US Committee for Refugees and Immigrants Reviews | Glassdoor

US Committee for Refugees and Immigrants Reviews

Updated Apr 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
Eskinder Negash
0 Ratings
Pros
  • "Would highly recommend interning with USCRI(in 5 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and work-life balance(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "There were no cons I acknowledged(in 5 reviews)

  • "you'll have a great time working for USCRI(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Jobs Development Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at US Committee for Refugees and Immigrants

      Pros

      Great and dedicated employee of USCRI. Incredible mentor.

      Cons

      There were no cons I acknowledged

      Advice to Management

      Update tech in office

      US Committee for Refugees and Immigrants2018-01-06
    • "Stay away"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Case Manager 
        Doesn't Recommend

        I have been working at US Committee for Refugees and Immigrants full-time

        Pros

        The Pay, made good friends,

        Cons

        Management is horrible, they don’t communicate and don’t know half of what they are talking about

        Advice to Management

        Learn how not to micromanage if it isn’t affecting you, leave it be.

        US Committee for Refugees and Immigrants2019-04-26
      • "Well-Intentioned but Chaotic"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Program Officer 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at US Committee for Refugees and Immigrants full-time

        Pros

        Great people doing great work.

        Cons

        Struggling to adapt and adjust to withering funds and a chaotic political atmosphere.

        US Committee for Refugees and Immigrants2019-02-15
      • "Comfortable Job with Little Room for Growth"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Program Officer in Arlington, VA
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at US Committee for Refugees and Immigrants full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        -Salary offered at hire -Workspace -Office dynamics -Work/life balance -Independent work setting -Amount of paid time off -Professional development is supported

        Cons

        -Little room for growth / promotion -Unlikely to receive regular raises / increase in salary

        US Committee for Refugees and Immigrants2019-01-08
      • Helpful (4)

        "Please heed these words"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at US Committee for Refugees and Immigrants full-time

        Pros

        The population they claim to serve

        Cons

        The staff is unorganized and unproductive. Leadership is non-existent will dissolve due to their own lack of action and assessment of their dire financial picture

        Advice to Management

        Be replaced

        US Committee for Refugees and Immigrants2017-12-12
      • Helpful (2)

        "Program Assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at US Committee for Refugees and Immigrants full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Let's start by saying I love working at USCRI. Everyone here is so intelligent and passionate about the mission and refugee work that it is truly an honor to work alongside them. Not only that, but I am treated with respect and trusted to provide the organization with the highest quality of work. I feel that this level of trust allows me to excel. Not only that, the benefits here are great. You get 4 weeks of vacation...

        Show More

        Cons

        1. Due to the political climate, we have experienced some lay offs and some uncertainty. However, to me it is worth the uncertainty. 2. There is some infighting among the upper echelons of the organization. This does not directly affect me... yet. 3. There is a decent amount of turnover here, making it difficult at times to get to know people.

        US Committee for Refugees and Immigrants2017-09-12
      • "Case Manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Case Manager 
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at US Committee for Refugees and Immigrants for less than a year

        Pros

        Really great working enviornment.

        Cons

        Poor job security considering current political climate.

        US Committee for Refugees and Immigrants2017-09-07
      • "Helpdesk Specialist"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at US Committee for Refugees and Immigrants full-time

        Pros

        friendly environment, ability to learn more in your field, supervisors help you when struggling

        Cons

        during my time there, i found no cons, people on here saying it's a decent place have an axe to sharpen. It's an amazing place to start your career and learn so much in your field. If you know what you're doing and your work is solid. you'll have a great time working for USCRI

        Advice to Management

        keep up the good work

        US Committee for Refugees and Immigrants2017-08-22
      • Helpful (2)

        "Political"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC

          I worked at US Committee for Refugees and Immigrants

          Pros

          Feel good about your job

          Cons

          Lots of insecurity in team

          US Committee for Refugees and Immigrants2017-05-20
        • "Case Manager"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Compensation and Benefits
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at US Committee for Refugees and Immigrants full-time

          Pros

          Great benefits package and schedule flexibility.

          Cons

          Unorganized and unprofessional management at the field office I worked at.

          Advice to Management

          Communicate better with staff at local field offices.

          US Committee for Refugees and Immigrants2017-04-03
        Found 37 reviews