 

    I worked at US Bureau of Labor Statistics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    BLS is a fantastic place to work in terms of work-life balance, flexibility, and compensation. Many of my colleagues were smart, highly-capable, analytical people. I did not experience much by way of office politics, competitiveness among co-workers, etc. Most of the work is done by actual BLS employees (not contractors)--as my first job out of college, it provided a solid analytical, research, and writing... foundation that has served me well since.

    Show More

    Cons

    Now two years out, I would say that one of the biggest cons to working at BLS was its silos--you are not really encouraged to think creatively or collaboratively; people stay within their swim lanes to a fault. Status quo is huge here. Why suggest changes when the agency operates smoothly doing things the way that they have always been done? This ultimately stifles creativity and collaboration and leads employees to... seek opportunities they feel would allow them to breathe a bit more.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I think employees of all levels at BLS should come out well-versed in the many important and well-regarded surveys and statistics BLS puts out. I did not, and I see this as a big missed opportunity. Encourage employees to learn about areas outside of their immediate job. Encourage the (great) training opportunities BLS offers; emphasize that employees should use BLS to gain a solid analytical foundation and that... includes training in SAS, R, Excel, etc.

    Show More
    US Bureau of Labor Statistics2017-03-31
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at US Bureau of Labor Statistics

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule Many near retirement is leading to lots of opportunities for advancement

    Cons

    The Current government hiring freeze

    US Bureau of Labor Statistics2017-03-18
  4. "BLS Economist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Bureau of Labor Statistics full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule Great Benefits Nice people

    Cons

    Moving beyond a GS 12 is difficult.

    US Bureau of Labor Statistics2017-03-06
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Field Economist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Economist in Western, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Bureau of Labor Statistics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits. Flexible schedule. Telework. Coworkers are mostly hard-working and care about their work.

    Cons

    My unit has an unrealistic workload. Management doesn't listen to employee feedback but pretend like they do.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of ORS. NCS staff has too much on its plate. Most staff feels stressed out with the constant deadlines and unrealistic workload.

    US Bureau of Labor Statistics2017-03-03
  6. Helpful (2)

    "FE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Economist in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Bureau of Labor Statistics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, good work/personal life balance.

    Cons

    Boring, repetitive and insignificant work.

    US Bureau of Labor Statistics2017-02-28
  7. "Best Government Agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Specialist (GS13) in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Bureau of Labor Statistics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Non-political, great work environment, great location, match and technology focused.

    Cons

    Office politics can be an issue.

    US Bureau of Labor Statistics2017-01-29
  8. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Economist in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Bureau of Labor Statistics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, a lot of motivated coworkers. Nice facilities and upbeat atmosphere.

    Cons

    Some divisions don't have a lot of work to do, if you aren't proactive you won't be given a lot of responsibility.

    US Bureau of Labor Statistics2017-01-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Economic Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Bureau of Labor Statistics part-time

    Pros

    Great place to work with flexible work schedule. Supervisors are very helpful and work with you to complete all assignments. The training is excellent and opportunities to travel for work.

    Cons

    Work requires local travel about 90 percent of the time. However, travel compensation is provided. Sometimes work can be overwhelming.

    US Bureau of Labor Statistics2016-11-26
  10. "Nice place but not for launching career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Bureau of Labor Statistics

    Pros

    Friendly office environment and staff, people generally get along pretty well and the overall workplace is fairly low pressure. Easy to commute to and from and BLS provides transit stipend.

    Cons

    Little to no actual work assigned, poorly thought out intern curriculum (though this varies by office), generally long stretches of inactivity broken up by projects which add little to the workplace.

    Advice to Management

    Rethink the structure and size of the intern program. There is a general feeling of aimlessness and this is only exacerbated by having too many interns.

    US Bureau of Labor Statistics2016-11-18
Found 129 reviews