US Chamber of Commerce Reviews | Glassdoor

US Chamber of Commerce Reviews

Updated 17 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
67%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
US Chamber of Commerce CEO Thomas J. Donahue
Thomas J. Donahue
77 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great place to build relationships and grow skills to pursue a career in Economic Development(in 8 reviews)

  • "Good working environment with a lot of great people(in 7 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Us Chamber of Commerce Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Internship 

    I have been working at US Chamber of Commerce full-time

    Pros

    It is a greta place to work and I love the staff and my division.

    Cons

    Long hours and sometimes you have to stay late

    Advice to Management

    Thanks for being very supportive to all in coming interns

    US Chamber of Commerce2019-09-03
  2. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Director 

    I worked at US Chamber of Commerce full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    fun, exciting, entertaining, and lots of free things

    Cons

    lots of work and long hours

    US Chamber of Commerce2019-09-18
  3. "terrible culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Chamber of Commerce full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Depending on your department, you get exposure to interesting policy experts, politicians and foreign leaders * If you like economic policy, the substance is often super interesting.

    Cons

    * The culture is terrible. There is zero understanding of family needs and personal issues. * The Chamber way over exaggerates its importance. It has much less sway than they advertise. * Often they do the bidding of one company, not the association of businesses they claim to support. It feels pretty dishonest. * Super, super, super bureaucratic.

    Advice to Management

    * Try to be a bit more family-friendly.

    US Chamber of Commerce2019-09-19
  4. "Great Company, Very Nice People!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Summer Intern 

    I worked at US Chamber of Commerce for less than a year

    Pros

    Very fast-paced but very rewarding. Almost everyone that I met and interacted with was very friendly

    Cons

    Sometimes long hours but that's as expected.

    US Chamber of Commerce2019-08-07
  5. "It's Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant 

    I have been working at US Chamber of Commerce full-time

    Pros

    -Great Connections, large network -Great Benefits

    Cons

    -Serving mostly the CEO, not mission

    US Chamber of Commerce2019-08-16
  6. "Amazing Paid Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Chamber of Commerce full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - amazing events -paid -exposure -real work -great program/bonus events

    Cons

    Really none - they were really helpful and wanted to continue a relationship after the program ended.

    US Chamber of Commerce2019-06-03
  7. "Nothing here is real"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at US Chamber of Commerce full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great programs and support networks put in place.

    Cons

    None of it is actually real. HR acts like there are all of these employee support programs, but when you have an issue - they really don't want to hear about it. I've seen several employees leave and quit (multiple at a time) and no one questions the turnover or takes an exit interview seriously.

    US Chamber of Commerce2019-05-20
  8. "Great Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Chamber of Commerce full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very business professional work environment that worked hard but offered a great family balance.

    Cons

    None that I can immediately think of.

    US Chamber of Commerce2019-04-18
  9. "US Chamber of Commerce"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Intern - International Department in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Chamber of Commerce

    Pros

    Great team/ambiance lots of event planning (all year round) Great Networking (you meet people from all countries, all professional backgrounds. The multiple events we plan are good for networking, and meeting people from many great companies. Also, you meet very important people like senators, congress people, ambassadors, presidents of foreign countries...)

    Cons

    I have not spent enough time to notice the negative sides of the Chamber, or at least my department.

    US Chamber of Commerce2019-04-10
  10. "Awesome organization with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator in Washington, DC

    I worked at US Chamber of Commerce full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent coworkers Friendly, collaborative environment Opportunity to grow Ideal for making new connections

    Cons

    Seems that some senior management has lost sight of mission and priorities

    US Chamber of Commerce2019-04-04
Found 151 reviews